Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-04, 04:45 AM   #1
PeterJensen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Red face My Asus FX5900SE

Hi all (new member)

Bought a Asus FX5900SE a week ago. (Backup card to my Xgi Volari V8 ultra duo - Beta testing drivers.)

Ok first off all. I came from a 9700pro and i was REALLY amased that the Asus FX5900SE made LESS noise then my Boxed p4. Actually i thought the fan was not running ( http://www.asus.com/products/vga/v9950se/overview.htm)

Well now to the qustion.

Anny of you know why i can only get 475 mhz on the core and 750 mhz on the ram?

Best Regards
Peter Jensen
Denmark
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-04, 06:55 AM   #2
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: My Asus FX5900SE

Quote:
Originally posted by PeterJensen
Anny of you know why i can only get 475 mhz on the core and 750 mhz on the ram?
Simple answer - luck of the draw. You can't expect every video card you get to be able to overclock to insanely high levels.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-04, 06:56 AM   #3
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: My Asus FX5900SE

Quote:
Originally posted by PeterJensen
...Anny of you know why i can only get 475 mhz on the core and 750 mhz on the ram?
the core i'm not sure about, but the 5900SE RAM is only rated for 700mhz, so I wouldn't expect too much of an overclock on it. Do you have RAM heatsinks on that card?
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-04, 07:00 AM   #4
PeterJensen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

There are no ram heat sinks.

But the card is a beast and i love that it makes no noise.

The nvidia temp reader says its 55c idle and about 60c after a hour of FarCry
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-04, 07:31 AM   #5
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PeterJensen
There are no ram heat sinks.
...
well thats part of the problem then. If you wanna overclock the memory, RAM heatsinks can be an important part of it. I mean of course it depends what speed memory they installed on there originally anyway, but heatsinks can definetly help

they're relatively cheap these days if you wanna add some. And I recommend you add them on both sides of the card, wherever you see a ram chip
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-04, 07:42 AM   #6
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

check the serial number on a memory chip, then see what speed it's rated for at Samsung.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-04, 08:43 AM   #7
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gator
well thats part of the problem then. If you wanna overclock the memory, RAM heatsinks can be an important part of it. I mean of course it depends what speed memory they installed on there originally anyway, but heatsinks can definetly help

they're relatively cheap these days if you wanna add some. And I recommend you add them on both sides of the card, wherever you see a ram chip
It'd only put you over another 10mhz at most. However, they do look quite good.

Just beware of the VOIDED WARRANTY OF DOOM!!!!11
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-04, 12:37 PM   #8
stefan567
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to stefan567
Default

I just got the FX5900 SE from EVGA and it does have the Ram Heat Sinks. I'm able to get it to 450/820. I think the Ram Heat sinks make the difference and mine is very quiet also.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-81PE1000-L, P4 2.8C , 1Gig Kingston Hyperx DDR333, EVGA FX5900 SE (450/820), Audigy LS, 80Gig Maxtor SATA, 40Gig Maxtor ATA 133, Liteon 16X DVDROM, WinXP SP1, Samsung 570V 15inch TFT, Samsung 763mb 17inch Crt, Logitech Z640 5.1, Creative WebCam Pro eX
stefan567 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-31-04, 09:29 AM   #9
PerfectCr
Registered User
 
PerfectCr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stefan567
I just got the FX5900 SE from EVGA and it does have the Ram Heat Sinks. I'm able to get it to 450/820. I think the Ram Heat sinks make the difference and mine is very quiet also.
820? Isn't the ram only rated for 700Mhz? I am afraid to O/C the ram on my 5900SE because it's already at it's limit. You think raising the Core by 50Mhz I will really too much of a difference? I have always O/C'ed my video card before but this one I'm a little touchy with. Thoughts?
__________________
Main: Shuttle SN21G5 | X2 3800+ | 7600GT | 1GB | 2007WFP
HTPC: Shuttle SN41G2 | XP 2700+ | 6200 | 1GB | 32" Samsung LCD
PerfectCr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-04, 09:51 AM   #10
stefan567
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to stefan567
Default

Well what I have always done is raise it in 10Mhz increments and tested with something like 3dmark03 to see if I get artifacts. Then if I do get artifacts I lower it 10Mhz.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-81PE1000-L, P4 2.8C , 1Gig Kingston Hyperx DDR333, EVGA FX5900 SE (450/820), Audigy LS, 80Gig Maxtor SATA, 40Gig Maxtor ATA 133, Liteon 16X DVDROM, WinXP SP1, Samsung 570V 15inch TFT, Samsung 763mb 17inch Crt, Logitech Z640 5.1, Creative WebCam Pro eX
stefan567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-04, 10:08 AM   #11
PerfectCr
Registered User
 
PerfectCr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stefan567
Well what I have always done is raise it in 10Mhz increments and tested with something like 3dmark03 to see if I get artifacts. Then if I do get artifacts I lower it 10Mhz.
Yeah me too But I guess I am worried about the Ram. Normally the Ram has some headroom. Since EVGA used 2.8ns ram on this card, 700Mhz is the max.
__________________
Main: Shuttle SN21G5 | X2 3800+ | 7600GT | 1GB | 2007WFP
HTPC: Shuttle SN41G2 | XP 2700+ | 6200 | 1GB | 32" Samsung LCD
PerfectCr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-04, 01:30 PM   #12
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PerfectCr
820? Isn't the ram only rated for 700Mhz? I am afraid to O/C the ram on my 5900SE because it's already at it's limit. You think raising the Core by 50Mhz I will really too much of a difference? I have always O/C'ed my video card before but this one I'm a little touchy with. Thoughts?
My 5900XT runs @450/950, I dont know what spec ram this has, and Im not ripping off the heatsink to find out

btw, my card is running 24/7 (so to speak) at those speeds, and have never crashed or had one artifact in any games I have tried with this card. For me the best OC test was Unreal2.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III review (w/ Asus GTX680 DirectCU II TOP) News Archived News Items 1 07-01-12 03:39 PM
Review of the 23-inch Asus VG23AH Passive 3D IPS Display News Archived News Items 0 06-21-12 07:40 PM
Asus ditches Android for Windows 8 in new Transformer laptop/tablet News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 02:10 PM
ASUS GeForce GTX 670 DirectCU II Top Unveiled Features 1137MHz Boost Clock (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 06:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.