Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-24-03, 11:32 AM   #1
Tarken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Tarken Send a message via AIM to Tarken
Default Success with 5328 on Fedora Core 1

Okay, so I previously posted up that I was having many of the same issues as other people in here with the newly released drivers, and after much rebooting and cursing I finally got them to work properly.

Here's what I did:

* First, completely uninstall any previous drivers to give a fresh start:
./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5328-pkg1.run --uninstall

* Second, install the new one, forcing it to compile a new kernel interface:
CC=gcc32 ./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5328-pkg1.run -n

Note that in order for this to work, you need to have the "gcc32" package installed. This is what the Fedora Core 1 kernel was built with, as opposed to the default FC1 compiler, gcc 3.3.

* Third, REMOVE the "NvAGP" option from /etc/X11/XF86Config


I suspect that the gcc version problem is actually what's causing the kernel OOPS for everybody. With previous driver packages, they simply would not load unless you specified the compiler of gcc32. However, with 5328, the module will actually load but with errors.

After that is all done, everything should be working great. I'm now getting around 2500 fps in glxgears as opposed to 5.
Tarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-03, 01:12 PM   #2
CrLf
Linux Power!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lisbon, Portugal, E.U.
Posts: 61
Default

Nope, that does not solve it for everybody, especially for the via kt400 guys running 2.4 who just want to find a way to make the bloody driver stop trying to load agpgart!
CrLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-03, 05:20 AM   #3
Medora01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Default Fedora Core 1 no-luck

Running Asus kt400 board, Boy that was nasty when I could not boot into X
after compiling the new driver.
I'm new at this so I did a fresh install of Fedore core.
Medora01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-04, 12:26 PM   #4
rednuht
GeForce FX5600 (1.0-5336)
 
rednuht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 164
Default stopping agpart loading can be a pain

Exit X
locate agpgart.o
(as root)
rename it to agpgart.old

thats what worked for me
rednuht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-04, 03:49 PM   #5
DWL
David Legg
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ashford, Mx, UK
Posts: 18
Default Limited Success with 5328 on Fedora Core 1

Ok so it works, but no better than before.

Wine still moans about using a kernel in protected mode.

tuxracer only goes at about 2 frames per second.

I think we really need Mr Nvidia to fix this driver.

The previous version we had worked happily on RH9. Sorry can't remember which exact version it was.
DWL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-04, 04:41 PM   #6
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Try 1.0-5336. It fixes the VIA oops problems.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-04, 03:53 PM   #7
DWL
David Legg
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ashford, Mx, UK
Posts: 18
Smile Fixed

That's fixed it.

tuxracer now goes like the clappers.

No errors in XF86Config.0.log. 2D and 3D stuff configured.

Thanks.
DWL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-04, 03:04 AM   #8
cdrobsonjr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Friendsville, TN
Posts: 8
Question currnet driver level installed ??

Speaking of "can't remember which level driver I installed," or words to that effect:

Is there some file to look in or command to execute that will tell us
what nVidia driver code we're presently running under?

Doug
__________________
Abit NF7-S motherboard
Abit Siluro FX5600 Ultra OTES Type AGP
Kingston 1GB 3500 memory
Athlon XP Barton 3000+
Fedora Core 2 Test 3 - or trying
Video BIOS: 04.31.20.51.00
cdrobsonjr is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-29-04, 06:52 AM   #9
helios
Geforce2MX/FC1
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: currnet driver level installed ??

Quote:
Originally posted by cdrobsonjr
Speaking of "can't remember which level driver I installed," or words to that effect:

Is there some file to look in or command to execute that will tell us
what nVidia driver code we're presently running under?

Doug
`glxinfo` will output the driver version. You can also `cat /proc/driver/nvidia/` for version info.
helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i3 one core runs hotter than the other muelo1000 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 05-29-12 01:00 PM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 11:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 09:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.