Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-03, 09:49 PM   #1
pheasand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Question TwinView and XF86config

Hello,

I have finally gotten TwinView to work with a NEC MultiSync LCD 1760NX (DVI connection) and a SGI 1600 SW with the multilink adapter (CRT connection). However, the driver uses the SGI as the primary display (i.e. kde toolbar is on the SGI monitor). I am wondering if there is any way to have the NEC be the primary monitor with out physically switching the cables (I want to keep SGI --> CRT and NEC --> DVI). I have tried altering the "ConnectedMonitor" option ( "DVI, CRT" and "CRT. DVI"), changing the "TwinViewOrientation" variable, switching the MetaModes so that the NEC's are the first listed and the SGI's are second, as well as changing the Monitor section and "SecondMonitorVert/HorizRefrest" sections so that the SGI is in the "SecondMon...", all of these to no avail... either the X server will not start or one of the screens will start with some wierd resolution.

Any ideas?


XF86Config as follows:
# XFree86 4 configuration created by pyxf86config

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Screen0"
InputDevice "IntelliMouse" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "DevInputMice" "AlwaysCore"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
# Load "dri" # remove for nvidia driver
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
#
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "IntelliMouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Buttons" "7"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# If the normal CorePointer mouse is not a USB mouse then
# this input device can be used in AlwaysCore mode to let you
# also use USB mice at the same time.
Identifier "DevInputMice"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "SGI"
ModelName "1600-SW"
Modeline "1280x1024NEC" 114.98 1280 1312 1744 1776 1024 1045 1055 1076
Modeline "1600x1024g" 108.0 1600 1616 1656 1704 1024 1027 1030 1056 -Hsync -Vsync
Option "OverridePolarity" "1"
HorizSync 63.84
VertRefresh 60.0
# HorizSync 31.5 - 81.1
# VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
BusId "PCI:01:00:0"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "FlatPanelProperties" "Scaling = native"
# Option "NoLogo"
Option "TwinView"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31.5 - 80.0"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "56.0 - 75.0"
Option "MetaModes" "1600x1024g,1280x1024"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
# Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, DFP"
VendorName "Evga.com"
BoardName "FX5200Ultra"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1024" "1280x1024" "1600x1024g"
# Modes "1600X1024" "1280x1024" "1600x1024g" "1280x1024NEC"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection
pheasand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-03, 09:41 AM   #2
rednuht
GeForce FX5600 (1.0-5336)
 
rednuht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 164
Default try

does not changing

Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"

to

Option "TwinViewOrientation" "LeftOf"

not give you the desired result?
rednuht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-03, 09:57 AM   #3
pheasand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Default Silly Me

rednuht,

Your suggestion was correct. I had tried this earlier, but didn't realize that I could switch on which screen the K taskbar appeared.. by right clicking on the bar and selecting properties, I could tell it which xinerama screen I wanted it to appear on...

thanks.
pheasand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-03, 01:35 AM   #4
Alowishus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2
Default Not a perfect solution

I'm in the same boat as pheasand, and yes the LeftOf directive generally works to get things laid out properly, but there are a number of programs which still key off XFree86's concept of "primary" display. For example, the GDM login screen comes up on the wrong monitor. Apps which use the on-screen-display library pop their messages to the wrong screen. Gnome itself was initially confused, but I was able to drag the toolbars to where they belong.

I'd love to know if there was a way to get X to understand that DFP should be primary not CRT. On this very same machine, Windows doesn't have this problem - in its display panel it considers the DFP to be 0 and the CRT to be 1.
Alowishus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-03, 10:06 AM   #5
erdooom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
Angry same same

yap in windows u can tell the driver which is the primary display without the importance of its locate (rightOf or LeftOf or top or whatever) and its anoing cause some times i use the secondry display for one of my other machines ... so no gdm and if u switch then the hole boot and single are on the secondary ... isnt the a way to tell the driver which one is the main display ????
erdooom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
order of devices in TwinView mjh NVIDIA Linux 2 10-16-02 03:45 AM
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 10:36 AM
TwinView, fullscreen on TV brosen NVIDIA Linux 2 10-08-02 10:29 AM
TwinView in RedHat 8 nerfherder64 NVIDIA Linux 5 10-07-02 07:19 PM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 03:24 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.