Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-29-03, 02:10 PM   #13
DrFx
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 49
Default

Hey take it easy heh..I dident mean to sound like a prick, I just wanted to help out a little bit!

Sorry if im sounded like an idiot :-)
DrFx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-03, 02:15 PM   #14
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default ...

it's ok... sorry for bein so hair-trigger... Shoulda checked your posts out to see that you're not quite as bad as that post made you look
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-03, 02:41 PM   #15
DrFx
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 49
Default

Thanx!

But your right ..my post dident sound nice indeed!

Annyway Happy New Year fellow Gamers
DrFx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-03, 04:41 PM   #16
Rob_0126
Freedom is not free
 
Rob_0126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Default

And on a more helpful side , If you want a nice performance increase, and able to play todays games, with some of the pretty's on, get a G4 Ti 4200 for round $50-70.

Robert
Rob_0126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-03, 05:32 PM   #17
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default Re: Deus Ex 2: Invisible War wo/ pixel shader

Quote:
Originally posted by Heavyd
Is there anyway to run Deus Ex 2 without using pixels shaders since my geforce 4 mx doesn't support it?
Just out of interest, what are your other system specs?
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-03, 06:24 PM   #18
Heavyd
Registered User
 
Heavyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to Heavyd
Default

My Systems specs are:

AMD Althon 750mhz
512mb PC133
Geforce 4 MX
20 gig Maxtor 7200
Asus K7V Slot A
Onboard Via sound (The Sh!ttest ever)
LG 52x Cd drive
Mitsumi 4x4x24x Burner
Windows Xp Service pack 1

Laugh at me and ill hunt you down

Anyways I played and beaten the game on my bro 2.4ghz but still its pretty slow. Ill just play Deus Ex 1.. I think this will my 10th time. Ill think Realistic this time insted of Hard and Unatco ruins is the coolest ever
Heavyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-03, 06:26 PM   #19
Heavyd
Registered User
 
Heavyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to Heavyd
Default

And where the hell can you find a Ti4200. Man if i found one it would be mine in a second..... you know right after take out the cash a give to him/her.
Heavyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-03, 07:16 PM   #20
Nephilim
Slacker extraordinaire
 
Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashvegas, TN
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Heavyd
And where the hell can you find a Ti4200. Man if i found one it would be mine in a second.....
Dude, www.pricewatch.com
__________________
"The large print giveth, and the small print taketh away." - Tom Waits

Athlon XP 2100+ | 512MB PC3200 RAM | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | GeforceFX 5900 VIVO 128MB @ 475/950 | 2 Western Digital SATA 120GB HDD in RAID 0 | 1 IBM 60GXP 60GB HDD IDE | 36x 12x 48x CD-RW | Logitech Z-680 THX 5.1 Speakers | 19in. Samsung 955DF Monitor | Windows XP Pro
Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-30-03, 07:50 PM   #21
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Heavyd
My Systems specs are:

AMD Althon 750mhz
512mb PC133
Geforce 4 MX
20 gig Maxtor 7200
Asus K7V Slot A
Onboard Via sound (The Sh!ttest ever)
LG 52x Cd drive
Mitsumi 4x4x24x Burner
Windows Xp Service pack 1

Laugh at me and ill hunt you down

Anyways I played and beaten the game on my bro 2.4ghz but still its pretty slow. Ill just play Deus Ex 1.. I think this will my 10th time. Ill think Realistic this time insted of Hard and Unatco ruins is the coolest ever
Thats the reason I asked, is that many have said the game runs badly, even on good pcs. I dont laugh at peoples pcs, most of us have what we can afford As long as people do understand that if they are running old/slow hardwre, there is a good chance that they may not be able to run the latest games.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 01:15 AM   #22
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default

Heh, after playing through Deus Ex 1 on a 200 mhz computer with a Voodoo 3, I've never thought about making fun of other people's setups. Though my current computer is starting to get to the "outdated/ancient" state too, when I was playing some U2XMP the other day and everyone was mentioning their specs, I said I had an XP1600 and one guy said "I pity you"
Ahh yes, just like the good old days...can't believe I actually played through half of Homeworld 1 at 640x480 on my 200 mhz computer....IN SOFTWARE MODE!

Oh, and it's not as fast as a TI4200, but for the price I really don't think you can beat this:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...145-042&DEPA=1
An FX5200 might not be the fastest card around, but it will run any game (granted at reduced resolution), and for $63 shipped it's a really nice card for a budget gamer. Should be a decent amount faster then your GF4MX, and it has full DX9 support so it won't be outdated for a long time (well, feature-wise, anyway). Wonder if they'll get any of those refurbished models back in...at $40 it would be cheaper then a GF3!
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 04:10 AM   #23
Rob_0126
Freedom is not free
 
Rob_0126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Heavyd
My Systems specs are:

AMD Althon 750mhz
512mb PC133
Geforce 4 MX
20 gig Maxtor 7200
Asus K7V Slot A
Onboard Via sound (The Sh!ttest ever)
LG 52x Cd drive
Mitsumi 4x4x24x Burner
Windows Xp Service pack 1

Laugh at me and ill hunt you down

Anyways I played and beaten the game on my bro 2.4ghz but still its pretty slow. Ill just play Deus Ex 1.. I think this will my 10th time. Ill think Realistic this time insted of Hard and Unatco ruins is the coolest ever
hmph, looking at those specs, does your board have an agp slot?

Also, to take advantage of a G4 ti 4200, you might want to upgrade the board and cpu, and maybe the power supply.

A quality 350 watt ps should be good enough. Ask the folks here about more details on this, as Im off to work.

Robert
Rob_0126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-04, 07:28 PM   #24
Heavyd
Registered User
 
Heavyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to Heavyd
Default

Quote:
hmph, looking at those specs, does your board have an agp slot?

Also, to take advantage of a G4 ti 4200, you might want to upgrade the board and cpu, and maybe the power supply.

A quality 350 watt ps should be good enough. Ask the folks here about more details on this, as Im off to work.

Robert

Robert,
Of course my motherboard has a AGP slot. Its impossible to find any geforce and up that isn't an AGP card because pci can't handle the new technology and i have a 400watt power supply which is pretty useless too and plus agp been around since 98'ish and i don't think AMD Althons are that old... probably the PII and K-6 phase
Heavyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pixel shader version 1.4 supported? JohnsonLKD NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 19 08-20-02 05:04 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.