Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-04, 08:34 PM   #109
Woodelf
I should be gaming.
 
Woodelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ferelden
Posts: 908
Post

Awsome Demo!
I thought it raised the bar. Crytek deserves My money.
__________________
i7920 @ 4.0 DO - Gigabyte ud4p - g.skill trident 6x2 ddr3 2000 @1600 7.7.7.18.1 - Cogage true spirit/sythe kaze 2000 - 2x Raid "0" WD 500GB (black) - xfi fatal1ty pro - Asus 5970 900/1200 - Corsair 1000HX - Samsung px2370
Woodelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-04, 11:44 PM   #110
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,445
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
Seemed to chug at times with a 5950U running at 1280x1024 and very high details, regardless of AA setting (just as much chugging with medium as low). Odd. Need to fire up FRAPS, see what the deal is.
Try the setting I mentioned in my news post and report back - 1024x768 with 2X AA/4X AF with auto detect.

On my system auto detect put all the graphics settings at medium with the exception of texture quality, environment quality, and water quality, which were set to very high.

Lower to 2X AF if necessary.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 12:00 AM   #111
5150 Joker
100% Certified nVidiot
 
5150 Joker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Davis, California
Posts: 759
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Malfunction
Hey Indio,

I tried the /r_DisplayInfo = 1 and it didn't do anything. I even went as far as manually entering it in the default_systemcfg.lua and still was unsuccessful. So the only thing I can use to verify what I get is Fraps and screens with Fraps. Alt+Tab'ing had the same effect as applying /r_NoPS20 = 0 did, so I am unsure that has any effect at all either. I will provide the pics now:

This is just a stupid one I took because I nailed the guy between the eyes from a distance and it was funny how he ended up looking. Looks like he wants a hug or his mamma'.

Mamma?!

This one is before I make my assualt on pier 2. You can also see where the SkyCube Texture comes together, ofcourse it disappears when the detail is upped:

Assualt

Very High Detail

Very High Detail

Alt+Tabbing effect/ /r_NoPS20 = 0. Missing texture on shark, glove, knife and wahtever else I missed.

Missing texture

Saturday Night Fever! Strike a pose! :P

hehe...

I have to agree with saturnotaku here, I don't really care anymore. It looks too damn cool to give a ratts *** anymore.

Peace,



*Edit- Just fixed missing texture pic link. Oops,

Good god looks like an entirely diff. game from your perspective. You need a better video card.
__________________
CLICK FOR MY HEATWARE!

Desktop: DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR | AMD64 3000+@2.6ghz | Leadtek 7800 GTX | 2 GB Crucial PC3200 | 2x120 GB 8mb WD | Dell 2005FPW 20" LCD | Antec "TrueControl" v2 550w PSU | Lian Li PC75 modded case with H20 Cooling

Laptop: XPS Gen 2 | Samsung LCD | P-M 2.13 | nVidia 6800 Go Ultra | 2 GB DDR2 | 60GB 7200RPM HD | 8x DVD-RW/CD-RW| Dell Wireless 1450 a/b/g | Windows XP Home | 3 Yr Warranty/Complete Care.
5150 Joker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 12:04 AM   #112
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MikeC
Try the setting I mentioned in my news post and report back - 1024x768 with 2X AA/4X AF with auto detect.

On my system auto detect put all the graphics settings at medium with the exception of texture quality, environment quality, and water quality, which were set to very high.

Lower to 2X AF if necessary.
Definitely improves quite a bit once I drop to 1024x768. I wonder--does the game use over 200 megs of RAM with very high quality textures? That would explain why the change in resolution made a drastic difference (like from 25-30 to 45-55).
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 12:22 AM   #113
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

i think the game may have some memory leaks, its still an early demo, so thats to be expected.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 12:27 AM   #114
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jAkUp
i think the game may have some memory leaks, its still an early demo, so thats to be expected.
I'm thinking it's because there aren't *any* load times once the level loads--you get all the textures for everything on the island, so it's bound to be quite a bit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 12:32 AM   #115
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

Hmmm... thats a valid answer also. I think you might right because, the multiplayer demo that I took a part in, didnt have this problem. It had other problems..lol but not the stuttering problem.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 12:36 AM   #116
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

I really hope that the final product is more refined. I have a very good feeling about it though.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-23-04, 12:50 AM   #117
Rogozhin
Registered User
 
Rogozhin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: oregon
Posts: 826
Default

I'm very jealous

Gaming rig (STILL) at the W's house (seperated) and won't be able to pic it up until next week arggggggggggggggggggg

Looks good and fun


rogo
Rogozhin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 01:09 AM   #118
S.I.N
UnRegistered User
 
S.I.N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: All over
Posts: 1,761
Default

WOW! Great demo runs half way decent on my Ti4200 at 1024x768, settings at medium and once sound quality is lowerd. I think the tweaked finished game will run a little better.

BTW does this have its DX9 features enabled? Because it is not a slow horrible mess like other DX.9 games and 3DMark are on my DX.8 only card.
S.I.N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 01:20 AM   #119
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default

YES I shot down the helicopter with a heavy machine gun and destroyed the 2 boats with a guy on each boat by rocket launcher. Great I thought I killed every guys on the island exept commander at command center, I decided to explore the other side of island and suddenly here more bad guys on the other side of island, one guy fired a mortar from the boat, I returned fire destroyed the boat and I was killed suddenly, it must be came from a sniper hidden in the heavy bushes.

So I scanned back the threads to find how to save game in console. Now back to the game to save the game and continue to find the hidden sniper and explore the other side of island.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.

Last edited by AthlonXP1800; 01-23-04 at 01:44 AM.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 01:37 AM   #120
raysusan
Registered User
 
raysusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 112
Default

so who has any idea when will the game be launch?
__________________
Intel E8400 @ 3.2GHz | Asus P5Q Pro | Kingston DDR800 4GB| Samsung SyncMaster 193P | nVidia GTX 285
Corsair HX620W | Pioneer DVR-S18LBK | Pioneer DVR-215BK | Lian Li PC-7FW | (((AE))) AegoM 2.1
WD3200AAKS-00B3A0 | WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 | VelociRaptor WD1500HLFS-01G6U1 | Windows 7 Home
raysusan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Far Cry 3 preview and E3 presentation footage News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 10:30 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 07:54 AM
Feedback on Battlefield 1942 demo nin_fragile14 Gaming Central 23 09-13-02 12:44 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 10:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.