Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > Other Desktop Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-02, 07:44 PM   #1
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default Change 9700 to AGP4x

I am experiencing some serious stability issues with a sample Sapphire 9700 Pro and my MSI KT4 Ultra. I can load any game, however roughly 10seconds into the game the system will hard-lock.

Here are the specs:

XP1600+ ( overclocked and non-overclocked tried )
MSI KT4 Ultra BIOS: 6590 version 1.0
(2) 256MB Corsair XMS PC3200 CAS2
420W Deer Power supply ( voltages are within tolerances )

I've tried the following drivers:

Stock Sapphire driver ( version 11-002 )
wxp-radeon-6-13-10-6094-efg
wxp-radeon-6-13-10-6166-efg

In the BIOS, I tried to change the AGP setting to 4X......Unfortuantely, the setting is greyed-out and cannot be altered. As a result, I downloaded the newest version of Powerstrip....There is a section where you can set the AGP speed.....I select 4X, though once I hit "OK" or "Apply", the setting goes back to AGP8X....

Does anyone know of a way I can force AGP4X as I imagine this would solve my problems?

Thanks ahead of time...

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 08:00 PM   #2
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Anyone?

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 09:34 PM   #3
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Frustration seems to be the word of the day....

I can't imagine the rage I would be harnessing if I had paid $300-$350 for this card and be dealing with this.....

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 10:11 PM   #4
jbirney
Registered User
 
jbirney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,430
Default

Pelly did you try to post this over at Rage3d? If you do it in a nice mannor (not like some I have seen that start out .... this POS stupid crap ATI idoits.... as those posts for some reason dont get a lot of help) and they can help you with it. I have heard that newer BIOS can fix the issue. Sorry for your troubles
jbirney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 11:16 PM   #5
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Thanks for the advice man....
I currently have posts at the following forums:

MSI, AMD MB, [H]ard OCP, Anandtech, Rage 3d, and here at nV News...

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-02, 06:15 AM   #6
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Rage3d will definetly be able to help you better. Post in the R9700 forum. They have the largest 9700 owner databse of people available anywher eon the net. Afterall, this is NVNews

reminder to all: don't flame Pelly, he's very helpful here... and he one of the peeps running this place
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-02, 08:15 AM   #7
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Thanks for the advice Gator...

I already have threads in the following places:

nV News
Rage3D
AMD MB
MSI Forum
Hard OCP

So far, no luck....

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-02, 08:44 AM   #8
jbirney
Registered User
 
jbirney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,430
Default

JR has the same card and he post here. However I dont know if he is running his at x8. However it is working for him
jbirney is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-27-02, 09:27 AM   #9
jbirney
Registered User
 
jbirney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,430
Default

Pelly,

after searching around the forums it looks like that x8 AGP does not work with some SIS/VIA combos. Tbreak in their review was not able to get it. I heard that you can get ahold of ATI and get a newever version to work. On another thread over the

Quote:
Spent over an hour with ATI Customer Service Canada and more important, the Engineering Dept. The subject: Our testing shows the Radeon 9700 will NOT work at all on the Asus P4S8X (SiS648), Gigabyte 7VAXP (KT400/8235), and VIA P4PB (P4X400/8235) which are the only 8x AGP boards on the market. Customer Service was not completely aware of this, but Engineering is.

According to ATI, they are now receiving and testing these 8X AGP boards. They are ALSO finding the 9700 does not work at all or works intermittently at best on these boards. Engineering indicated most of the boards already shipped have this problem.

Solution: A new BIOS and some board revisions are now available that fix this problem. Call ATI Customer Service for help with the issue. At present, they will ship a replacement board that WILL work in SiS and VIA 8X, but they are also considering a BIOS flash solution for problem boards.

Customer Service and Engineering deserve a 10-1/2 for their wonderful handling of this issue. They are very concerned that it be corrected quickly. They also shared that most of their 8X validation testing was done with Intel's unreleased 8X chipset and that they are just now receiving shipping versions of the SiS and VIA 8X chipsets.

You can find tons of other info if you do a search at rage using the KT400 as that is the chip set on your KT4 Ultra. Good luck!
jbirney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-02, 09:45 AM   #10
John Reynolds
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 365
Default

Yea, my mobo is a ASUS P4T533-E, which is limited to 4x AGP. No problems with this board on my end, save for lock-ups in the UT2003 demo after I edited its ini file to enable Truform support. However, thanks to JB I've got to double-check whether or not Truform is enabled in the control panels when I get home tonight.
John Reynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-02, 10:18 AM   #11
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

I've contacted Sapphire this morning and I am waiting to hear back from them...

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-02, 10:55 AM   #12
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pelly
I've contacted Sapphire this morning and I am waiting to hear back from them...
Yeah, good luck getting a response. Methinks you're going to have to send the card back to them to get a newer revision that should function on your board.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU fan always at 100%, can not change the thermal settings legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 26 05-04-13 05:56 AM
R9700 Oficially Announced druga runda Other Desktop Graphics Cards 20 04-25-08 10:28 PM
Former Nvidia user: 9700 impressions nin_fragile14 Other Desktop Graphics Cards 58 11-01-02 01:38 PM
Radeon 9700 not all that? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 200 10-12-02 09:31 PM
FalconNW and Voodoo under ATI 9700 spell!!! mizzer Other Desktop Graphics Cards 12 09-20-02 07:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.