Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-02-04, 07:43 AM   #13
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
Tribes fanboys. They're completely full of ****--a friend of mine wanted me to build him a computer--a 2Ghz P4 with a gig of RAM, RAID, and a Voodoo3 for Tribes. I refused.
ROFL!

Well, as an alternative you could have built him that rig but instead of the Voodoo3, give him a modern video card like the FX5900 or R9800, then simply combine that with a Voodoo2, or two Voodoo2's in SLI. I've played with dual Voodoo2's with my current rig and it works perfectly fine for Glide. As long as you got the PCI slots available and your a diehard Glide fan, Voodoo2 is your savior.

Zivilian, this might be a good fix for you too. Trust me the Voodoo2 works with ANY video card, it doesn't care. Look for them on ebay
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-04, 09:20 AM   #14
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Voodoo2 is wonky on XP, I think, which is the only drawback.

But I'd still like one so I could dual-boot--95% of hard drive for XP, 5% for DOS.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-04, 10:51 AM   #15
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
Voodoo2 is wonky on XP, I think, which is the only drawback.

But I'd still like one so I could dual-boot--95% of hard drive for XP, 5% for DOS.
Voodoo2 works perfectly fine on XP. Trust me I've used it extensively with WinXP. All you gotta do is install the standard Win2k Voodoo2 drivers from http://www.voodoofiles.com and upon reboot if you get an error message, just use a Startup Control Panel or similar program to remove "Voodoo2" from the system startup. The driver will STILL load, and it works great, even in SLI mode.
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-04, 03:04 PM   #16
Rob_0126
Freedom is not free
 
Rob_0126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gator
Voodoo2 works perfectly fine on XP. Trust me I've used it extensively with WinXP. All you gotta do is install the standard Win2k Voodoo2 drivers from http://www.voodoofiles.com and upon reboot if you get an error message, just use a Startup Control Panel or similar program to remove "Voodoo2" from the system startup. The driver will STILL load, and it works great, even in SLI mode.
What exactly does the V2 SLI mode do for a fast computer these days?

About Glide; I thought Glide was a better API than Direct X, but Opengl is more flexible.
It's sad that Glide was 3dfx exclusive

I liked glide. When I played Unreal Tournament, I could tell a big difference in DX mode and Glide mode; it just looked better, especially the lighting effects. But now, thats ancient history.

Robert
Rob_0126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-04, 03:21 PM   #17
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default

When nVidia bought 3DFX, didn't they get the rights to the Glide API? If so, they should update it a little and add it to future cards just for the sake of backward compatibility.
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-04, 03:25 PM   #18
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rob_0126
What exactly does the V2 SLI mode do for a fast computer these days?

About Glide; I thought Glide was a better API than Direct X, but Opengl is more flexible.
It's sad that Glide was 3dfx exclusive

I liked glide. When I played Unreal Tournament, I could tell a big difference in DX mode and Glide mode; it just looked better, especially the lighting effects. But now, thats ancient history.

Robert
SLI is still useful when you consider the Voodoo2 only has 12mb of texture space. By using SLI, it doubles to 24mb. This is not alot when you compare it to modern day cards, so 12mb vs 24mb can make the difference between using 640x480 resolution vs 800x600 resolution. The fastest CPU in the world isn't gonna help you if your video card is limited . I've actually experimented with single vs dual SLI voodoo2, and I would actually see the jump in FPS rates.

And glide was good, but it had some set backs including only 16bit color support and not 24bit or 32bit. You can force 32bit with the Voodoo5, but it still isn't really supported. The truth is Glide is good for games written for glide such as Unreal Tournament, but Opengl is good enough now that so long as you have an updated renderer it can outperform Glide. I run UT at 1024x768 @ 32bit color @ 85hz in Opengl... which is something Glide could never handle

I recommend the Voodoo2 for Glide fans though, because it's a hell of a lot easier to get working than some of the Glide wrappers, and this way it's GENUINE Glide
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-04, 08:10 AM   #19
Rob_0126
Freedom is not free
 
Rob_0126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gator
SLI is still useful when you consider the Voodoo2 only has 12mb of texture space. By using SLI, it doubles to 24mb. This is not alot when you compare it to modern day cards, so 12mb vs 24mb can make the difference between using 640x480 resolution vs 800x600 resolution. The fastest CPU in the world isn't gonna help you if your video card is limited . I've actually experimented with single vs dual SLI voodoo2, and I would actually see the jump in FPS rates.

