Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-04, 07:54 AM   #25
PenguinJim
 
PenguinJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I live in my chair in the UK
Posts: 440
Default

An LCD with 3 native resolutions. No wonder it cost so much

Kidding

As Dazz pointed out, the native resolution will be its highest supported resolution. It is unlikely to be 1920x540, as it apparently supports 1280x1024 (which has around twice as many vertical pixels). And it is unlikely to be 1280x1024, as it apparently supports 1920x540 (which has one-and-a-half times as many horizontal pixels!).

In LCDs, the native resolution is the actual number of pixels that make up the screen. The screen cannot support any higher resolution, as it physically does not have the pixels to support them. It supports lower resolutions by divvying the resolution to fit its number of pixels (with varying degrees of success).

If you can get your screen to display 1920x540 and 1280x1024, I'd recommend trying 1920x1024 .
PenguinJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-04, 08:14 AM   #26
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PenguinJim
An LCD with 3 native resolutions. No wonder it cost so much

Kidding

As Dazz pointed out, the native resolution will be its highest supported resolution. It is unlikely to be 1920x540, as it apparently supports 1280x1024 (which has around twice as many vertical pixels). And it is unlikely to be 1280x1024, as it apparently supports 1920x540 (which has one-and-a-half times as many horizontal pixels!).

In LCDs, the native resolution is the actual number of pixels that make up the screen. The screen cannot support any higher resolution, as it physically does not have the pixels to support them. It supports lower resolutions by divvying the resolution to fit its number of pixels (with varying degrees of success).

If you can get your screen to display 1920x540 and 1280x1024, I'd recommend trying 1920x1024 .
Thanks for finally getting my question accross hehe!
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-04, 10:08 AM   #27
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PenguinJim
If you can get your screen to display 1920x540 and 1280x1024, I'd recommend trying 1920x1024 .
Before I bought LCD TV, many forums recommended to use Powerstrip incase you cant get all resolutions you need on HDTV, Widescreen TV and LCD TV if the driver cant give. When I used LCD TV for first time with Forceware 53.03, it didnt showed all resolutions and I installed Powerstrip. I was tried to figured out how Powerstrip worked, it all confused, I prefered Powerstrip to do all works automatic and never restarts but I dont understand why it need to test suitable monitors drivers and asked to restart and to ask Windows to accept the monitor driver, it is useless and a waste of time, it not working at all reading Powerstrip guides at forums with adjustment Vertical and Hortizional scanning ranges. Well Powerstrip detected my LCD TV and told it supported maximum resolution of 1920x1440 but Forceware driver cant give that, I still not understand why Powerstrip wont do the job to give me 1920x1440.

I dont know if here a software alternative to Powerstrip that do all job itself automatic.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$529.99 - Dell UltraSharp U2410 Black 24" 6ms HDMI Widescreen LCD Monitor News 24-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:35 PM
$309.99 - Dell UltraSharp U2412M Black 24" 8ms LED Backlight Widescreen LCD IPS Panel News 24-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:35 PM
Post your LCD experiences Typedef Enum General Hardware 70 01-31-03 11:19 PM
LCD DVI support in Linux drivers? salobaas NVIDIA Linux 1 07-31-02 03:29 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.