Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-31-03, 09:41 PM   #13
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default

Check your AA & AF options, what levels are they set to?
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 11:13 PM   #14
DestumteseL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to DestumteseL
Default

Well, I don't really know what those stand-for and I don't know where to find them.
__________________
DestumteseL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 11:25 PM   #15
DestumteseL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to DestumteseL
Default

Do you have IRC, MSN, or AIM so we can continue this fastly?
__________________
DestumteseL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 11:40 PM   #16
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DestumteseL
Do you have IRC, MSN, or AIM so we can continue this fastly?
No I don't, it takes up too much of my time when I use it so I tend to keep putting off re-installing Trillian.

AA= Anti-aliasing
AF= Anisotropic filtering

Look under your directX & openGL tabs for something about it.
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 11:53 PM   #17
DestumteseL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to DestumteseL
Default

Theyre both off.
__________________
DestumteseL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-03, 11:55 PM   #18
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Oh, Dig is wrong about that. AA/AF settings aren't under D3D or OGL, they're under a separate tab called "Image Quality" or "Quality Settings" or something like that. The page has three sliders--it has the Intellisample Quality slider, with the options of High Performance, Performance, and Quality, the AA slider (which might be greyed out because of an application controlled checkbox), and the AF slider (which again might be greyed out).
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-04, 07:16 AM   #19
Rob_0126
Freedom is not free
 
Rob_0126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DestumteseL
I have Cable internet (Road Runner), usually the only program is steam (required for Counterstrike) and maybe my pop-up stopper. This is the first version of steam and it updates every wednesday.
Try turning the popup stopper off. I had a problem with one of those slowing things down. Not sure if it would have an effect on fps, but doesn't hurt to try.

Robert
Rob_0126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-04, 04:06 PM   #20
DestumteseL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to DestumteseL
Default

It might of been my pop-up stopper, I removed it from my computer and then the game worked fine but then I quit and when I went back in it didnt work again.
__________________
DestumteseL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-01-04, 04:50 PM   #21
Rob_0126
Freedom is not free
 
Rob_0126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DestumteseL
It might of been my pop-up stopper, I removed it from my computer and then the game worked fine but then I quit and when I went back in it didnt work again.
Virus? Or a registry scramble.

What exactly do you mean by not working?

Robert
Rob_0126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-04, 06:37 PM   #22
Heavyd
Registered User
 
Heavyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to Heavyd
Default

Why is Counter-Strike so addictive to you people..... like what can u get out off that then something like Solider of Fortune 2 or Quake 3 or Medal of Honor
Heavyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-04, 09:30 AM   #23
DestumteseL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to DestumteseL
Default

Actually I play Medal of Honor sometimes, but Counter-Strike is my favorite. What I mean by not working is getting 4.0 fps which causes the main menu to move extremely slowly and while connecting to servers usually takes about 1 minute, takes like 6.

I might as well use a system restore disk because it might be a virus from AIM or something, I've already had a few of those.
__________________
DestumteseL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-04, 02:41 PM   #24
Rob_0126
Freedom is not free
 
Rob_0126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Default

Check out the background processes. Something is eating up CPU time.

At 1 point, IE was eating up 98% of my cpu, for no apparent reason. Probably some LEET Asshole hacking my pc.

Robert
Rob_0126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Kotaku) Do We Really Need Video Game Consoles Anymore? [Speak Up On Kotaku] News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 11:35 AM
HDMI overscan fix for multiple resolutions + Zod Engine Problem. cheechr1 NVIDIA Linux 0 06-11-12 02:27 PM
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Star Trek: The Next Generation News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.