Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-03, 03:48 AM   #1
thebeen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 15
Default panning / overscan -- whats going on?

Ok i am not sure what is going on but I have searched through many posts about overscanning or panning. This is whats wrong with my tv-out

i have a crt monitor and a tv connected via the s-video cable. I am using metamodes so that when I want to put a video on my tv i just simply do ctrl,alt, +
that will send a resolution of 640x480 to my tv and will turn off my monitor, which is fine by me. However, the picture on the tv is too "BIG" and i have to move my mouse to the bottom screen to move to a lower position (i.e. like moving the entire desktop"
i think i just need to change my metamodes line to something else hopefully...if someone can help, that would be amazing!!! thanks


Code:
# XFree86 4 configuration created by redhat-config-xfree86

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "single head configuration"
	Screen         "Screen0" 
	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the 
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
	RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
	FontPath     "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
	Load  "dbe"
	Load  "extmod"
	Load  "fbdevhw"
	Load  "glx"
	Load  "record"
	Load  "freetype"
	Load  "type1"
#	Load  "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
#	Option	"Xleds"		"1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
#	Option	"XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults).  For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
# or:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
#	Option	"XkbVariant"	"nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:nocaps"
#
	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
	Driver      "keyboard"
	Option	    "XkbRules" "xfree86"
	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
	Option	    "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Mouse0"
	Driver      "mouse"
	Option	    "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# If the normal CorePointer mouse is not a USB mouse then
# this input device can be used in AlwaysCore mode to let you
# also use USB mice at the same time.
	Identifier  "DevInputMice"
	Driver      "mouse"
	Option	    "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

	Identifier   "Monitor0"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "Dell P991"
	HorizSync    30.0 - 100.0
	VertRefresh  75
	Option	    "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier  "TV"
	HorizSync  30-50
	VertRefresh 60
EndSection


Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Videocard0"
	Driver      "nvidia"
	VendorName  "Videocard vendor"
	BoardName   "NVIDIA GeForce 4 MX (generic)"
	Option "TwinView" "true"
	Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
	Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
#	Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,800x600;800x600,800x600;640x480,640x480"
	Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,NULL;NULL,640x480"
	Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
#	Option "ConnectedMonitor" "Monitor0,TV"
	Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
	Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"

EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen0"
	Device     "Videocard0"
	Monitor    "Monitor0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1280x1024" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "ScreenTV"
	Device "Videocard0"
	Monitor "TV"
	DefaultDepth    16
	Subsection "Display"
		Depth	16
		Modes "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

#Section "DRI"
#	Group        0
#	Mode         0666
#EndSection
thebeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-03, 07:59 AM   #2
r3pek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 40
Send a message via ICQ to r3pek
Default

try to put
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "rightof"

or anyother orientation but clone, nad than move the window to the TV and change it to fullscreen.
that should do it...
r3pek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-03, 03:35 PM   #3
thebeen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 15
Default

and what about the metamodes line if i keep the rightof ?


do i keep the nulls there and stuff?

is there any way to get it working with clone -- i like to drag my windows to different "desktops" by slidiing my windows..
thebeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-03, 05:03 PM   #4
Forge
X to the 64th power
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
However, the picture on the tv is too "BIG" and i have to move my mouse to the bottom screen to move to a lower position (i.e. like moving the entire desktop"
That's a very simple problem, and totally unrelated to TV out, per se.

When you start X, X sets a certain resolution to be your desktop size. When you change resolutions, the virtual desktop size does NOT change. If you want to run TV out and have the full desktop be onscreen, you'll need to start X at 640x480. Primer has a bunch of very useful examples and tips at http://www.sh.nu/nvidia/
__________________
Vargr Prime: AMD Opteron 280 *2 | 4096MB Corsair Value reg/ECC | GeForce 7950GX2 | Dual WD Raptor 74GB | Dual Seagate 320GB 7200.10 | Samsung/TSST 18X DVDRW | Chaintech AV-710 | Thermaltake Armor 8000 | PCP&C Turbo-Cool 1KW | Supermicro H8DCE v3.1 | Logitech X-530 5.1 speakers
Forge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removal of overscan options in 302.07... hikaricore NVIDIA Linux 12 01-05-13 04:30 PM
ViewPortOut instead of Overscan comp. I need help! C-J NVIDIA Linux 5 06-27-12 11:41 AM
Upgrade from 290.10 to 295.49 on GeForce 8300 = no hdmi audio + overscan tbubel NVIDIA Linux 2 06-15-12 03:55 AM
HDMI overscan fix for multiple resolutions + Zod Engine Problem. cheechr1 NVIDIA Linux 0 06-11-12 02:27 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.