Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-04, 05:02 AM   #1
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default RAIDing 2 diffrent sized drives?

Just wondering?, I currently have 1x WD 80GB SE drive now if i got an 40GB WD SE drive and i set it to RAID-0 that means i still have 80GB space but is equ to a 14k drive in peformance?
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-04, 08:05 AM   #2
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

IIRC, in order to use RAID, the two drives have to be identical, same size, brand, model, etc.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-04, 08:29 AM   #3
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

Ah crap, 160GB is toooo much for me!
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-04, 08:52 AM   #4
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

I did the RAID-0 thing and found it to cause more problems than it solved. But if you really want to try it, get a pair of WD Raptor 36 GB SATA drives and RAID those for your OS, games, etc. Then have a separate 40 GB (or whatever size) drive as backup for programs, movies, MP3s and anything else.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-04, 08:55 AM   #5
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default

I have 4 identical 60 gb drives. I have 2 of them in raid-0 configuration and the other 2 unraided. I use the unraided drives for drive image backups (1 backup per drive). The reason that I didn't raid the other 2 drives was in case I had a raid failure and needed to restore a backup. Just a little FYI...
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-04, 11:49 AM   #6
Rampant CL
Lurking like a pro
 
Rampant CL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Back on the beach for the summer
Posts: 351
Default

You can actually mirror 2 drives which are of different sizes, the only thing is that the drives will only have the size of the smaller drive. So if you mirror a 40 gig and 80 gig, you'll be wastin g 40 gigs on the 2nd drive bu will have a 40 gig mirrored set of drives
__________________
Barton 2500 | 7VAXP-A Ultra | 2GB DDR-400 | BFG 6800 GT OC | WD Caviar 120 GB | WD Caviar 180 GB SATA | SONY DRU-700 | SONY 16x40x DVD Drive | Buslogi SCSI Host Adaptor | SCSI Python Tape Archive | Red, Blue, UV Cathodes | UV Scorpion Window Etch | UV Lazer Led's | Plasma tube (inside the PC) | Triad of TriLight Case Fans | UV Green Sleeved 650W Achieve PSU

Folding for team nV News but this link doesnt work
Rampant CL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-04, 11:55 AM   #7
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by monkeydust
I have 4 identical 60 gb drives. I have 2 of them in raid-0 configuration and the other 2 unraided. I use the unraided drives for drive image backups (1 backup per drive). The reason that I didn't raid the other 2 drives was in case I had a raid failure and needed to restore a backup. Just a little FYI...
why not just 0+1 them ?

that way you are striping and mirroring.. specially with 4 identical drives
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-04, 12:00 PM   #8
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

because then you need a RAID controller that supports RAID10.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-17-04, 12:01 PM   #9
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
because then you need a RAID controller that supports RAID10.
he doesn't have 1?
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-04, 12:05 PM   #10
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sazar
why not just 0+1 them ?
that way you are striping and mirroring.. specially with 4 identical drives
Thats what i was thinking of.

Quote:
Originally posted by Rampant CL
You can actually mirror 2 drives which are of different sizes, the only thing is that the drives will only have the size of the smaller drive. So if you mirror a 40 gig and 80 gig, you'll be wastin g 40 gigs on the 2nd drive bu will have a 40 gig mirrored set of drives
Yeah thats what i thought too but saturnotaku says otherwise, reason i am asking is that a little layer on i am thinking of RAIDing my drives and needed to know. the 40GB drive isn't all too expensive and would like extra hard drive peformance. 80GB to me is still ALOT, by the time i fill it i would of formated. I currently have a 10GB IBM drive as backup. Should be getting a DVDRW soon was looking at an 4x but thinking of a 8x so backing up 4.7GB won't be too hard and won't need the 10GB anymore.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-04, 12:13 PM   #11
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sazar
he doesn't have 1?
RAID10. so, you need support for four drives. and in that case, no, he probably doesn't have one--I can't think of a RAID controller on a motherboard (short of some of the higher-end Tyan boards, perhaps) that support RAID10.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-04, 12:20 PM   #12
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default

Yeah, I'm just using my ABIT onboard Highpoint RAID controller. My only problem now is that I now have 94 gigs of HD used on my RAID 0 drives so it is now to big to fit on a 60 gb drive. Anyway I've just been installing games since my last backup so it wouldn't be a huge loss if I had to restore from it.
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD-RW Overclocking :D NeoGeo General Hardware 20 07-30-02 06:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.