Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-13-04, 07:40 AM   #1
moebius
GeForce ti4400
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to moebius Send a message via AIM to moebius
Default AMD64 - WRONG README! What to do???

So nvidia graciously released some AMD64 drivers but they didn't get around to doing that handy .run file that it talks about in the README. I got those .tar files but no instructions! Whatever am I to do????

I'm pretty new. I mean I've compiled stuff before and half the time there are errors or it just doesn't work, but I need some step by step instructions here.

Mandrake 9.2 AMD64 RC1
GeForce 4 ti4400
Asus K8V Delux

Thanks for helping.
moebius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-04, 04:55 PM   #2
Elath
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default

A little further down in the download page there is a link to the patch script that has better instructions...

ftp://ftp.suse.com/pub/suse/i386/sup...fx-AMD64-HOWTO

but unfortunately, I still havn't been able to make the patched driver build.
Elath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-04, 04:40 AM   #3
moebius
GeForce ti4400
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to moebius Send a message via AIM to moebius
Default

for anyone else that wants some good instructions, I found some over on linuxquestions.org: http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...threadid=52021

Good luck. I'm going to give it a whirl now.
moebius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-04, 12:36 PM   #4
Elath
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Those are good instructions, however they don't include the patch step that is in the howto for the x86_64 instructions.

Not sure how much that matters, as I havn't been able to get it functional with or without the patch anyway.
Elath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quake3 won't utdeom2003 works fine! what could be wrong with q3? dante_uk NVIDIA Linux 5 09-27-02 07:34 AM
wrong kernel version athel NVIDIA Linux 1 08-15-02 10:23 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.