Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-30-02, 06:24 PM   #37
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

i got it today at EB for $39.99

OMG this game is INCREDIBLE on my system, the frame rates are smoother than they ever with build927. Absolutely breathtaking graphics, sound is awesome, gameplay is faster than i thought it would be, VERY IMPRESSIVE

no problems to report using det 40.71
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 07:15 PM   #38
skipparoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gator
i got it today at EB for $39.99

OMG this game is INCREDIBLE on my system, the frame rates are smoother than they ever with build927. Absolutely breathtaking graphics, sound is awesome, gameplay is faster than i thought it would be, VERY IMPRESSIVE

no problems to report using det 40.71
Me neither, the 40.71 drivers appear to run UT2003 without a hitch! (except at the start of every match still :) One thing I noticed, which isn't too important, but makes me glad I was able to download build 927, is that they didn't include a lot of the music found in 927, but also added a few new tracks.

If you look in the music directory, you see some labeled LevelX, with X being a number. This set went all the way from 1 to 13, but with the official release they dropped a lot, some being very well written tracks. Like I said, I'm glad I have 927, because I think I might pull and replace a couple of tracks here and there.

Music for Unreal was one of the elements that got me so interested in these titles. It's just too bad the main guy Alex from Straylight moved over to Ion Storm... :(
skipparoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 09:10 PM   #39
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

After my EB store credit from trading in a bunch of old games, this game only cost me $10.71. And good gawd is it ever pretty. 1280x960, no FSAA is about the sweet spot for me. Great visuals and solid performance at this setting. Couple quick questions:

1) How do you enable the framerate counter?

2) How do you switch API's from DirectX to OpenGL? I fully understand that the game is meant to be played in D3D, but I want to see how it looks/runs on a (IMO) more superior API.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 09:16 PM   #40
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

1) press tilde to enter console, the command is stat fps

2) to switch to opengl, go to your ut2003.ini in the ut2003\system folder. change RenderDevice=D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice to RenderDevice=OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice

while your in your ut2003.ini you can change other settings. you can up the cachesizemegs to 48, fine tune d3d and opengl settings and audio. turn reducemouselag to false, gives a good fps jump.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 09:41 PM   #41
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

wow...i decided to see how fast opengl actually was. not bad, 1024x768x32 normal textures + lightmap, no aa, no af

flyby: 133.737076
botmatch: 57.110773

thats about a 8fps jump for me from d3d. image quality wasn't noticibly worst at all. if anything, the colors were actually more richer and deeper and less "cartoony".
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks

Last edited by thcdru2k; 09-30-02 at 09:47 PM.
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 10:17 PM   #42
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

yea I agree, ut2k3 runs a tad better in ogl, alhtough I've had the luck of poor stability using that api. Crashes me back to the desktop most of the time. Could just be a bad drv 'er something though. I'm gonna give the 40.71's a try. Also, are you guys seeing a noticable load time increase when connecting to the srvs now? I'm getting good pings, its just taking longer to connect for some reason and I can even here the sound cut in/out in the background while the map is loading.
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 11:02 PM   #43
Cereal-Killer
Posts: 4159
 
Cereal-Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by skipparoo


Took me a little while to figure out that you needed to press Tab and then type Use to enter the vehicle, but anyway :P
Even better, just hit "u" on your keyboard. Took me forever to figure that out.

And as far as I know, the "cachesizemegs" entry in your ut2003.ini has nothing to do with performance. It's for when you automatically download mutators and maps that are not on your HDD.
Cereal-Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 11:48 PM   #44
skipparoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cereal-Killer


Even better, just hit "u" on your keyboard. Took me forever to figure that out.

And as far as I know, the "cachesizemegs" entry in your ut2003.ini has nothing to do with performance. It's for when you automatically download mutators and maps that are not on your HDD.
Well that explains everything. I'm a left handed mouser, so I have UHJK set up as my movement controls instead of WASD, no wonder I couldn't drive :P And you're right, cachesizemegs is for downloaded content only.

-Skippy
skipparoo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-01-02, 05:25 AM   #45
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

I found out I actually do need more RAM...for certain levels. Hehe.
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 06:53 AM   #46
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SavagePaladin
I found out I actually do need more RAM...for certain levels. Hehe.
really? how much RAM do you have? Please tell me because I've been telling friend they only need 256 for the game?!?!?!? yikes!
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 07:15 AM   #47
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gator


really? how much RAM do you have? Please tell me because I've been telling friend they only need 256 for the game?!?!?!? yikes!
You are fully correct...but on my system, and the fact that I like to max graphics options, I need more RAM...
If I put them too high on certain levels, the whole level starts up slow while the swapfile is setting itself up to annoy me, and the whole level stays slow and jerky....

I love graphics, dang it <g>
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 07:27 AM   #48
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Thanks thcdru2k - that helped a bunch. Another question that has more to do with gameplay: how do you use the adrenaline capsules that are spread throughout the levels? I pick them up yet I don't know how to use them.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weekend Deal - Unreal Tournament 3 Black, 66% Off News Archived News Items 0 11-29-12 02:00 PM
GoPro 3D HERO System: Mounting Tips Official GoPro Video News Archived News Items 0 05-13-12 05:20 PM
Nforce AGP & unreal 2003 nichos NVIDIA Linux 1 10-18-02 05:21 PM
Does anyone like the cool water reflection effect in unreal 2003? imtim83 Gaming Central 15 09-20-02 10:18 PM
Can't set Unreal Tournament 2003 to 16-bit colors? ant NVIDIA Linux 6 09-17-02 11:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.