Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-23-03, 11:05 PM   #1
JediKnight
Kyle Katarn
 
JediKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 134
Default Help! Any success w/Dark Forces and Win XP?

Hi,
anyone have success playing Star Wars: Dark Forces with Win XP and Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinum? Latest drivers with everything. Tried dif settings and nothing. thanks
__________________
"Im no Jedi. Im just a guy with a lightsaber and a few questions"

Intel Core i7 - 3770K| ASUS Maximus V Formula ACIII Mobo | 8 Gig Corsair Vengeance 1600 | EVGA 450 GTS | WD 1TB 64MB HDD | Lite On iBS312 BD RW Drive | Samsung VX922 | Windows 7 Home Premium 64 | Cooler Master HAF 922 case | Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 PSU
JediKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-03, 07:20 AM   #2
mrsabidji
I am the cheese...
 
mrsabidji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 506
Send a message via ICQ to mrsabidji
Default

It's a DOS game, ain't it ? Well, there's no DOS in XP as far as I know, that's why a lot of old games refuse to run with XP. You should try and find a DOS emulator or something, I think there are some on the web (but I've no link right now, sorry). Or try to start it using one of the compatibility modes (you know, File->Properties->compatibility->so on).
Oh, talking about sound-cards, there were no DirectSound either when DF was released, so you'll have to setup your card the old way (IRQ, DMAs, MIDI port#, ETCAETERA...) and tell the game it's a SB16 or SBpro... Good luck.

mrsabidji

edit : I was thinking, a lot of old games just hate NTFS, so try installing it on a FAT32/16 disk and see if it works.
__________________
Signing posts since 1427.

Last edited by mrsabidji; 12-24-03 at 07:27 AM.
mrsabidji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-03, 10:16 AM   #3
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yeah, I don't think there's any way in hell it'll run on XP.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-03, 05:14 PM   #4
serialdave
seldom posts
 
serialdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: East Coast
Posts: 97
Default

VM Ware supports SVGA and Soundblaster 16

You could set up a vertual pc and boot it up just to run an old game like that.
__________________
There are seldom technogical answeres for behavioral problems.
serialdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-03, 06:32 PM   #5
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by serialdave
VM Ware supports SVGA and Soundblaster 16

You could set up a vertual pc and boot it up just to run an old game like that.
whoa, it does? I wonder if it would play Crusader: No Remorse...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-03, 01:59 AM   #6
JediKnight
Kyle Katarn
 
JediKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 134
Default

thanks for your replies. I somehow had it running before when I had SB Audigy, except there was no music. You cant play this game without music. I messed with it so much I made it work, but cant with Audigy 2. The game is the Win95 version. Where can I get one of those emulators? thanks again.
__________________
"Im no Jedi. Im just a guy with a lightsaber and a few questions"

Intel Core i7 - 3770K| ASUS Maximus V Formula ACIII Mobo | 8 Gig Corsair Vengeance 1600 | EVGA 450 GTS | WD 1TB 64MB HDD | Lite On iBS312 BD RW Drive | Samsung VX922 | Windows 7 Home Premium 64 | Cooler Master HAF 922 case | Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 PSU
JediKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.