Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-23-02, 07:46 PM   #1
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default tweakmonster ramsinks for evga geforce4

i want to get some tweakmonster ram sinks for my evga geforce4 ti4200. does anyone know what the difference between the bga ram sinks and the rev4 are? it says that bga are for some geforce4 cards. i'm kinda confused, anyone have any experience with these ram sinks, and which one is better? and, also what kind of increase would i expect? 10mhz? 15mhz?
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 12:36 AM   #2
JonathanM
Crazy Canuck
 
JonathanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 173
Default

Too bad my review of the Rev 4 heatsinks was lost in the hack... and my hd died the same week with no backup anywhere else Anywasy remeber getting 15-20MHz more, but that was with the RAM already much higher than normally clocked... Don't get the BGA sinks, cuz they're for the small square memory modules found on the Ti 4400 and 4600 and your card comes with standard TSOP memory.
__________________
That's Crazy!
JonathanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 12:48 AM   #3
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

thanks johnathan, exactly what i wanted to know.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 09:51 AM   #4
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

On a somewhat related note - what's the best way to install BGA ramsinks? I'd like to use Arctic Alumina epoxy because it's non-conductive. But what's the best way to apply it? Put it only on the ramsinks? Only on the memory itself? On both? How long should the epoxy cure before it's considered ready to use?
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 08:23 PM   #5
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

apply a very THIN layer. thats the biggest mistake people make, they just slap on a whole bunch a stuff. i suggest using a small detail paintbrush or whatever works. since its non-conductive i don't think you should really be afraid about touching the ram connections, but to be safe just try to keep that thin lair and leave a little space between the epoxy and the connections. don't put the epoxy on both, thats also putting on to much, just a thin lair on either surface. whatever is easier for you, i usually put it on the ram itself, so you can be sure that your not touching the connections. you should let the epoxy cure for about half an hour. that should be fine.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-02, 12:48 AM   #6
JonathanM
Crazy Canuck
 
JonathanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 173
Default

Sat Artcic Silver has a great guide to their Alumina here

What works best for me is placing it on the ramsinks only... spreading it around on the modules is very though especially with all the sensitive components around...
__________________
That's Crazy!
JonathanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-02, 02:09 AM   #7
SlyBoots
Registered User
 
SlyBoots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: La Grande, OR
Posts: 339
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by saturnotaku
On a somewhat related note - what's the best way to install BGA ramsinks? I'd like to use Arctic Alumina epoxy because it's non-conductive. But what's the best way to apply it? Put it only on the ramsinks? Only on the memory itself? On both? How long should the epoxy cure before it's considered ready to use?
I've been using 'frag tape' for years; clk gen's, ram, chipsets & vid cards.....not as good as AS, but better than nothing + easy to work with..........a nice review of the AS epoxy with comparisons to frag tape>> http://www.overclockercafe.com/Revie...%20silver.html

SlyBoots is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Gainward GeForce4 Ti 4200 MikeC For Sale/Trade 9 10-09-02 03:56 PM
For Sale: Gainward GeForce4 Ti 4400 "Golden Sample" MikeC For Sale/Trade 13 10-08-02 12:16 PM
GeForce4 MX440 igel4u NVIDIA Linux 2 09-24-02 04:47 AM
GeForce4 owners: Please post your TV encoder and board information ScuzziOne NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 8 08-04-02 06:55 PM
GeForce4 Owners: Need your TV Encoder & Board Info... please! ScuzziOne NVIDIA Linux 1 08-01-02 04:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.