Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-03, 10:07 AM   #1
Silent Bob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Manchester
Posts: 14
Smile Anyone out there got Nvidia AMD 64bit driver workin?

I'm about to throw this system off a bridge and jump after it, has anyone out there got Nvidia's AMD6bit driver working on anything? I've tried SUSE's and all it does is complain about kernel mismatches. Redhat's gin gin just displays garbage. Anyway rant over can anybody out there HELP ME!

__________________
Silent Bob
Silent Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-03, 05:40 PM   #2
normspe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 7
Default

I am having the same (bad)luck as you. I am using SLES 8, and it gives the kernel mismatch message about it being compiled for 2.4.19 and I have kernel 2.4.19-SMP. Did you notice the readme tells you to use the .run file, but you can only download the tar files?

I tried using the 2.4.19 kernel and the driver installs, but then it won't load the GLX.

I spoke with our SuSE rep and he said SuSE can do nothing since NVIDIA hasn't released the source. He also said that the NVIDIA cards will work much better with their workstation AMD64 O/S coming out in a few weeks, but we will see that when it happens.

By the way...tell me which bridge you will throw it off, I'll wait at the bottom for it to land on my throbbing head.

Here is config:

Tyan 2885ANRF
Dual Opteron 246
16 GB DDR ECC
Quadro FX500

Hopefully we won't have to deal with the bridge.

Tim
normspe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-03, 11:18 PM   #3
mborgnia
Quadro4 500 GoGL
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bethesda, MD, US
Posts: 18
Cool

Well, I recompiled the kernel and the mismatch message went away. However, KDE will not start, back to square 0 (C notation).
Nothing seems to be out there as an alternative to NVIDIA, I called ATI and they told me their drivers do not work with 64 bit, is that true?. Has anybody tried running the opteron system with, say RedHat9 (32 bit). Will the card work there?
mborgnia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 03:48 AM   #4
Silent Bob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Manchester
Posts: 14
Default

Hi there,

thanks for the reply, I've just about given up for now. I've tried a couple of Redhat Beta releases the 64bit AS and WS offerings with the same results. I will try the later version of SUSE when they release it.

Thanks again for replys. I'm glad it not just me losing my mind.
__________________
Silent Bob
Silent Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 12:55 PM   #5
normspe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 7
Default

I jumped the gun on this post...originally posted a solution, but it never loaded the GLX and I am still at the point of loading drivers.

Sorry for the confusion.

Last edited by normspe; 10-21-03 at 06:10 PM.
normspe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-03, 01:24 PM   #6
imapilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
Angry No luck on Mandrake 64amd-beta2 either

I've tried to compile the NVIDIA 4499 on a dual opteron running the Mandrake 9.2 amd64 release, kernel 2.4.22-15mdksmp. The GLX compiles / installs fine. The Kernel module compiles, but does not link with the error:

depmod: *** Unresolved symbols in /lib/modules/2.4.22-15mdksmp/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.o
/lib/modules/2.4.22-15mdksmp/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.o: unresolved symbol mem_map
/lib/modules/2.4.22-15mdksmp/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.o:


sorry, no help, just more bad news. If anyone HAS gotten the NVIDIA drivers to compiler on Mandrake 9.2amd64, I'd like to hear about it!
Matt K
imapilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-03, 02:25 PM   #7
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

Have any of you tried a recent 2.6.0-test kernel? The agpgart code in the 2.6.0-test kernel is much newer and more up-to-date than the 2.4 code, and includes full support for AMD64 AGP bridges, IMO.

Try the 2.6.0-test9 kernel, available from www.kernel.org, and see what happens.
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-03, 03:36 PM   #8
kdgassiot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Tried the 2.6-test9 kernel. It won't compile.
CC [M] arch/x86_64/kernel/msr.o
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `arch/x86_64/kernel/cpuid.c', needed by `arch/x86_64/kernel/cpuid.o'. Stop.
make: *** [arch/x86_64/kernel] Error 2
l

Oooops

I have been trying to get AGP working for months on the Tyan motherboard. They moved the 8151 chip off of the first Hypertransport bus, and the agpgart code only looks on the first bus. AGP works on other motherboards with the 8151, just not the one I want to use There is supposed to be a fix, (I got the fix for AGP), but now the Nvidia driver is broken on the new version of the kernel.

The 4180 version worked great on the 2.4.19 kernel from SUSE that I was running on an Athlon 64 system.
kdgassiot is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-03-03, 04:58 PM   #9
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

Whoops. Then try 2.6.0-test9-mm1.

http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kern...0-test9-mm1.gz

To apply the patch, cd into the linux-2.6.0-test9 directory, and run this command:

zcat /path/to/the/mm/patch/file/2.6.0-test9-mm1.gz | patch -p1

Then run make xconfig again, and then rebuild the kernel.
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-03, 09:09 AM   #10
kdgassiot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Nope, same error...

CC arch/x86_64/kernel/init_task.o
CC [M] arch/x86_64/kernel/msr.o
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `arch/x86_64/kernel/cpuid.c', needed by `arch/x86_64/kernel/cpuid.o'. Stop.
make: *** [arch/x86_64/kernel] Error 2

The Makefile specifies a cpuid.o, but there is no cpuid.c to make it with. There is a cpuid.c in the i386 tree, but not in the x86-64 tree.

Is this an oversight, or an architecture change ?
kdgassiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-03, 02:53 AM   #11
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

Whoops.

Set CONFIG_X86_CPUID to N and try again.
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-03, 08:53 AM   #12
beaner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 18
Default wow

Finally, I received an email from someone.

Andy Mchann I believe.

here is what it said.

- "This is a problem with the SuSE -kernel-source RPM; it is incorrectly
-configured. You'll need to do the -following:

-cd /usr/src/linux
-make menuconfig
-enable SMP support
-save your kernel config
-make dep

-I hope this helps! Thanks!"

This part actually worked. I was finally able to run the NVIDIA-kernel makefile.

I modified the XF86Config file to have the nvidia driver loaded and I did get the nvidia splash screen.

It froze after that but at LEAST I'm moving now...

I hope this helps annyone who has the same problem!
beaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia driver quality decrease? legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 17 06-26-12 10:03 AM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM
nvidia + 2.4.19 gentoo = messed up ulukay NVIDIA Linux 18 11-01-02 11:58 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.