And glide was good, but it had some set backs including only 16bit color support and not 24bit or 32bit. You can force 32bit with the Voodoo5, but it still isn't really supported. The truth is Glide is good for games written for glide such as Unreal Tournament, but Opengl is good enough now that so long as you have an updated renderer it can outperform Glide. I run UT at 1024x768 @ 32bit color @ 85hz in Opengl... which is something Glide could never handle

I recommend the Voodoo2 for Glide fans though, because it's a hell of a lot easier to get working than some of the Glide wrappers, and this way it's GENUINE Glide
Cool.

Hey, I wonder what if, 3dfx was one of the v card giants now, instead of nividia?

Robert
Rob_0126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-04, 08:12 AM   #20
D.K.Tronics
Retro Gamer
 
D.K.Tronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 243
Default

There are a couple of Glide wrappers worth mentioning.

Glidos, is a wrapper mostly for DOS glide games. It runs many of the old DOS glide games rather well, but it's shareware, and costs 10/$10.
In particular, is it's ability to run Tombraider 1, in a new "Hi-Res" state. It looks amazing, far superior to what it used to look like. It also comes with a windows GLIDE2X.DLL, which will work on many windows games.

http://www.resonantedge.com/trx/



http://www.glidos.net/

But the best of all of them is a wrapper called dgVoodoo, written by a guy from Hungary. Unfortunately, he is doing service for his country, so development is suspended for a while.
Another downside, is that the DOS side of his wrapper only works in Win9x. But his windows wrapper works fine in any windows.
The DOS wrapper is ran through a clever server, that runs in the background. When you run a DOS glide game, the server picks it up and routes it through your DirectX drivers. So you can use all the loverly AA and AF, to make your glide games look better than before.
Compatibility, is great. DOS games work a treat. And windows games work superbly. Even my beloved 'Outlaws' from Lucasarts, works superb.

http://dege.fw.hu/

Only downside for me, is that ATI's drivers, in WinME, are appalling for DOS Glide. Whenever a DOS session is closed, you are left with a complete graphical mess of your desktop. And a complete reboot is required.
Nvidia's drivers are fine, as I tested this on my old PC with a Ti4600.
__________________
Athlon 64 754 2.8ghz Newcastle, 285 bus @ 2565 on AIR !!
MSI K8N Neo nForce 3 250Gb Platinum
Nvidia 6800GT 256Mb AGP - God I've missed you, nVidia
1 Gb PC3700 Corsair RAM
SBLive Platinum + Livedrive II - 7 years old and STILL going strong
Windows XP Pro SP2
D.K.Tronics is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-03-04, 08:19 PM   #21
Rob_0126
Freedom is not free
 
Rob_0126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by D.K.Tronics
There are a couple of Glide wrappers worth mentioning.

Glidos, is a wrapper mostly for DOS glide games. It runs many of the old DOS glide games rather well, but it's shareware, and costs 10/$10.
In particular, is it's ability to run Tombraider 1, in a new "Hi-Res" state. It looks amazing, far superior to what it used to look like. It also comes with a windows GLIDE2X.DLL, which will work on many windows games.

http://www.resonantedge.com/trx/



http://www.glidos.net/

But the best of all of them is a wrapper called dgVoodoo, written by a guy from Hungary. Unfortunately, he is doing service for his country, so development is suspended for a while.
Another downside, is that the DOS side of his wrapper only works in Win9x. But his windows wrapper works fine in any windows.
The DOS wrapper is ran through a clever server, that runs in the background. When you run a DOS glide game, the server picks it up and routes it through your DirectX drivers. So you can use all the loverly AA and AF, to make your glide games look better than before.
Compatibility, is great. DOS games work a treat. And windows games work superbly. Even my beloved 'Outlaws' from Lucasarts, works superb.

http://dege.fw.hu/

Only downside for me, is that ATI's drivers, in WinME, are appalling for DOS Glide. Whenever a DOS session is closed, you are left with a complete graphical mess of your desktop. And a complete reboot is required.
Nvidia's drivers are fine, as I tested this on my old PC with a Ti4600.
Tomb Raider 1 came with those high res textures?

Robert
Rob_0126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-04, 11:44 PM   #22
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rob_0126
Tomb Raider 1 came with those high res textures?

Robert
No. It was a restoration project.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-04, 07:00 AM   #23
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default

I'm not being real helpful, but I used to own a S3 Savage4 card and I'm sure the driver came with a D3D Glide emulator. If that driver set is still floating around it could possibly be useful.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-04, 04:23 AM   #24
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default

Creative used to have a glide wrapper for there 3dblaster cards (TNT 1 and 2, also savage I think) But they only worked on creative cards as the drivers checked what gfx card you have installed before the drivers were installed.
But then again, back when I used to have a Creative tnt 1 that wrapper didnt work good ... but still better then the rest of them.
After v1.2 I think those were discontinued anyways ....
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the best Glide wrapper for GeForce cards? JohnsonLKD Gaming Central 3 08-26-02 08:31 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.