Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 01-27-04, 02:58 PM   #1
andybelfort

Default some not so simple problems (i think)

Hi there,

All my life I was a mac user , i have no linux experience. This week my son asked me to install Linux in his PC. I downloaded Red Hat 9.0 , 3 iso. Everything appeared to be right, i burned the iso cd and so on.....when i got to the installation process, the first error, well the graphic installation won't perform, as if the monitor stops responding.So i tried the text installation. Ok i've installed it.

Now when i'm trying to load it when it ends the same thing happens.I'm unable even to enter in the linux prompt. Well the pc is a Pentium 4 2.6 , 512 ram and it's with nVIDIA Geforce FX 5200. A guy at my office told me that linux don't have drivers for this card , is it right ????

Thanks

Andy
andybelfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-04, 03:03 PM   #2
Andy Mecham
l33t master

No, there are drivers for your card. Please visit http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_d...1.0-5336.html. There are full installation instructions in the README.

--andy
Old 01-27-04, 05:39 PM   #3
andybelfort

Thanks andy fot the website, this link is not working but i 've entered the nVIDIA site, download driver , clicked on the ia32. Ok I'm reading the "read me" file in the site, well the problem is that there it tells me to exit X , the problem is that i'm even unable to run the X. What should i do ? Sorry if i'm being stupid or something but it's my first time with Linux.

Thanks

Andy
Old 01-27-04, 05:57 PM   #4
Anthaus

If X doesn't start perhaps you selected the incorrect video driver, but you're good to go anyway.
Run the installer, follow the instructions and modify the XF86Config file at /etc/X11/ with "vi"

"vi" is the linux console command for "edit".

vi XF86Config

I suppose you've never used vi, so here's a quick how-to.

Login as root (if you forgot the password, reformat and reinstall).