Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-02, 08:40 AM   #49
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by saturnotaku
Thanks thcdru2k - that helped a bunch. Another question that has more to do with gameplay: how do you use the adrenaline capsules that are spread throughout the levels? I pick them up yet I don't know how to use them.
down down down down is Booster, it regenerates you, down down up up I think is berzerk, take a wild guess, up up up up Speed, and right right left left Invisibility

I think
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 09:26 AM   #50
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

thats right
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 09:26 AM   #51
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to SnakeEyes
Angry $$%@#$ Chicago store nazis

Today is the soonest I can get it, even though I'm pretty confident that one of my local BestBuy's has had it in back since Friday afternoon. (One of the workers answered the phone when I first called and let slip that they were getting a shipment in).

Anyway, I tried the OpenGL mode in the demo, and while it was better most places, I think they emulate the shader effects, and this actually cuts into framerates hard in some parts of the maps. For instance, DM-Antalus, in the room under the hill. Stand in there and watch as the shield reappears (the floating / rotating gold shield). In D3D I don't get any framerate change when that is visible, but in OpenGL I saw my framerates drop by about half.

Hopefully I'll have the game waiting for me when I get home from work later today so I can play with it. However, I may end up waiting until late in the night, because I'm relocking my 2100+ processor (to get my 13 multiplier back). The underclocked PCI bus actually hurts performance enough in UT2003 at 160fsb (1/5PCI divider on this KT333 chipset, vs. 1/4 at fsb below 152) that I get the same performance at 12.5x140fsb (~1750MHz) thay I've been getting at 11.5x160 (~1840MHz). The underclocked PCI bus vs. the overclocked PCI bus thing, I believe, is to blame. With the processor unlocked, I can get 12.5 or lower multipliers, but can't get the 13. At 13x140MHz(1820MHz), I should have the best of both worlds, and actually see a decent bump in minimum fps in UT2003 (since it's processor limited mostly anyway). Snake-Eyes dreads taking the case apart to do this, especially because of the fun removing and reinstalling his Swiftech MCX462 heatsink..
__________________
Snake-Eyes
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 09:32 AM   #52
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

lol good luck with that swifttech.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 10:04 AM   #53
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SavagePaladin

down down down down is Booster, it regenerates you, down down up up I think is berzerk, take a wild guess, up up up up Speed, and right right left left Invisibility

I think
Do you have to have dodging enabled in order to do those "combos"?
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 10:13 AM   #54
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

i wouldn't think so, but if it isn't working enable dodgeing. dodgeging is very key to ut2k3, enable it anyway.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 10:21 AM   #55
ExitWound
 
ExitWound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: State College, Pa
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to ExitWound
Default

the default double-click a movement key to dodge in UT is a waste. I can't tell you how many times i've just been walking normally only to have a dodge occur. I dont' remember, but is there a way to say "alt+right" for a dodge right? i have dodging off cuz it goes off sporadically as i'm walking and at times, off cliffs, into pools of acid etc. it sucks.
__________________
"If you wanna kill the beast, You gotta be blessed from the man from the east.
So why don't you get down on your knee and I will bless you with my Flying V?
I'm the Heavy Metal Jesus.
I'm the Heavy Metal Thunderstriking Jesus. "
ExitWound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 10:47 AM   #56
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ExitWound
the default double-click a movement key to dodge in UT is a waste. I can't tell you how many times i've just been walking normally only to have a dodge occur. I dont' remember, but is there a way to say "alt+right" for a dodge right? i have dodging off cuz it goes off sporadically as i'm walking and at times, off cliffs, into pools of acid etc. it sucks.
That's exactly why I don't have it enabled myself. In the original UT it p1ssed me off far too much.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-01-02, 11:41 AM   #57
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

not for me, dodging is essential while playing online but you have to know when and where to use it. Most good online players time jumps and time their opponents jump to get easy frags right as their opponent lands. And the only time I've experience the spratic dodge problem is on a laggy srv, other than that its always wrked fine for me.
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 11:48 AM   #58
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by |JuiceZ|
Also most good online players time jumps and time their opponents jump to get easy frags right as their opponent lands.
And that's exactly an advantage I don't want to give anybody because I know it's an advantage I'm not skilled enough to take on my own yet.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 11:56 AM   #59
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by saturnotaku


And that's exactly an advantage I don't want to give anybody because I know it's an advantage I'm not skilled enough to take on my own yet.
lol, I hear ya. I notice on some srvs when ppl get really use to getting dodge kills I mix it up w/ good ole' evassive strafing and that usually throws 'em off for a while.
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-02, 03:53 PM   #60
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to SnakeEyes
Talking Woo-Hoo!

I just got home, and the box is sitting by my computer. Time to reset the processor lock, then try it out.
__________________
Snake-Eyes
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weekend Deal - Unreal Tournament 3 Black, 66% Off News Archived News Items 0 11-29-12 03:00 PM
GoPro 3D HERO System: Mounting Tips Official GoPro Video News Archived News Items 0 05-13-12 06:20 PM
Nforce AGP & unreal 2003 nichos NVIDIA Linux 1 10-18-02 06:21 PM
Does anyone like the cool water reflection effect in unreal 2003? imtim83 Gaming Central 15 09-20-02 11:18 PM
Can't set Unreal Tournament 2003 to 16-bit colors? ant NVIDIA Linux 6 09-17-02 12:40 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.