Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-04, 04:28 PM   #1
amaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6
Default how to generate correct modeline?

Hi:

I have the problem with configuring my widescreen display in a toshiba laptop. Its a 15.4 display and in windows it shows 1200 x 800 @ 60 Hz. Playing with the XF86Config file I have added different modes and tested it but can only reach a max of 1024 x 768 and so it looks weird. How can I generate a correct modeline for my display? I have tried gtf 1200 800 60 and the modeline that outputs does not work.

Here is the XF86Config file and its log as attachment
Attached Files
File Type: txt XFree86LOG.txt (30.0 KB, 105 views)
File Type: txt XF86Config.txt (3.5 KB, 133 views)
amaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-04, 10:54 PM   #2
JoeMue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: how to generate correct modeline?

Hi !

If you named the Modeline "1200x800_60.00"

Modeline "1200x800_60.00" 78.69 1200 1264 1392 1584 800 801 804 828 -HSync +Vsync

you have to call this mode here - it should be

Modes "1200x800_60.00" "1024x768" "800x600"

maybe you must remove the other modes ...

does it work ?

CYa
JoeMue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-04, 02:04 AM   #3
pzgren
Registered User
 
pzgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 107
Default Re: how to generate correct modeline?

Use this one:

http://xtiming.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/xtiming.pl

easier.


Marcus
__________________
Fedora Core 6
Notebook: DELL Inspiron 9400 - Core Duo T2400 - 17" WUXGA 7800 Go 256MB - 2 GB DDR2 667 MHz -
PC: AMD64 3200 - 1 GB Infi. PC400 - MSI K8N Neo Platinum NForce3 250GB - 80GB SATA Samsung - SB Live! 5.1 - GF 6600GT AGP
pzgren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-04, 08:35 PM   #4
amaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: how to generate correct modeline?

Nope, still doesnt' work with both of your answers, the modeline that is generated through the web page listed below also doesn't work =( any more ideas??

Thanks
amaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-04, 10:22 PM   #5
Soul-Crusher
Leadtek 6800GT
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to Soul-Crusher Send a message via AIM to Soul-Crusher Send a message via Yahoo to Soul-Crusher
Default Re: how to generate correct modeline?

xvidtune

If you tell it to "show" it will give you the current mode line. You can tweak your settings if are having trouble with your display. I had to bring my dot clock down because parts of the screen were fuzzy. Check your monitor's manual for the correct refresh rates, resolutions, dot clock setting, etc.
__________________
"Floating in a dream-like state, I am the emporer of a parallel universe." --Arch Enemy
My xorg.conf file
Soul-Crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuSe 8.0 Problems. GaMMa NVIDIA Linux 19 09-26-02 06:51 AM
help! looking for correct driver to install denisepoll NVIDIA Linux 11 08-13-02 09:03 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.