Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-29-02, 10:22 AM   #1
SkaGuy3876
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 27
Question Fastest CPU for KA266-R?

So what is the absolute fastest CPU the KA266-R can use without modding the board or CPU? Thanks.
__________________
Abit NV7-133R
AMD Athlon XP 2400+
Thermalright AX-7
512MB Crucial PC2100 DDR RAM
ELSA GLADIAC 920 GeForce3
2 X 40GB Maxtor D740X L ATA/133 on RAID 0
Pioneer DVD-117
TDK VeloCD 48/16/48
Enermax EG465P-VE 431W
Sony CPD-G410R
Cooler Master ATC 111C-SX2
Windows XP Professional
SkaGuy3876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 10:55 AM   #2
intercede007
American
 
intercede007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 331
Send a message via ICQ to intercede007 Send a message via AIM to intercede007 Send a message via MSN to intercede007 Send a message via Yahoo to intercede007
Default

IWill has the most USELESS website on the planet. There is a Compatibility link under the Support section with nothing in it!!!! I searched for you motherboard model, and it came up with 3 links: CPU / Memory / Graphics Card. All empty!! You'd think they'd at least have enough brains to put PC2100 under the memory section. Under the BIOS section in their forum, there is a guy that says he has an XP 1600+ running on a KA266R and wants to know if a 2200+ will work. I if he can get the XP1600 to work, you could get up to an XP2000+ to run.
intercede007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 11:04 AM   #3
SkaGuy3876
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 27
Default

Yeah, I was using my 1800+ in the Iwill before I got this motherboard. I was hoping to upgrade to the 2600+ eventually, then probably to the 333MHz or hammer cpus, and use the 2600+ in the Iwill. I looked in the BIOS and the highest multiplier was X14.0 and the voltage was 1.850v.
__________________
Abit NV7-133R
AMD Athlon XP 2400+
Thermalright AX-7
512MB Crucial PC2100 DDR RAM
ELSA GLADIAC 920 GeForce3
2 X 40GB Maxtor D740X L ATA/133 on RAID 0
Pioneer DVD-117
TDK VeloCD 48/16/48
Enermax EG465P-VE 431W
Sony CPD-G410R
Cooler Master ATC 111C-SX2
Windows XP Professional
SkaGuy3876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 11:06 AM   #4
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

i doubt it will work with the hammer cpus.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 11:18 AM   #5
SkaGuy3876
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 27
Default

Yeah, I know I would need a new motherboard for the hammer cpus, but can the Iwill use a 2600+, which is the last 266MHz FSB athlon, right?
__________________
Abit NV7-133R
AMD Athlon XP 2400+
Thermalright AX-7
512MB Crucial PC2100 DDR RAM
ELSA GLADIAC 920 GeForce3
2 X 40GB Maxtor D740X L ATA/133 on RAID 0
Pioneer DVD-117
TDK VeloCD 48/16/48
Enermax EG465P-VE 431W
Sony CPD-G410R
Cooler Master ATC 111C-SX2
Windows XP Professional
SkaGuy3876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 11:23 AM   #6
intercede007
American
 
intercede007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 331
Send a message via ICQ to intercede007 Send a message via AIM to intercede007 Send a message via MSN to intercede007 Send a message via Yahoo to intercede007
Default

That's iffy. I don't know how it works exactly, but there is a multiplier translation table for the newer Athlon XP's, where mutliplier 5 is like, 12.5, 5.5 is 13...like that. I think the BIOS needs to support that. If I'm not mistaken, the KA266R has jumpers, doesn't it? I don't know how that will effect you.
intercede007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 11:28 AM   #7
SkaGuy3876
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 27
Default

Yeah it does, but it also has the BIOS setting if you set the jumpers to auto. Well, if not I can just use the 2600+ in my current motherboard, and wait to upgrade to a hammer motherboard. But is the 2600+ the last 266MHz FSB athlon, the next will be 333MHz?
__________________
Abit NV7-133R
AMD Athlon XP 2400+
Thermalright AX-7
512MB Crucial PC2100 DDR RAM
ELSA GLADIAC 920 GeForce3
2 X 40GB Maxtor D740X L ATA/133 on RAID 0
Pioneer DVD-117
TDK VeloCD 48/16/48
Enermax EG465P-VE 431W
Sony CPD-G410R
Cooler Master ATC 111C-SX2
Windows XP Professional
SkaGuy3876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 11:32 AM   #8
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

yeah, i'm not 100% sure, but most likely the 2600+ will be the last 266mhz amd xp processor.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-29-02, 06:33 PM   #9
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Yes it does lookie here
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
Why the World's Fastest Computer Is a Scientific 'Time Machine' News Archived News Items 0 11-15-12 07:50 AM
Borderlands 2: is CPU capable of handling the PhysX effects? News Archived News Items 0 09-22-12 01:00 PM
With 16 petaflops and 1.6M cores, DOE supercomputer is world's fastest News Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 04:40 AM
Prime95 and CPU stress testing DaveW General Software 2 10-05-02 12:38 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.