Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-04, 02:38 PM   #13
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PenguinJim
I have the Iiyama E431S-B 17-inch LCD. 16 ms response time, 1280x1024 native res, DVI and VGA inputs, extremely lightweight and awesome picture quality (esp. w/DVI).

I was a little hesitant to buy an LCD for gaming, but after checking out the specs on this one I went for it. I got mine 6 days ago for 320. After using this display, I'm glad I didn't go for a CRT. My next display might well be another one of these, for multi-monitor fun . Also, non-native resolution games look sweet, such as Halo in 1024x768 and Diablo 2 in 800x600 . This monitor comes in Black, Silver or Ivory (read: beige) to match your setup, too.

BTW, has anyone tried Freelancer on an LCD? I can't get ghosting in any other game for love nor money, except Freelancer. To be fair, I had chosen it as my torture test I'd been playing it a lot on a CRT for a couple of days before my LCD arrived, thinking that the moving screen + moving cursor + fast paced action would crucify any LCD screen. It was still eminently playable, but there was noticeable ghosting. I'd be interested in hearing if that Hitachi or the Hercules Prophetview can handle it just fine.
ill start looking for a freelancer demo now
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 03:35 PM   #14
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Thumbs up

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...=BROWSE&depa=1

Here is the one I'm looking at.
HITACHI CML174SXW 17" TFT LCD Monitor
16ms with DVI all for 399.
Great reviews.
__________________
Notebook!
Compaq Presario CQ60-215DX
AMD 64 Athlon X2 @ 2GHz (QL62)
15.6 inch HD WideScreen
Nvidia 8200M-G 895mb
2Gig system ram
250Gig SATA 5400rpm HDrive
Vista Premium
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-04, 06:36 AM   #15
Fotis
Radeforce GTX7970
 
Fotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,346
Default

Why not go for a 12ms monitor like this one?
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8GHz|Corsair H50|MSI X58 Platinum|3x2GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 7-8-7-20|Gigabyte Radeon 7970 OC 3GB windforce|Samsung SSD 830 256GB/Intel SSD X25M 80GB|Seagate Ext. 2TB eSata|Corsair TX 750W|Microsoft Wireless Laser Desktop 7000|Silverstone Grandia GD-01 MX Black|Dell UltraSharp U2412M| Windows 7 x64 Pro
Fotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-04, 08:15 AM   #16
PenguinJim
 
PenguinJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I live in my chair in the UK
Posts: 440
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fotis
Why not go for a 12ms monitor like this one?
That certainly is a fine monitor on paper - let's just hope it delivers! I particularly like the disclaimer:

Quote:
BenQ's Disclaimer
* Disclaimer: Please do not attempt to consume any electronic devices.
PenguinJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-04, 10:26 AM   #17
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fotis
Why not go for a 12ms monitor like this one?
Mainly for this reason http://www4.tomshardware.com/display...05/lcd-15.html

it seems that every company dose completely lie about their responce time.
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-04, 12:21 PM   #18
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

All these monitors are analoge only.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-04, 10:27 PM   #19
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default

How about 27inch Thomson Scenium 27LCDB03B Widescreen LCD TV?

It has 16ms (8ms rise + 8ms fall) and it never had ghosting. I playing alots of games on LCD TV without any problem and the LCD TV has both analogue and digital, my PC is connected to DVI.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-04, 11:11 PM   #20
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AthlonXP1800
How about 27inch Thomson Scenium 27LCDB03B Widescreen LCD TV?

It has 16ms (8ms rise + 8ms fall) and it never had ghosting. I playing alots of games on LCD TV without any problem and the LCD TV has both analogue and digital, my PC is connected to DVI.
Cost? and resolution? sounds cool though.
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-29-04, 02:09 AM   #21
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GlowStick
Cost? and resolution? sounds cool though.
The cheapest I find is cost 1347.22 ($2451.10).

On Forceware 52.16 driver was perfect, it able to shown the option to display all resolutions modes in Display Settings up to 1600x1024 @ 75Hz. On Nvidia display tool's Change Resolutions showed one extra resolution 1920x540 @ 60Hz. 540 is look horrible stretched so 1600x1024 look much better.

But when moved to new Forceware driver 53.03 and 53.06, here seem to be a bug caused the option to greyed out, it cant displayed all resolutions, it only show 2 modes 800x600 and 1024x768 @ 85Hz in Display Settings and on Nvidia tools' Change Resolutions only show 5 modes below 1024x768 included 1920x540. Hopefully the next driver will fix it, if not, then I will email to Nvidia support to report the bug, request to fix it now.

So for now 1024x768 will do it fine.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-04, 07:41 AM   #22
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AthlonXP1800
The cheapest I find is cost 1347.22 ($2451.10).

On Forceware 52.16 driver was perfect, it able to shown the option to display all resolutions modes in Display Settings up to 1600x1024 @ 75Hz. On Nvidia display tool's Change Resolutions showed one extra resolution 1920x540 @ 60Hz. 540 is look horrible stretched so 1600x1024 look much better.

But when moved to new Forceware driver 53.03 and 53.06, here seem to be a bug caused the option to greyed out, it cant displayed all resolutions, it only show 2 modes 800x600 and 1024x768 @ 85Hz in Display Settings and on Nvidia tools' Change Resolutions only show 5 modes below 1024x768 included 1920x540. Hopefully the next driver will fix it, if not, then I will email to Nvidia support to report the bug, request to fix it now.

So for now 1024x768 will do it fine.
ouch, costs more than my computer heh!

but what is its native resolution?
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-04, 01:47 PM   #23
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

Native rez is it's highest supported rez.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-04, 12:10 AM   #24
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GlowStick
ouch, costs more than my computer heh!

but what is its native resolution?
1920x540 @ 60Hz so many sites that post the full specifications recommend to use native resolution 1280x1024, but in the manual it recommend native resolution 1024x768.

So 1820x540 is the maximum native resolution, it do not seem nice to work on desktop, maybe it good to use it with DVDs as well as games like Far Cry which recognised 1920x540 but I never tried it cos it will slow my PC very badly.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$529.99 - Dell UltraSharp U2410 Black 24" 6ms HDMI Widescreen LCD Monitor News 24-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:35 PM
$309.99 - Dell UltraSharp U2412M Black 24" 8ms LED Backlight Widescreen LCD IPS Panel News 24-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:35 PM
Post your LCD experiences Typedef Enum General Hardware 70 01-31-03 11:19 PM
LCD DVI support in Linux drivers? salobaas NVIDIA Linux 1 07-31-02 03:29 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.