Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-04, 12:12 PM   #25
Malfunction
 
Malfunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lake Jackson, TX
Posts: 1,002
Default

Pretty playable on my system:

Intel 2.8C @ 3.5Ghz currently
1GB PC-3200 Micron
GFFX 5200 Ultra stock clocks: 325/650 Auto Detect: aa/af Best Quality Everything

Game settings:

Anti-Aliasing = Low
Advanced settings = Low

Fraps = Gameplay
2004-01-21 11:48:06 - FarCry
Frames: 46218 - Time: 1018453ms - Avg: 45.380 - Min: 22 - Max: 82

Looks like this game has turned out to be exactly like it was suppose to.

Peace,

Malfunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-04, 12:14 PM   #26
DMA
Zzzleepy
 
DMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: In bed
Posts: 997
Default

What i dig the most is the part when you're actually indoors.
Never been that comfortable in the jungle.

Shooting the floor is the only fun left when all the enemies are terminated



Can't wait for the full game.

__________________
Gigabyte EP35-DS4 | E6850@3.8GHz |
8800GT@800/2000MHz | 4 GB Corsair 6400|
DMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-04, 12:19 PM   #27
UDawg
Retired spammer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,799
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by neo
It's a great game!! Just finished the demo. However, the fps really needs to be fixed! Using Fraps to calculate the fps, I get around 32 to 48 fps on my system. All settings are max out (1024 x 768). AA/AF disabled in control panel and ingame settings. I thought far cry is part of nvidia's "The Way It's Meant To Be Played" campaign?? The game should perform well on GFX cards. I hope they get it fix before the official release.

http://www.nvidia.com/object/nzone_farcry_home.html

If you go to the website above, nvidia actually states that the recommended GPU is Geforce FX. Hopefully nvidia is reading this now.

Intel P4 2.6Ghz
MSI 865PE Neo2
Twinmos 512MB DDR400
MSI GFX5900Ultra (oc 500/900)
Creative SBLive
60GB HDD
Well what did you expect nvidia to say they recommend, a 9800? LOL
I am using a 9700pro and I got 65FPS as I stated above. AA and AF turned off. I liked what I saw and how it played.
UDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-04, 12:33 PM   #28
Malfunction
 
Malfunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lake Jackson, TX
Posts: 1,002
Default

This game more CPU Power than GPU?

I mean, looking at what others are getting and I had AA on which I assume was 2x; then looking at what others are posting result wise...

Peace,

Malfunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-04, 12:51 PM   #29
Nephilim
Slacker extraordinaire
 
Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashvegas, TN
Posts: 502
Default

The foliage is mighty impressive...the rest of it....eh..*shrugs*

I love how the water doesn't react to you walking around in it, or jumping....hell, Morrowind had better water surface effects that FarCry. Hopefully they'll work some of this out before release.
__________________
"The large print giveth, and the small print taketh away." - Tom Waits

Athlon XP 2100+ | 512MB PC3200 RAM | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | GeforceFX 5900 VIVO 128MB @ 475/950 | 2 Western Digital SATA 120GB HDD in RAID 0 | 1 IBM 60GXP 60GB HDD IDE | 36x 12x 48x CD-RW | Logitech Z-680 THX 5.1 Speakers | 19in. Samsung 955DF Monitor | Windows XP Pro
Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-04, 01:18 PM   #30
UDawg
Retired spammer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,799
Default

You just can't make every one happy. Shoot I still get a kick out of solitare.
UDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-04, 01:54 PM   #31
renegade77
Jesus Boy
 
renegade77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 130
Default

i played the game but im getting clippin and audio issues. I get clippin even if the all the details are all on low(im thinkin it could be the ne (4.1 cat drvs). i use and audigy 2 with the latest drvs. Can sombody help?
__________________
<>< Wit out Jesus I'm nothin ><>

