Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-09-04, 01:29 PM   #37
rengels
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 10
Default

See, that is the thing.
Some people want to view TV and use the console. This seems not to work with current drivers even though it worked in the past.
rengels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-04, 12:55 AM   #38
dredgemortle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
Default

What about trying XFree 4.4? Would that possibly fix the prob?
dredgemortle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-04, 11:42 AM   #39
rengels
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 10
Lightbulb

Hi,
some new results. Using the 5xxx driver I have the following behaviour:

Using the following XFConfig section I have no garbeled console and twinview. The downside is that it is quite unstable. I had three killed xservers in two days.

Section "Device"
BoardName "GeForce4 Ti 4200"
BusID "1:0:0"
Driver "nvidia"
Identifier "Device[0]"
VendorName "NVidia"
Option "DPMS" "on"
Option "NvAGP" "3" # try 2 than 1
# Option "DigitalVibrance" "128"
Option "NoLogo" "on"
Option "TwinView" "on"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-57"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50-90"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,NULL; 800x600,800x600"
# Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,NULL; NULL,800x600; NULL,625x468; NULL,640x480"
Option "TVOverScan" "0.1"
# Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP, TV"
# Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "TV"
Screen 0
EndSection


If you comment out the TwinView section you have no twin view (of course) but garbeled text consoles and (happy news) no crashes.

Who sayed that it is a Bios problem?
rengels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-04, 07:42 PM   #40
javmss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Facing the facts, there are four dozen posts regarding the same subject.

Those posts come from, at least, a half dozen people, each one with their own hardware around the world. Saying that the systems manufacturers don't know how to put a chip and a bios to work, as slightly suggested by the moderator sounds to me, exclusively to me, like it's something roten in the chipset manufacter's kingdom.

How can all of those bios work for all this time and, suddenly, all of their owners find out that they are broken, on despite of chipset type, bios data and manufacturer?

Well, we're not here to throw speculations out to the void.
Let the nvidia staff do what they know.
But lets hope that they also really pay atention in what their customers say.
Here I guess we have a problem for them to solve, or at least, to give us a better explanation...
javmss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-04, 02:30 PM   #41
rengels
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 10
Unhappy

Hi,
I am working as a SW engineer since five years and I have seen similar problems a dozent times.

The symptoms are always the same: At least two programmers, a lot of small errors and old errors keep appearing over and over again.

Cause of this is a highly complex code which no-one really understands any more. Because of this every change has to be very small to break as much as possible.
But there is no real bug left, all the issues are caused by the SW architecture which no one dares to change.

Solution to this problem is a so called refactoring where the code is cleaned up. I have done this myself a number of times. If done right you get rid of all the strange behaviours and problems, while at the same time reducing code complexety and size.
My best result was: Removing five old bugs while at the same time reducing the code size by 50% and the memory consumption by 95%. This was a 10.000 lines project
rengels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-04, 03:44 PM   #42
WiredLain
On/Off
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Default

I can report a working TV-out, no garbled console here, using Mdk 9.2 and XFree 4.3 with a FX5200. My trick to the no grabled console is to boot in... you guessed it... non-fb mode. Sure I don't have the fancy bootsplash and my console is in low resolution, but hey, it gets the job done. The display is good enough that I can watch DVDs on my TV played on my comp, play UT2004, etc...

So, just for you, here are the relevant config infos:

LILO:
boot=/dev/hda
map=/boot/map
default="windows"
keytable=/boot/fr-latin1.klt
prompt
nowarn
timeout=100
message=/boot/message
menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw
image=/boot/vmlinuz
label="linux"
root=/dev/hdb5
initrd=/boot/initrd.img
append="devfs=mount splash=silent hdc=ide-scsi hdd=ide-scsi acpi=ht resume=/dev/hdb6 splash=silent"
vga=788
read-only
image=/boot/vmlinuz
label="linux-nonfb"
root=/dev/hdb5
initrd=/boot/initrd.img
append="devfs=mount hdc=ide-scsi hdd=ide-scsi acpi=ht resume=/dev/hdb6 splash=0"
vga=normal
read-only
[rest of lilo.conf here]

And XF86Config-4:
[normal stuff]
Section "Module"
Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx" # 3D layer
EndSection
[more standard stuff]
Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
VendorName "NVidia"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"
Option "TwinView"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-N"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768; 800x600, 800x600"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, TV"
EndSection
[and the rest untouched]

And for the record, it works fine using virtual resolutions.
WiredLain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 09:46 AM   #43
plock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
Default scrambled consoles using MSI K7N2G

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter
...I've installed NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5336-pkg1.run (without any problems). The X-Problem was gone, but I had scrambled consoles as already described in this thread.

It also helped to include the line
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "TV"
in the Section "Device" in /etc/X11/XF86Config. I had to reboot my computer after this change.

I have an
AMD XP-2400+
on
K7N2G (MSI mainboard)
with
on-board NVIDIA nForce2 IGP
...
Same hardware as above running Mdk 9.2.
Scrambled consoles + frustration.
Did Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "TV" as suggested above.
No more scrambled consoles + bliss!
Thanks.
plock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-04, 05:15 PM   #44
Ignacio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Exclamation Re: XFree 4.3 garbles text consoles

Same problem here, i'm new to nvidia (not to linux), of course i don't wanna disable tv-out, nor FB console, and i do think it's a driver's problem, not bios.

Relevant info about my PC:
-MOBO: MSI K7-Pro, whith AMD irongate chipset (I know it's old, but its the one i have)
-Proc: AMD K7-650 Mhz Slot A (again very old)
-Video: A-open GeForce 4 440 AGP 8x (my chipset only supports 2x)
-RAM: 256 PC100
-Mandrake 10 community edition (dualboot whith win XP & 98)
-Kernel 2.6.3
-Video Driver: 1.0-5336

FB works correctly before starting X11 (4.3) but when i start X11 using "nvidia" driver, I can only see garbage in console (my Screen looses FB and goes back to 80x25 whith garbage) Please fix the driver!
Ignacio is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-30-04, 06:39 AM   #45
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: XFree 4.3 garbles text consoles

I too have similar problems(as I posted in another thread before I noticed this one).

I've had the same problems with 3 motherboards in a row, using the same videocard(A-Bit Siluro GeForce4 Ti4400) and two different procs. All did have a VIA chipset though.

I've always been struggling to use TV-out to watch movies on my TV from my PC, and have mostly been successful after half an hour of trying and it usually means it takes at least half an hour to get it back to the state it was in before. Strange behaviour.

I don't think it's exclusively a BIOS problem since it works completely fine in Windows XP using same hardware. I can't try if the BIOS plays a role in this since there are no BIOS updates available for my card.
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 08:00 AM   #46
Knurpht
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: XFree 4.3 garbles text consoles

System : Athlon 2600+, Viewpoint nVidia MX440 8xAGP, 1 GB DDR



Me too. I'm convinced it's the driver. No BIOS. I have been running several SuSE releases with nVidia -drivers. No problem with the TV-out shut down, plugged out etc. After install of Suse 9.1 Pro with tv-out disconnected, consoles were OK, to be immediately scrambled by plugging in the tv-out.

No real solution sofar
Knurpht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-04, 08:51 AM   #47
Lithorus
Registered User
 
Lithorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 783
Default Re: XFree 4.3 garbles text consoles

I believe the same thing happens with ati drivers. VESA + X = unusable console.
Lithorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.