Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-04, 12:38 AM   #121
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

Supposly in February.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 12:45 AM   #122
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default

No it will release in March.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 01:56 AM   #123
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default

I'm running with 3.10's ATM and if i try to set AA/AF to app preference in the CP the game shuts off my monitor after it gets to 100% loaded.. so it doesnt start up at all and i need to restart. Not sure if it's AA, AF or both, havent exactly tried as i was still happy playing 1280x960 very high.

Also.. is it just me or does the texture detail setting revert to medium no matter what for everyone else? Every other advanced setting stays on what i set it but this one.. i have cat 3.7-3.10's here so i guess i will try the 3.7's and work my way up..

Great game, i've been waiting for this now for over 6 months.. i have even been anticipating it more than D3 HL2 ect. My only dissapointment is how it restricts you with the chopper shooting you when you go out of bounds.. i know this will change as the game goes on, but it still does limit the exploration somewhat. Well at least once you are inland a bit there are plenty of paths to take.

Oh i also had the audio issues... no sound for the MP5, and crackling after playing for a fair time. Also i got swapping black/grey pixels appear on people and a mesh texture, and the common rock texture prob. Any help on how to get rid of this would be appreciated.. i'm guessing i need to enable AF the app way, which i can't seem to do with the 3.10's at all as it wont let me start the game with application preference for AA and or AF.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 03:22 AM   #124
Mullins1060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: England
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
OMG malf, your screenies look like Quake II or something!!! Can you tolerate playing with your mipmaps etc. set that low??
well some people dont have the money to buy the latest card, and if u turn down the settings u can still play the game fine. and tbh it still looks quite good with all on low.
__________________
M/B: Asus Rampage Formula (0401 BIOS) | CPU: Intel Xeon 3350 @ 3.6GHz (8x450MHz) 1.256v | HSF: Tuniq Tower 120-LFB | RAM: 2x2GB Corsair TwinX DDR2 XMS2 Dominator PC2-8500C5 @ 1080MHz 5-5-5-15 2T 2.1v | GFX: 1792MB EVGA GeForce GTX 295 | HD: 2x300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 10000RPM SATA-II 16MB Cache (RAID 0) | SOUND: Asus SupremeFX II | PSU: OCZ ModXStream 900W | CASE: Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80B
Mullins1060 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 04:33 AM   #125
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mullins1060
well some people dont have the money to buy the latest card, and if u turn down the settings u can still play the game fine. and tbh it still looks quite good with all on low.
Doesn't have the money.. sure, but when you look at the rest of his system you can see he could have easily compensated somewhere else to get a better card no offence to mal or anything.. it's his decision and all, and once he gets a good card he will have a top end system.. i would be hesitant to buy a new card now also.. not too long and all of tadays tech will be dwarfed by the next gen.

Anyway.. back to the real topic. 3.7's fixed all.. running 1152x864 4xAA 8xAF.. runs decently with medium shadows, almost playable with high, and a bit slow with very high, but it sure looks nice, crawling through the foliage with the shadows.

However, even on medium shadows, i still don't get the performance i would quite like.. so maybe i better overclock my vid card now.. not too much, maybe 420/360 at first.. anything will help as it seems these next gen titles are damn taxing on any hardware.

Oh and i still get that audio problem I get a crackle when i go underwater, it is quick and goes away once i'm under water.. but the real problem is the total crackling that takes over.. it's only happened 3 times in 3 hrs of play, but it wont go away until i quit the game. All visual anomolies have dissapeared (due to the right implementation of AF i think), so that's good.

