Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-01-04, 07:39 PM   #1
zivilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 60
Default Glide Wrapper

Anyone know a good glide wrapper that works with tribes 1 i tryed a few but most dotn work or are very bad
zivilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-04, 08:22 PM   #2
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

can't you just use OpenGL?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-04, 08:40 PM   #3
zivilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 60
Default

yea but im jsut seeing what the diffrence is some people say glide works better i duno
zivilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-04, 09:13 PM   #4
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zivilian
yea but im jsut seeing what the diffrence is some people say glide works better i duno
Tribes fanboys. They're completely full of ****--a friend of mine wanted me to build him a computer--a 2Ghz P4 with a gig of RAM, RAID, and a Voodoo3 for Tribes. I refused.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-04, 09:20 PM   #5
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
Tribes fanboys. They're completely full of ****--a friend of mine wanted me to build him a computer--a 2Ghz P4 with a gig of RAM, RAID, and a Voodoo3 for Tribes. I refused.
sad, sad.....
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-04, 09:27 PM   #6
zivilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 60
Default

lol well im not obsessed with it i just herd it runs better but i havnt been able to run glide to find out
zivilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-04, 09:31 PM   #7
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zivilian
lol well im not obsessed with it i just herd it runs better but i havnt been able to run glide to find out
back when Tribes FIRST came out, there was only Glide support. and then they added GL support in a patch. and GL support was improved to the point where it didn't make a difference. but the Tribes community (that I have complained about bitterly on many occasions) is made up of almost as many idiots as the CS community, and a lot of them still swear by Glide.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-04, 09:39 PM   #8
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
Tribes fanboys. They're completely full of ****--a friend of mine wanted me to build him a computer--a 2Ghz P4 with a gig of RAM, RAID, and a Voodoo3 for Tribes. I refused.
LOL! God, that's a good one. He could've at LEAST asked for a Voodoo 5! Or better yet, build him a 400 mhz computer with a Voodoo 3, and then bill him for a 2 ghz computer. He won't know the difference

Oh, and there are a few games that have better effects with Glide (or simply don't support D3D/OGL), but I'm not sure if Tribes is one of them. If you play Carmageddon 2 or Diablo 2 (well, before patches anyway), then the Glide wrapper might help, but for Tribes I don't think it's worth it.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-01-04, 10:35 PM   #9
zivilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 60
Default

ahh ok ty
zivilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-04, 02:32 AM   #10
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Edge
Oh, and there are a few games that have better effects with Glide (or simply don't support D3D/OGL), but I'm not sure if Tribes is one of them. If you play Carmageddon 2 or Diablo 2 (well, before patches anyway), then the Glide wrapper might help, but for Tribes I don't think it's worth it.
I don't think there are any Glide wrappers that support the version of Glide used by Diablo2. At least, I couldn't find any when I looked back in the day.

I thought the rendering engine was junk(it probably is), but Diablo2 is really just a memory hog.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-04, 03:10 AM   #11
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default

Oh, I wasn't sure if there were any that supported Diablo 2, I just kinda assumed given how glidecentric that game was back in the day (no colored lights, spell transparencies, and many other graphic effects in D3D).

And yeah, the Diablo 2 engine was pretty inefficient. I think it's Glide mode is ok, but even then it seems to use a hell of a lot more ram then it needs to. Even Warcraft 3 uses less memory and overall just runs smoother, I think.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-04, 03:15 AM   #12
Moled
cheese
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Edge
LOL! God, that's a good one. He could've at LEAST asked for a Voodoo 5! Or better yet, build him a 400 mhz computer with a Voodoo 3, and then bill him for a 2 ghz computer. He won't know the difference

Oh, and there are a few games that have better effects with Glide (or simply don't support D3D/OGL), but I'm not sure if Tribes is one of them. If you play Carmageddon 2 or Diablo 2 (well, before patches anyway), then the Glide wrapper might help, but for Tribes I don't think it's worth it.

pffft
with glide you get the rain on raindance, which you didn't get with opengl

why would you need any reason other than that?
Moled is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the best Glide wrapper for GeForce cards? JohnsonLKD Gaming Central 3 08-26-02 08:31 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.