Athlon 64 4000+ @ 2.4 ghz Geforece 7800GS
Asus A8N5NX
Geil 512x2 pc3200

Win Xp Home ed
renegade77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-04, 02:06 PM   #32
UDawg
Retired spammer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,799
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by renegade77
i played the game but im getting clippin and audio issues. I get clippin even if the all the details are all on low(im thinkin it could be the ne (4.1 cat drvs). i use and audigy 2 with the latest drvs. Can sombody help?
I had the audio problem also but it was in 5.1 the center channel pooed out. I restarted the game and it was ok. The MP5 did throw me off. It is too quiet or is that just a bug in the sound and the p90 sounds like a cannon. The P90 is the best gun in the game but the MP5 is awesome to sneek attack with.
UDawg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-21-04, 02:41 PM   #33
sytaylor
Cerebral Barbarian
 
sytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 1,656
Default

downloaded.. YAY

attempt to install.. CRAPZILLA

Error, no valid drive C.. guh, dont make me reassign drives, drive c was an old windows installation, stoopid demo
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 @ 3.42GHz | Abit IP35 Pro | GeIL 4GB DDR2
Gainward BLISS GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB 770/1920/1070
Creative Audigy 2ZS on Logitech Z-680s
Yuraku 24" Widescreen monitor

It saddens me that I need the following to post here:

Disclaimer: Any views expressed in the above post under the psuedonym "sytaylor" are entirely subjective and do not reflect the views of any business, company or entity associated with Simon Taylor. The use, copying of or editing of any materials within this post for professional purposes without written permission is stricly prohibitted under the UK Right of Privacy as provided in the Human Rights Act 1998 and the European Convention on Human Rights: Article 10 ECHR. Any attempt to use the information herin shall be subject to the Data Protection Act and Freedom of Information act, with damages being saught for defamation. This disclaimer applies to all text, images or media on this domain.

You have been warned.
My Blog
sytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-04, 03:56 PM   #34
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Talking

Installed without a problem , runs without bugs to even if a bit slow at times , but what else can you expect with outdated comp FPS from 35 to 70 with Highes Textures and stuff without AA or AF , looks like there is an option for Filetring in game set to Highest , but no AA.

Game looks like Doom 3 outdoors even guns feel like Doom 3 or DE IW2 if you prefer, Physic engine is nice , one thing this game needs is a Photo realistic texture like in Max Payne 2 doesn't feel sharp as max but like Doom 3 different

Can ride stuff like boats and cars also use stationary turrets , could be made into Battlefield 1942 game maybe If net code is good that is.

Eax need some tweaking exo from P90 make it sound like a cannon sometimes

PS no harddisk swaping like someone mentioned have 768 of ram.
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-04, 04:41 PM   #35
DMA
Zzzleepy
 
DMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: In bed
Posts: 997
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OWA
Man, this demo is hard to get. I don't think I've ever had such a hard time finding a server that isn't full.
That sucks. Try getting it with bittorrent instead, should be easier.
I bet the game sites hosting this bandwidth hog are cursing ubi soft for releasing this 500 MB beast.

Quote:
Originally posted by -=DVS=-


PS no harddisk swaping like someone mentioned have 768 of ram.
I dunno what was wrong with my comp but now the demo run just fine@highest settings. Weird.
__________________
Gigabyte EP35-DS4 | E6850@3.8GHz |
8800GT@800/2000MHz | 4 GB Corsair 6400|
DMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-04, 04:45 PM   #36
Mullins1060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: England
Posts: 255
Default

this game looks really good i can play it with all settings on low and get a nice playable smooth fps.

but to see what it really should look like i cranked it to the max and took some screenshots they even have fish in the water on high detail and whoever said the water effects arent good crank the deatail to the max and drive backwards in the speedboat, ull see some nice ripples (with all details to the max im getting 10-15 fps but it sure looks nice)

pics
__________________
M/B: Asus Rampage Formula (0401 BIOS) | CPU: Intel Xeon 3350 @ 3.6GHz (8x450MHz) 1.256v | HSF: Tuniq Tower 120-LFB | RAM: 2x2GB Corsair TwinX DDR2 XMS2 Dominator PC2-8500C5 @ 1080MHz 5-5-5-15 2T 2.1v | GFX: 1792MB EVGA GeForce GTX 295 | HD: 2x300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 10000RPM SATA-II 16MB Cache (RAID 0) | SOUND: Asus SupremeFX II | PSU: OCZ ModXStream 900W | CASE: Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80B
Mullins1060 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Far Cry 3 preview and E3 presentation footage News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:30 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM
Feedback on Battlefield 1942 demo nin_fragile14 Gaming Central 23 09-12-02 11:44 PM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.