Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-02, 07:42 AM   #1
laasunde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5
Default Nvidia configure

Good day everyone.

I've finally managed to install the nvidia driver on my redhat 7.3

I changed my /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 according to the README file that came with nvidia driver, first I removed two lines and replaced nv with nvidia.

If I run startx everything starts-up fine but the resolution and color quality isnt great.

I then run Xconfigurator, on the second screen there is a pci probing of my video card, XFree4 driver : nv (should it be nvidia ?)

Next page, monitor probing, I have no idea what Horizontal and Vertical sync range is suppose to be, so I just click ok. (Hor. sync range = 30-96 KHz ver. sync range = 47-150 Hz)

Next screen ask if I want to probe or not, I select probe, the probe returns with an error, cant detect video ram, I click ok and then select 32 MB ram from a menu.

Next I get asked about clockchip, I have no idea what this means ? I just select no clickchip setting.

Next I can select 8 bit color and 1024*735 (or something like that).

The program then trys to start X.... it returns with "problem with X config, go back and edit settings".

I quit the program.

If I run startx it obviously doesnt work.

If I edit /etc/X11/XF86config-4 and remove the two lines and change nv to nvidia and then run startx X works but still not with the correct resolution and color quality.

As you anyone can see Im a novice at Linux, hoping for some input.

Appreciate any response.

Btw, its a GeForce DDR 32MB RAM card Im using.
laasunde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 03:12 AM   #2
z28Power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Reno, NV, US
Posts: 15
Default

so are you saying that you don't get the desired 1024x768 resolution, or do you just get crappy quality? that would be probably because you are choosing 8bit, which only allows for 256 colors. choosing 16 or 24 bit modes would allow for a better quality image. However if you are not getting 1024x768, chances are either your system is still trying to load nv drivers instead of t he nvidia, (check the readme for info on that), or possibly the video driver isn't installed right? maybe try to reinstall that? What distro are you running? Just a newbie trying to help a newbie.
__________________
Celeron 633, Running at 790Mhz w/83Mhz FSB.
GeForce4 Ti-4200
384MB RAM
Currently running Slackware 8.0
Kernel 2.4.5
etc, etc, etc.
z28Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 08:10 AM   #3
igel4u
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Angry same problem ...

I am running RedHat 7.3 with kernel 2.4.18-3 / 2.4.18-5 / 2.4.18-10 / 2.4.19 and the 3123 driver for my GeForce4 MX440 64 MB RAM card.

The only resolution I got is 1024x768 in 16 bit mode.

After re-install RedHat 7.3 with kernel 2.4.18-3 with the GeForce 2 MX card selected I can run 1600x1200 in 24 bit mode ...

I did not change the driver after this installation and had no Problems with my card..

Isn't it funny
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 01:22 PM   #4
laasunde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5
Default

I've been trying to edit my /etc/X11/XFConfig-4 file to configure my video card.

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "nVidia Corporation|NV10 [GeForce 256 DDR"
Monitor "HSL076D"
DefaultDepth 16
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024*768"
EndSubSection
EndSectio

The above works.

But if I change the Modes to "800*600" I get the same resolution as before, same thing happens if I change it to "640*480". However If I try to change the Depth to either 8 or 24 X wouldnt even start.

I must say I find this very strange, it doesnt seem like my video card and the config file are working togther.

Now I atleast get the Nvidia splash screen when I start X so I guess the new driver is installed.

Can someone please help me configure the correct resolution and color quality. This whole video driver thing has really been buging me for a while now.
laasunde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 08:08 PM   #5
z28Power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Reno, NV, US
Posts: 15
Default

Are you editing the XFConfig-4 file, or the XF86Config-4 file? If it doesn't say the latter, I think we've found your problem. The other possibility is that maybe XFree is using the XF86Config file (no -4) and that's why it won't use the resolutions you specifiy? Check it out and lemme know?
__________________
Celeron 633, Running at 790Mhz w/83Mhz FSB.
GeForce4 Ti-4200
384MB RAM
Currently running Slackware 8.0
Kernel 2.4.5
etc, etc, etc.
z28Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 08:41 PM   #6
laasunde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Im sorry, /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 is the file I was refering to.
laasunde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-02, 06:26 AM   #7
philippe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have a redhat 7.3 with a graphic card : nvidia geforce 4 mx420.

could you send me, please, your XF86Config-4 ?

When I launch startx : I get an error message and I come back to the linux command line.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-02, 12:15 PM   #8
laasunde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Here is part of my XF86Config-4 file

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "nVidia Corporation|NV10 [GeForce 256 DDR"
Monitor "HSL076D"
DefaultDepth 16
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "800*600"
EndSubSection
EndSection

The above DOES NOT give me 800*600 resolution. It looks more like 1024*768. What is happening here ? At the moment I'd like to have 800*600 resolution with best possible color quality.
laasunde is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-28-02, 01:09 PM   #9
mtrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 234
Send a message via ICQ to mtrr
Default

---snip---
Modes "800*600"?
---snap---

that _should_ read:

Modes "800x600"


cheers
mtrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 07:19 AM   #10
laasunde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mtrr
---snip---
Modes "800*600"?
---snap---

that _should_ read:

Modes "800x600"


cheers
Thank you good sir, it worked like a charm
laasunde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Puts Tesla K20 GPU Coprocessor Through its Paces News Archived News Items 0 09-20-12 11:00 AM
NVIDIA Showcases GPU Breakthroughs at IBC 2012 News Archived News Items 0 09-07-12 11:10 AM
The Nvidia Forums Are Still Not Available, Finally We Know Why News Archived News Items 0 07-14-12 06:10 AM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 09:35 PM
Rumor regarding lack of 680 availability ViN86 Rumor Mill 6 05-09-12 05:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.