Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-04, 04:36 PM   #1
Antonio P.
5700 Ultra
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: PARIS
Posts: 12
Unhappy Problem with 5700 Ultra

Hi,
I recently upgraded my video card Geforce 2 MX to a Geforce FX 5700 Ultra from MSI (FX 5700 Ultra TD128).

I've experienced various problems.
I've an Athlon XP 2000,
motherboard Gigabyte GA-7VAXP, 512 Mb,
distrib Mandrake 9.2
latest nvidia driver 5328

At startup after installation, Mandrake detected a new hardware, but it was not the right card name. The video test failed and X didn't start.

Back to console mode, I discovered that even the console mode doesn't work properly : I have no cursor and the screen line don't scroll up when it gets full (very hard to type commands or edit files).
I checked the XF86Config-4 : for me it seems ok. Actually, it didn't change from previous card.
I've no errors in the XFree log (no lines with (EE)).
I went to the MSI site to look for a new bios version, but there is'nt.
I tried both DVI and VGA connection with my LCD monitor, same thing.

I also tried running Knoppix (liveCD distrib), same prob.

I joined the message i've got on screen when I try to start X manually (this doesn't help much either).

Thanks a lot for any help.
Attached Files
File Type: log toto.log (788 Bytes, 125 views)
Antonio P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-04, 04:08 PM   #2
Antonio P.
5700 Ultra
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: PARIS
Posts: 12
Default

Hi,
I began to have some results.
I replaced the call of "nvidia" module to "vesa".
With that change, I can start X, but the screen is unreadable, completely "unsynchronized". I suspect my XF86Config file to be a lot of rubbish.
What is bizarre is that after killing X, back to console, I have know a normal behaviour : cursor and scroll.
Antonio P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-04, 07:04 AM   #3
rednuht
GeForce FX5600 (1.0-5336)
 
rednuht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 164
Default by changing to Vesa

by changing to Vesa you have completly disable the NVidia drivers and if vesa is not working then it might be time to check the card works in another machine / OS
Or at least try some really low resolutions i.e. 800x600
rednuht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-04, 08:10 AM   #4
Antonio P.
5700 Ultra
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: PARIS
Posts: 12
Default

Actually, my card works perfecty with windows.

With knoppix distrib, it (almost) works with vesa driver on low resolutions, 800x600 I guess, but I still can't get it to work on a better resolution, and it still doesn't work with my distrib.

The point is that I tried with a previous kernel version (2.4.19, I'm using 2.4.22) and it seems to work better in console mode, because some better video modes are working (better than 80x25).

Since I'm not really understanding what I'm doing and I don't understand why the kernel version should really matter, I don't know what to do.
The alternative is to reinstall linux (?)
Antonio P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with powermizer, nvidia 9500m gs backtoback NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 0 05-18-12 03:10 PM
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 10:17 AM
nv30 problem rumor bob747b Rumor Mill 37 10-10-02 04:14 PM
Screen flash briefly problem tamahome NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 8 09-19-02 01:07 PM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 11:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.