Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-04, 08:08 PM   #13
rvoll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 10
Default

Andy, here is the information... it looks like it's saying only one monitor is supported in this configuration... I've tried several things... nothing seems to work... Again, TwinView works fine except I can't get resolutions above 1280. If I could get 1600, it would be great there. When I put that in, only one monitor works...
Attached Files
File Type: zip video files.zip (8.2 KB, 128 views)
rvoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-04, 09:49 PM   #14
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

You can't enable TwinView without Metamodes. Can you add the modes you want, run it in verbose mode, let it fail, and attach that X log?

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-04, 10:13 PM   #15
rvoll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 10
Default Mr

I wasn't trying to enable Twinview with this setup. I can do Twinview just fine. I'm trying to set up two separate desktops. This was just one of my attempts to do that. There was no change with this from just commenting out this line. When I tried to do that startx command you recommended, my computer hung for 10 minutes, and then I rebooted.

Which X log do you want?
rvoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-04, 10:59 PM   #16
rvoll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 10
Default

Andy..

This time I left in all of the lines and tried a couple more things ... no change... I hope I've included the right files. Again, I'm trying to enable two different screens at two different resolutions... not one screen on two monitors which I can already do...

Thanks, again...
Attached Files
File Type: zip config.zip (7.3 KB, 108 views)
rvoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-04, 10:40 AM   #17
levenger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: `zona
Posts: 5
Default

Do you get compile warnings about "using void * in pointer arithmetic" when you look at the nvidia-installer.log? The module compiles OK, but I've never been able to get a module compiled on my machine to load. Always says that it failed to initialize and I believe it might be this. It says the problem is in an include file in highmem.h line 23 and traces it through another *.h file to the source file which nv.c. Any ideas. I have the kernel and source updated.
__________________
SuSE 9.0 Pro
levenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-04, 10:52 AM   #18
rvoll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 10
Default

Sorry, no ideas. When I upgraded to the 166 kernel and sources, it took care of the problem just fine...
rvoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-04, 01:32 PM   #19
levenger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: `zona
Posts: 5
Default

can you post the nvidia-installer.log file from /var/log ? Thanks
__________________
SuSE 9.0 Pro
levenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geforce 440 Go, SuSE 8.0, and new Nvidia drivers loudawg NVIDIA Linux 4 06-01-04 12:54 AM
NVIDIA 3123 driver on SuSE 8.0 Ok , but slow to start X Gabolander NVIDIA Linux 3 09-27-02 07:41 AM
Trouble with SuSE 8 & NVIDIA latest driver bughill NVIDIA Linux 3 08-20-02 12:31 PM
GeForce4 not detected in Suse 7.3 sa133 NVIDIA Linux 1 07-28-02 04:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.