Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-03, 01:41 PM   #1
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default NFS Underground Stutter

Anyone using a Geforce FX 5900, Windows XP and 53.03 drivers without problems? I get a 1 second freeze at certain points around the track. Eg. the clock tower on the first race.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-03, 02:11 PM   #2
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default

Thanks for the reply. Originally I was using the 45.23 drivers and NFS was totally smooth. However, the 45.23s had a lot of other issues with my 5900 so I cant go back to them. The 52.16s were the worst with a near 3 second pause. I tried all of the NFS detail settings without success. Wonder if there is anything enabled/disabled differently in the nvidia drivers between the versions... will try playing with nvidia settings again later.

PS my brother is playing it with a 5200 and the 45.33 drivers and he doesnt have this problem :-(
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-03, 02:38 PM   #3
EvilEye
Got my eyes on you!
 
EvilEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 206
Angry

Well, the only problem Iīm havinī is how the *censured* does a Peugeot 206 outrun my Nissan Skyline GT-R?!?!?! I mean, it doesnīt matter how much you put under the hood of the 206 it will still not outrun a Skyline. Aggressive "catchup" perhaps?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2,85 GHz | ASUS P5B Deluxe | OCZ 2GB DDR2 PC6400 | ASUS 8800GTX | Antec P180B| SeaSonic 500W |ViewSonic VP191b 19" 8ms | Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Gamer Pro | Hitachi T7K 160GB SATA2 + 7k 160GB Sata | Plextor PX-716A | Creative MegaWorks THX 5.1 550 | Logitech MX1000 | Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit |

My other gaming rig:
Pioneer PDP-436 FDE Plasma | XBOX 360 Premium


"I'm concerned because there's nothing wrong."
EvilEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-03, 02:57 PM   #4
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Cheap, cheating AI in a Need for Speed game? Say it ain't so!
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-03, 06:34 PM   #5
EvilEye
Got my eyes on you!
 
EvilEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 206
Thumbs up

Iīm going to try this unlock patch...just to take a peek

EDIT: Do the "cosmetic parts", like the spoiler, really have an effect on the carīs perfermance?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2,85 GHz | ASUS P5B Deluxe | OCZ 2GB DDR2 PC6400 | ASUS 8800GTX | Antec P180B| SeaSonic 500W |ViewSonic VP191b 19" 8ms | Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Gamer Pro | Hitachi T7K 160GB SATA2 + 7k 160GB Sata | Plextor PX-716A | Creative MegaWorks THX 5.1 550 | Logitech MX1000 | Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit |

My other gaming rig:
Pioneer PDP-436 FDE Plasma | XBOX 360 Premium


"I'm concerned because there's nothing wrong."

Last edited by EvilEye; 12-06-03 at 08:14 AM.
EvilEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-03, 06:32 AM   #6
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default

*sigh* got to admit I like this game, but didnt really want to play it until the stuttering was solved. Tried everything I could think of last night. Tried all in game settings and resolutions, even 640x480 has the same stutters. Tried with / without AA, AF... changed Mipmap quality, adjusted performance settings in the Forceware drivers, still no good.

The only thing I did notice is that running task manager, as the stutter occurs, the page file grows larger. Suggesting that NFS is dumping stuff in there... although, I have 1gb ram and even when racing I have about 700mb physical ram unused.

One thought that did occur is that it doesnt stutter at the start of the race and it doesnt stutter on the second lap... is it possible that the stutter occurs as its loading more track info, on the second lap it is already cached. No matter what I do, the stutters are always in the same places on each track.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-03, 07:03 AM   #7
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jon
The only thing I did notice is that running task manager, as the stutter occurs, the page file grows larger. Suggesting that NFS is dumping stuff in there... although, I have 1gb ram and even when racing I have about 700mb physical ram unused.
Lousy coding in an EA console port? Say it ain't so!
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-03, 08:12 AM   #8
EvilEye
Got my eyes on you!
 
EvilEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by saturnotaku
Cheap, cheating AI in a Need for Speed game? Say it ain't so!
Quote:
Originally posted by saturnotaku
Lousy coding in an EA console port? Say it ain't so!


Well I have to admit, donīt know why Iīm suprised
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2,85 GHz | ASUS P5B Deluxe | OCZ 2GB DDR2 PC6400 | ASUS 8800GTX | Antec P180B| SeaSonic 500W |ViewSonic VP191b 19" 8ms | Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Gamer Pro | Hitachi T7K 160GB SATA2 + 7k 160GB Sata | Plextor PX-716A | Creative MegaWorks THX 5.1 550 | Logitech MX1000 | Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit |

My other gaming rig:
Pioneer PDP-436 FDE Plasma | XBOX 360 Premium


"I'm concerned because there's nothing wrong."
EvilEye is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-06-03, 11:21 AM   #9
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default

I enabled the performance graph in the drivers and whenever there is a stutter, the yellow line and purple line jump off the graph. Now, I just need to figure out what they represent... can't seem to find this information anywhere. Don't know what EA fixed in the 1.1 or 1.2 patches, I can only hope for 1.3 soon.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-03, 08:20 AM   #10
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default

Ive tried changing the priority of Speed.exe to high and adjusted the priority of the temporary process it creates with it, but still the same problems.@I have tried all the 55.03 options, all the NFS game options and a lot of stuff otherwise. My mobo is an A7V266 based on the Via KT266 chipset. I use the 4.48 hyperion drivers.

I do believe it is the game, I play GTA and GTA Vice city a lot and neither of these has ever stuttered like this. Im wondering what exactly the game does in this brief stutter, is it dumping data out or reading track data/music in. I dont remember the demo stuttering at all, I wonder if its some kind of copy protection code. When NFS starts, it starts a temp process which is something to do with Macrovision protection.

My friend has a similar computer with a Geforce 4400 and his doesnt stutter, but he uses a no cd patch.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-03, 09:20 AM   #11
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Macrovision/Safedisk is notorious for causing bad game performance. A no-cd crack is just the ticket.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-03, 01:57 PM   #12
Sotos
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece
Posts: 418
Default Re: NFS Underground Stutter

Quote:
Originally posted by Jon
Anyone using a Geforce FX 5900, Windows XP and 53.03 drivers without problems? I get a 1 second freeze at certain points around the track. Eg. the clock tower on the first race.
Clearly another 'Hyped" game of these year do not you think????
As probably DEUS EX IW was...

Probably it's time EA create something new and stop continue the NFS series...The latest NFS series games were, sorry to say it but, CRAP!!!!

Anyway i think i have heard several problems with some ATI cards as well...
__________________
-Pentium 4 3.0C GHz (FSB 800)
-RAM 2.0 GB DDR333 running in Dual channel
-Asus P4P800 deluxe AI series
-[color=blue]POWERCOLOR 9800pro 128\cat 4.1\Dx9.0b [/color] [color=red](Waiting for R420 or Nv40)[/color]
-Sounblaster Audigy 2 ZS [color=blue](using latest Creative Eax 4.0 driver)[/color]
-PSU Zalman 400W Quiet sollution
-Windows XP home SP1 + Sp2 packages
-[color=red] - Jeniffer Lopez - Ennrique Inglesia - Ricky Martin - Britney Spears are SKUNKS!!! [/color]
Sotos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Underground Overlord: Gnoblins News Archived News Items 0 05-25-12 01:40 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ1998 - 2014, nV News.