Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-29-02, 10:04 AM   #1
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Athalon 1900+ what voltage should it be?

Folks, i have a Asus A7v333-R motehrboard with an Athalon XP 1900+ plonked in it. Now, this baby is very very hot running close to 60 degrees celcius with a 6800rpm heat sink fan attached to it. I noticed though that the voltage reading for the core is at 1.85 volts, now I have another system with an MSI KT4 ultra and amd XP2100+ systems and in that system, the cpu core is only 1.75V. Now I am confused and would like to know the true core voltage setting for the amd xp 1900+.

I tried the new bios that Asus has and even then I cannot get an option to decrese the voltage of the cpu. I am afraid that the higher volatge may decrease my cpu's life from 2-3 years to like 1 and a half! so if anyon can figure this problem out I would more than appreciate it.
I have not messed around with the L1 or whatever bridges to get it unlocked! Also I tried using the motherboards jumpers to set cpu coltage but it wouldn't have anything to do with it. I used the jumpers to set it at 1.75volts and still it wouldn't post. I tried 1.85 volts now, but the bios settinsg gives me values of user choice at 1.2vs to 1.6 volts only!
Anybody or folks with the asus a7v333 mobo had this problem and/ or know how to solve this problem please ..any suggestion is appreciated.

Thanks in advance
MUYA
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 06:10 PM   #2
intercede007
American
 
intercede007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 331
Send a message via ICQ to intercede007 Send a message via AIM to intercede007 Send a message via MSN to intercede007 Send a message via Yahoo to intercede007
Default

I'm using an Athlon XP 1900+ that is overclocked to 1704 and its using 1.75V. Check this article out on A7V333 voltage adjustments

http://www.spodesabode.com/content/article/a7v333

HTH
intercede007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 06:48 PM   #3
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

I think all AthlonXPs not overclocked run at a 1.72/1.75 core voltage dont they? If your temps are getting too high, you can always take the sides of your case off to help until you sort the heat problem out.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 07:19 PM   #4
intercede007
American
 
intercede007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 331
Send a message via ICQ to intercede007 Send a message via AIM to intercede007 Send a message via MSN to intercede007 Send a message via Yahoo to intercede007
Default

Yeah, they do. I was just trying to say that there is no need for it to be running at 1.85V.
intercede007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-02, 12:33 PM   #5
Blakhart
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Near Wolfie
Posts: 204
Default

I set mine to the lowest the voltage selector gave me, 1.7...
It runs cool at that voltage. Xp cpus are 1.7 volts anyway. If I run it at the cpu default (1.85) it runs hotter. This was only noticeable with a Tt volcano7 hsf. The stock hsf would saturate with heat and not show me the fine details of temp that the Tt does. It runs fine at 1.7 so there it will stay. If oc'd it may have been different.

The ddr mem is something like 2.5 volt standard/by design. I run it at 2.6 as it is run at the fastest timeing the mobo will do. It generates little or no heat so I am ok with this aspect.
Blakhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-02, 06:46 PM   #6
Essense
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It's Athlon you Goober.

Regards,
Mike
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 09:45 AM   #7
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default

Thanks guys but i actually fixed the problem finally, erm...turned out I configured the jumpers the wrong way compared to the way on the manual. Doh! It is now @1.75 volts and runs cooler maxing at 50-53 degrees celcius when gaming etc, still if I leave it at auto-config jumper setting, the bios still registers at 1.85 volts....dunno i think the ATHLON (thanks mike) cpu may have some sort of defect in it or sumit!

Cheers

Muya
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case

Last edited by MUYA; 10-06-02 at 09:52 AM.
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 01:37 PM   #8
Blakhart
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Near Wolfie
Posts: 204
Default

As to your heat problem, I solved mine with a Tt volcano7 hsf. It has a sensor to run a slower speeds, and took it from 109f idle-121f games to 104 idle-105 games. The previous hsf was the stock xp1800 hsf. I also have a hole in the case side that allows cool air directly over the hsf. I made a duct out of cardboard to help it a bit.
Something to think about.
Blakhart is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$39.99 - G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 News Archived News Items 0 11-20-12 06:00 AM
$39.99 - G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 News Newegg Daily Deals 0 11-14-12 09:00 AM
Nvidia program ties GPU warranty support to voltage limits News Archived News Items 0 10-04-12 01:40 PM
Intel's Near-Threshold Voltage Computing and Applications News Archived News Items 0 10-02-12 08:00 AM
GeForce4 Ti 4400 voltage question SCoFF NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 2 10-07-02 09:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.