Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-02, 02:40 PM   #13
el_Mongoose
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up Looks like a winner...

Installed them right over the previous 40.52's for WinME and nary a problem. Good performance boost for me, too... my aging geforce3 is running the UT2K3 demo like a biatch with 2xAA at 1024 and looking good!!

ooops... another mongoose in here!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 03:04 PM   #14
slidey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Default Battlefield 1942

Is anyone still getting the flashing white frames in Battlefield 1942? Or is that fixed...
slidey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 03:10 PM   #15
rclenhardt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 34
Default

I agree with saturnotaku. I just finished tweaking up the 40.52's, which are terrific. I think i will wait for them to be WHQL and hope someone hacks the drivers to english only.
__________________
Dell Dimension 4600
P4 2.8 GHZ with 800 FSB HTT
2.5 GB PC 3200 DDR
Western Digital 80GB HD
Ultra ATA 100 controller
Windows XP Home SP2
BFG Geforce 6800 GT OC 256MB DDR3
VF700 Zalman Cu VGA cooling
84.43 Nvidia Drivers
DX 9.0c Final
Sony 19 " HMD A400L
Liteon 16x DVD
Microsoft Internet Keyboard
Integrated 5.1 Surround Sound
HP C3100 All-in-one Printer
HP 5400c Scanjet
480W Thermaltake PSU
rclenhardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 03:21 PM   #16
verncat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 121
Default

This is getting to be a pain in the **s!!! The 40.41's worked ok, but the 40.52's won't even allow me to run Battlefield 1942. It gives me a black screen then the desktop. Now the 40.71's do it too. WTF? Is there a workaround or fix? I've tried the refresh fix someone mentioned before, about it only working in 60hz. No go with the two new sets. Every other game works ok. Someone HELP!!!
verncat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 03:26 PM   #17
combat_wombat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 222
Default

this version of the drivers don't hose dark age of camelot, so i am happy
combat_wombat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 03:37 PM   #18
slidey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
This is getting to be a pain in the **s!!! The 40.41's worked ok, but the 40.52's won't even allow me to run Battlefield 1942. It gives me a black screen then the desktop. Now the 40.71's do it too. WTF? Is there a workaround or fix? I've tried the refresh fix someone mentioned before, about it only working in 60hz. No go with the two new sets. Every other game works ok. Someone HELP!!!
-------
(Go to your BF1942 install directory)
-Open the videodefault.con file found in Settings\VideoDefault.con.

-Edit the line: renderer.allowAllRefreshRates # (where # can be replaced by 0 or 1).

-Changing this value to one will allow you to select the refresh rates from the Options>Video section of the in-game frontend. NOTE: the game will default to 640x480.
-------

Did you try the above procedure yet? If it works...let me know if you're seeing the white flashes during gameplay...

PS make sure you patched BF1942 to 1.1 before doing the above...
slidey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 03:40 PM   #19
verncat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 121
Default

Did that yesterday. I can't even start the game up with the 40.71 drivers. I double-click the icon, the screen goes black for about five seconds, then I'm back at my desktop. No error messages, nothing.
verncat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 04:15 PM   #20
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Re: And there are W98/ME drivers as well!

Quote:
Originally posted by SavagePaladin

I couldn't call the original 40.s unstable...they just had issues. 40.52 seemed perfect...and 40.71 probably will too.

As to why they're still beta, I couldn't say.
hopefully because the final drivers will boost performance more

i can hope, can't i?
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-26-02, 04:42 PM   #21
Max3D
Quadro2 Pro
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by verncat
Did that yesterday. I can't even start the game up with the 40.71 drivers. I double-click the icon, the screen goes black for about five seconds, then I'm back at my desktop. No error messages, nothing.
Allow 800x600 @60 Hz in your refresh rate fix utility, win9x dont have this issue it starts with 800x600 @highest possible refresh.
Max3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 04:51 PM   #22
JamesDax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 442
Send a message via MSN to JamesDax
Default

The UT2k3 demo and Madden2k3 both run and look great @ 10x7x32 c/ 2xAA and texture sharping.
__________________
He who lives the longest will know the most.

eMachine W2686 (upgraded) c/
Albatron KM51G
Athlon64 3000+(Venice) Socket 754 2.0Ghz
Corsair XMS 1GB 2x512Mb DDR 400
80Gb Hard Drive (ATA 133/7200rpm)
DVD/CDRW Combo Drive
7-in-4 Media reader
eVGA GeForce 7600GS
Artic-Cooling Arctic Fan 3 TC (80mm case fan)
XION 400 Watt PSU
Pixie 950 19" Monitor
Windows XP HE SP2
JamesDax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 04:59 PM   #23
intercede007
American
 
intercede007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 331
Send a message via ICQ to intercede007 Send a message via AIM to intercede007 Send a message via MSN to intercede007 Send a message via Yahoo to intercede007
Default

Dear god, I went from an 11,892 to 9460 in 3DMark!!! I think I'll just roll these drives on back......
intercede007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 05:00 PM   #24
tieros
Registered User
 
tieros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 374
Default Looks good so far

Initial feedback of 40.71 on WinXP w/GeForce4Ti4600:

Looks good



The new drivers seem to have fixed the flickering for me so far. It was worst in AC2 beta, so I'm going to try that next.

3DMark score is a bit higher, nothing significant.

For some reason, the image quality seems better to me than any of the previous drivers, and not just a little bit better. I first noticed it in the Dragothic scene of 3DMark, but was totally blown away in the Nature scene. My ansio is still set to 1x, and my mipmap is still on 'best quality', so I'm not sure what would cause it. Could be just too much caffiene today

If anyone else notices a major leap in image quality, let me know. I'm hoping it's the new driver, and not my eyes or brain
tieros is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 06:00 AM
** Official Dark Souls Thread *** FastRedPonyCar Gaming Central 8 09-11-12 03:42 PM
Official Dentonator 40.52 feedback thread sh*tshot NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 62 09-26-02 05:43 PM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM
Official Grand Theft Auto 3 thread volt Gaming Central 6 08-01-02 07:04 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.