Anyone else used the flashlight ( \ ) indoors yet? lol it's just like halo, looks pretty, but brings the game to a complete crawl. I love the contrast in this game also.. the flashlight hardly looks like its on at all in most outdoor areas.. i infact thought i mustn't have had it yet when i tried it first ;p

GREAT GAME!!
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 04:37 AM   #126
Mr.Clawz950
Hi
 
Mr.Clawz950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: KY, USA
Posts: 122
Default

I knew there was something about these two, but I couldn't put my finger on it until now .....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nasty.jpg
Views:	364
Size:	90.9 KB
ID:	4378  
__________________
System 1 : AMD X2 6400+ @ 3.4Ghz | ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe | 4GB OCZ PC6400 (2x2048) | Dual BFG GeForce 8800GTXs | Western Digital 74GB Raptor | Western Digital 250GB HDD | Lite-On 52x24x52 CD-RW | Memorex DVD-R | X-Fi Fatal1ty | Antec Plusview 1000AMG w/CoolMax 850Watt PSU | Windows Vista 64-bit | 20Mbps/2Mbps Cable

System 2 : AMD X2 5200+ @ 2.8Ghz | ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe | 4GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 (4x1024) | BFG GeForce 7800GTX | Western Digital 74GB Raptor | Western Digital 160GB HDD | Lite-On 52x24x52 CD-RW | Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS | Antec Plusview 1000AMG w/TruePower 550Watt PSU | Windows XP w/SP2 | 20Mbps/2Mbps Cable
Mr.Clawz950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 04:51 AM   #127
Mullins1060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: England
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Viral
not too long and all of tadays tech will be dwarfed by the next gen.
yes tru, pci express is on the way and agp is gonna frazzle out in the next year, so that is why i aint upgrading mine yet... heh dont want to spend money now when we will all need new mobos and procs for end of year/start of next
__________________
M/B: Asus Rampage Formula (0401 BIOS) | CPU: Intel Xeon 3350 @ 3.6GHz (8x450MHz) 1.256v | HSF: Tuniq Tower 120-LFB | RAM: 2x2GB Corsair TwinX DDR2 XMS2 Dominator PC2-8500C5 @ 1080MHz 5-5-5-15 2T 2.1v | GFX: 1792MB EVGA GeForce GTX 295 | HD: 2x300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 10000RPM SATA-II 16MB Cache (RAID 0) | SOUND: Asus SupremeFX II | PSU: OCZ ModXStream 900W | CASE: Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80B
Mullins1060 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 05:56 AM   #128
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
Definitely improves quite a bit once I drop to 1024x768. I wonder--does the game use over 200 megs of RAM with very high quality textures? That would explain why the change in resolution made a drastic difference (like from 25-30 to 45-55).
Wow, the difference is huge!!

I lowered the res from 1280x1024 to 1024x768 and set v-syn off, I kept 16xAF on and my framerate jumped from 30-40 to 60-85 fps!

The game is completly fluid what a difference.

Turning off AF has not much effect (5-10 fps) I also think triplebuffering isn't yet supported in this game as with v-syn the framerates are hanging arround 45 (90 hz monitor)
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-23-04, 06:30 AM   #129
fldrice
wassup?
 
fldrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 67
Talking

Very tite!
It's a big demo!
fldrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 07:10 AM   #130
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think my guess about the insane texture memory requirements is probably correct.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 07:21 AM   #131
DMA
Zzzleepy
 
DMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: In bed
Posts: 997
Default

Fly birdie!
__________________
Gigabyte EP35-DS4 | E6850@3.8GHz |
8800GT@800/2000MHz | 4 GB Corsair 6400|
DMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-04, 08:25 AM   #132
Waltz King
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by de><ta
I have to admit those Frenchies are good game developers.
UbiSoft is from France, yes, but that's just the publisher - Crytek itself is a German studio!

BTW: Runs fine on my XP 1800+ with 1024 MB RAM and a 128 MB 5900SE, everything maxed out (but no AA) @1024x768, latest official drivers. If anyone cares.

Love this game so far, but I hope the "Hard" setting will get much harder in the final version. Didn't notice any difference between "Hard" and "Medium" in the demo. Oh, an I hate it when dead bodies disappear after a while!

Last edited by Waltz King; 01-23-04 at 11:13 AM.
Waltz King is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Far Cry 3 preview and E3 presentation footage News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:30 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM
Feedback on Battlefield 1942 demo nin_fragile14 Gaming Central 23 09-12-02 11:44 PM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.