Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-31-03, 02:39 PM   #1
DestumteseL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to DestumteseL
Default Problem with game

Well, I play a game called Counter-Strike and a GeForce FX 5200, about one month ago I started getting really low FPS, (frames per second) and I don't really know why, I've tried installing more recent drivers and nothing works, can somebody give me some help.
__________________
DestumteseL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 02:43 PM   #2
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default

Tell us more about when it first started. Had you recently installed anything or made any changes?
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 02:53 PM   #3
DestumteseL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to DestumteseL
Default

I'm not really sure, it had been working fine for about a month and a half. Then one day I went into the main menu and in the netgraph it said 4.0fps, I was like wtf? I usually get about 72.0 fps at the main menu. I have 2 versions of the game, 1.5 and 1.6 . 1.5 you install on a CD and 1.6 you have a program running called Steam. I'm not really sure if it won't support my video card or not. Tell me some more information that I can give to you so you can understand it more.
__________________
DestumteseL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 03:27 PM   #4
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default

What kind of internet connection do you have and what programs do you have normally running in the background on your PC? Also, do you know what version of Steam you're using and did you perchance happen to install/update Steam around the same time as your slow-downs started?
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 03:47 PM   #5
DestumteseL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to DestumteseL
Default

I have Cable internet (Road Runner), usually the only program is steam (required for Counterstrike) and maybe my pop-up stopper. This is the first version of steam and it updates every wednesday.
__________________
DestumteseL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 04:33 PM   #6
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default

Just to make sure, you didn't turn on Anti-aliasing or anything like that, did you? Turning on 8xAA will effectivly lower your framerate to 1/8th of what it normally is (more or less). Also you might want to turn off v-sync, it could be causing minor performance issues (though nowhere near as severe as what you're getting). An FX5200 is roughly equal to a GF3 in speed, so it should easilly be able to run CS at 100 FPS without AA. Unless it's a Steam problem, which wouldn't suprise me since that program still has...issues.

Oh, and have you tried any other games to see if you have the same problem? Or is it limited to CS?
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 08:23 PM   #7
DestumteseL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to DestumteseL
Default

And how do I turn off AA and v-sync
__________________
DestumteseL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 08:26 PM   #8
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DestumteseL
And how do I turn off AA and v-sync
Right-click anywhere on your open desktop, click on "Properties" and then "Advanced Options"....look under D3D and openGL tabs. (Sorry, it's been a while since I played with any nVidia cards...ask me next week. )
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-31-03, 08:48 PM   #9
DestumteseL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to DestumteseL
Default

All it says is General, Adapter, Monitor, TroubleShooing, Color Management
__________________
DestumteseL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 09:17 PM   #10
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default

Uh, there's no FX5200 or GeforceFX or some tab like that? OK...that's kinda odd....are you sure you downloaded the right drivers for your OS?
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 09:19 PM   #11
DestumteseL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to DestumteseL
Default

Ok, now I got it but I dont know what to do. (nub)

Edit: I turned off vertical sync for OpenGL, is there anything else I need to do?
__________________
DestumteseL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 10:35 PM   #12
DestumteseL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to DestumteseL
Default

GOD DAMNIT! I still get 4.0 fps and I am starting to get really pissed.
__________________
DestumteseL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Kotaku) Do We Really Need Video Game Consoles Anymore? [Speak Up On Kotaku] News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 12:35 PM
HDMI overscan fix for multiple resolutions + Zod Engine Problem. cheechr1 NVIDIA Linux 0 06-11-12 03:27 PM
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 12:10 PM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 06:30 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Star Trek: The Next Generation News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 01:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.