Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-02-04, 08:47 AM   #1
|nSaNe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default "No Screens Found"

Hiya,


I am using a Gforce 4 MX 440 with Tv out and need to install the Nvidia drivers (from what I have read) to use the Tv out under Linux.


I am using Mandrake 9.1 and have used this configuration in the past with the Nvidia drivers no problem, but for some reason on this install I get "No screens found" and crash back to prompt.


Upon doing a modprobe I get this error

Quote:
root@localhost lee]# modprobe nvidia
Warning: loading /lib/modules/2.4.21-0.13mdk/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.o will taint the kernel: non-GPL license - NVIDIA
See http://www.tux.org/lkml/#export-tainted for information about tainted modules
Module nvidia loaded, with warnings
[root@localhost lee]#
lsmod shows this

Quote:
[root@localhost lee]# lsmod
Module Size Used by Tainted: P
nvidia 1678784 0 (unused)
ppp_synctty 7488 1 (autoclean)
ppp_generic 24060 3 (autoclean) [ppp_synctty]
slhc 6564 0 (autoclean) [ppp_generic]
n_hdlc 7552 1 (autoclean)
snd-seq-midi 5024 0 (autoclean) (unused)
snd-seq-oss 31104 0 (unused)
snd-seq-midi-event 5640 0 [snd-seq-midi snd-seq-oss]
snd-seq 42608 2 [snd-seq-midi snd-seq-oss snd-seq-midi-event]
snd-pcm-oss 43556 0
snd-mixer-oss 14488 0 [snd-pcm-oss]
snd-ens1370 11116 0
snd-rawmidi 17600 0 [snd-seq-midi snd-ens1370]
snd-seq-device 5832 0 [snd-seq-midi snd-seq-oss snd-seq snd-rawmidi]
snd-pcm 77536 0 [snd-pcm-oss snd-ens1370]
snd-timer 18376 0 [snd-seq snd-pcm]
gameport 3316 0 [snd-ens1370]
snd-page-alloc 7732 0 [snd-ens1370 snd-pcm]
snd-ak4531-codec 5972 0 [snd-ens1370]
snd 40868 0 [snd-seq-midi snd-seq-oss snd-seq-midi-event snd-seq snd-pcm-oss snd-mixer-oss snd-ens1370 snd-rawmidi snd-seq-device snd-pcm snd-timer snd-ak4531-codec]
soundcore 6276 0 [snd]
nfsd 74256 0 (autoclean)
af_packet 14952 0 (autoclean)
sr_mod 16920 0 (autoclean)
ne2k-pci 6752 1 (autoclean)
8390 7916 0 (autoclean) [ne2k-pci]
supermount 15296 2 (autoclean)
ide-cd 33856 0
cdrom 31648 0 [sr_mod ide-cd]
ide-scsi 11280 0
scsi_mod 103284 2 [sr_mod ide-scsi]
usb-uhci 24652 0 (unused)
usbcore 72992 1 [usb-uhci]
rtc 8060 0 (autoclean)
[root@localhost lee]#

Attached is the Xfree86 log


Hope someone can help me out as this is driving me mad.
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (12.4 KB, 131 views)
|nSaNe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-04, 10:24 AM   #2
|nSaNe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default

solved it


For anyone else with this problem it is worth checking to make sure your bios is set up corectly

PNP os= No
assign IRQ for VGA = Yes.
|nSaNe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3M Unveils 20x and 40x Multi-Touch Screens News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 06:00 AM
(Gamers Hell) Assassin's Creed III New E3 2012 Screens News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM
Help!!! RH8.0 & Gentoo w/GF4: "fatal server error: screen not found" woffutt NVIDIA Linux 2 10-01-02 10:33 PM
no screens found + BusID ?? orion NVIDIA Linux 2 08-24-02 08:34 AM
Worked fine before, now getting "no screens found" HansBoldt NVIDIA Linux 3 08-22-02 06:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.