Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-04, 07:40 PM   #265
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fallguy
Forgot to mention that was at 4xAA/8xAF on the P4 machine. I havent tried without any AA/AF.
Whew you scared me. 1280x1024 is my preferred res in games and I can live without AA and AS
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 07:51 PM   #266
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan
Whew you scared me. 1280x1024 is my preferred res in games and I can live without AA and AS
It still takes some unwanted dips with me when using 1280x1024 no AA and just trilinear filtering. During some parts it'll drop to low 30s sometimes even the 20s. This is with an XP 3000+ / AIW 9800 Pro though. At 1024x768 it runs fairly well and I could probably get by with AA/AF enabled. Hopefully the final code will be a little better though. Also, this was with the PC Gamer demo and I don't think it was final code. I guess we'll all see how it goes Tuesday. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 07:55 PM   #267
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fallguy
Unlike the demo's or beta's, the retail version of Farcry has PS 2.0 on NV3x hardware, which is good. Its just too slow to use, which is bad.

Do you have an option to choose between PS2.0 & 1.1 on the retail ver. ?
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 08:03 PM   #268
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Do you have an option to choose between PS2.0 & 1.1 on the retail ver. ?
If it's like the ATI cards, I think it gets chosen based on the options you set. I think one of them has to be set to Very High before PS 2.0 mode is used although I can't remember the particular option that needs setting at the moment.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 08:08 PM   #269
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
If it's like the ATI cards, I think it gets chosen based on the options you set. I think one of them has to be set to Very High before PS 2.0 mode is used although I can't remember the particular option that needs setting at the moment.
You mean the Lighting Quality ?
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-04, 08:17 PM   #270
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
You mean the Lighting Quality ?
Yeah, I think that's it. I haven't found the link or post where I read all that yet.

Actually, now that I think about it, there is a variable in the config file for that also but it just didn't work for the nv cards. So maybe they'll provide that sort of method of setting it as well (or through the command line, etc.). It looked like they had everything in place for all that, it just didn't work.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Far Cry 3 preview and E3 presentation footage News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 10:30 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 07:54 AM
Feedback on Battlefield 1942 demo nin_fragile14 Gaming Central 23 09-13-02 12:44 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 10:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.