Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-04, 07:07 PM   #1
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default Call of Duty 1.2 Patch broke

Seems the Call of Duty patch is a bit crap.. Cant find valid installation on my machine, and loads of other ppl get the same thing..

Even the ones that managed to get it installed says it lags the game right up, with loads of player warping.. doh..
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-04, 07:09 AM   #2
raysusan
Registered User
 
raysusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 112
Default

lucky i havnt install yet
__________________
Intel E8400 @ 3.2GHz | Asus P5Q Pro | Kingston DDR800 4GB| Samsung SyncMaster 193P | nVidia GTX 285
Corsair HX620W | Pioneer DVR-S18LBK | Pioneer DVR-215BK | Lian Li PC-7FW | (((AE))) AegoM 2.1
WD3200AAKS-00B3A0 | WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 | VelociRaptor WD1500HLFS-01G6U1 | Windows 7 Home
raysusan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-04, 07:58 AM   #3
Morrow
Atari STE 4-bit color
 
Morrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 798
Default

no problem here... still need to update my linux server to 1.2...
Morrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-04, 12:49 PM   #4
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default

Did you install COD to the default directory morrow? Where did you run the patch from? I even tried running it from the COD directory (d:\games\callofduty) but no luck.
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-04, 03:35 PM   #5
Morrow
Atari STE 4-bit color
 
Morrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 798
Default

My CoD copy is installed in "D:\Call Of Duty" and I ran the patch from D:\.

I now also updated my linux server and everything runs flawlessly and after checking some gaming forums I can't find anything about problems updating CoD.

It might not help but maybe reinstalling the complete game will solve your problem. Do you have any other mods, blood patches installed? My CoD copy is free of anything.
Morrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-04, 03:39 PM   #6
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default

Theres loads of threads in the official IW forum about patch problems.. not many ppl say they cant install it, but a few do.

Some ppl even tried re-installing the game, then found they couldn't do that either. My bro had the same problem with Splinter Cell under win98.. it just wouldn't install for some reason, or when it did install finally it wouldn't detect the run CD..

I dont have any COD mods installed, guess I'll have to just re-install it and see what happens..

Apart from Steam ( ) this is the 1st game problem I've ever had IIRC.

Hmm actually I think I know the problem.. I formatted windows but never re-installed COD (different drive) so the registry prolly has no knowledge of it..

Still lame.
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-04, 06:21 PM   #7
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default

Glad I always wait to patch until the no-cd patch for the patch comes out.
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-04, 08:18 PM   #8
Mr.Clawz950
Hi
 
Mr.Clawz950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: KY, USA
Posts: 122
Default

I can hardly play the game. Too much player warping and lag in MP. Half the time I get disconnected or timed out for no reason. Patch blows the big one.
__________________
System 1 : AMD X2 6400+ @ 3.4Ghz | ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe | 4GB OCZ PC6400 (2x2048) | Dual BFG GeForce 8800GTXs | Western Digital 74GB Raptor | Western Digital 250GB HDD | Lite-On 52x24x52 CD-RW | Memorex DVD-R | X-Fi Fatal1ty | Antec Plusview 1000AMG w/CoolMax 850Watt PSU | Windows Vista 64-bit | 20Mbps/2Mbps Cable

System 2 : AMD X2 5200+ @ 2.8Ghz | ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe | 4GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 (4x1024) | BFG GeForce 7800GTX | Western Digital 74GB Raptor | Western Digital 160GB HDD | Lite-On 52x24x52 CD-RW | Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS | Antec Plusview 1000AMG w/TruePower 550Watt PSU | Windows XP w/SP2 | 20Mbps/2Mbps Cable
Mr.Clawz950 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-01-04, 09:39 AM   #9
Malfunction
 
Malfunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lake Jackson, TX
Posts: 1,002
Default

I ran a 8 player server off my machine while playing and it ran great to my surprise, at least that's what the other 7 players said. After hearing/reading all the bad comments about the patch, I think I will just have to stay away from it... far away until things are addressed.

Peace,

Malfunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-04, 09:51 AM   #10
Mullins1060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: England
Posts: 255
Default

patch installed fine here, i have cod installed on C:\Games\CoD\ and i ran the patch from me desktop.

i have the uk edition of the game.

the patch itself is fine imo, i have not noticed any player warping in mp, and there is a load less bunnies on the servers now
__________________
M/B: Asus Rampage Formula (0401 BIOS) | CPU: Intel Xeon 3350 @ 3.6GHz (8x450MHz) 1.256v | HSF: Tuniq Tower 120-LFB | RAM: 2x2GB Corsair TwinX DDR2 XMS2 Dominator PC2-8500C5 @ 1080MHz 5-5-5-15 2T 2.1v | GFX: 1792MB EVGA GeForce GTX 295 | HD: 2x300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 10000RPM SATA-II 16MB Cache (RAID 0) | SOUND: Asus SupremeFX II | PSU: OCZ ModXStream 900W | CASE: Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80B
Mullins1060 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-04, 01:31 PM   #11
FastM
GeForceFlop
 
FastM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 545
Send a message via ICQ to FastM
Default

I dont know about Player warping, although i have been getting annoying lag lately (my connection can be funny somedays though)

Im really really dissapointed with the patch, They tried to hard to fix gameplay they made it worse. For one thing, i have shot a real sniper rifle before and you dont need to take your eye out of the scope to **** the gun in-between shots, i mean you need to when reloading, but not going through your clip, another thing is the random aim when you go in the scope, i mean cmon If im looking at someone and click scope, its retarted when the aim jumps 10feet in one direction. Making one of those changes to the snipers would of been okay, but not both, it makes using the gun just annoying.

The other is bunny hoping, because of a bunch of whiners out their everytime you come down from jumping your player trips on his own feet, what if your trying to jump over something while someone is shooting at you, if you miss the jump the first time your dead now because were all a bunch of cluts's now when it comes to jumping.

These changes are so bloody annoying i dont even want to play this game anymore.
FastM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-04, 03:20 PM   #12
Mullins1060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: England
Posts: 255
Default

about the sniper, they have said there is a bug when going from unscoped to scope where the scope will not be aiming anywhere near what it was to start off with, as for the having to stop looking down scope to reload the chamber maybe they had to do that with those rifles in ww2?

and for the bunny thing just practice ur jumps then it wont be a problem
__________________
M/B: Asus Rampage Formula (0401 BIOS) | CPU: Intel Xeon 3350 @ 3.6GHz (8x450MHz) 1.256v | HSF: Tuniq Tower 120-LFB | RAM: 2x2GB Corsair TwinX DDR2 XMS2 Dominator PC2-8500C5 @ 1080MHz 5-5-5-15 2T 2.1v | GFX: 1792MB EVGA GeForce GTX 295 | HD: 2x300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 10000RPM SATA-II 16MB Cache (RAID 0) | SOUND: Asus SupremeFX II | PSU: OCZ ModXStream 900W | CASE: Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80B
Mullins1060 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$44.99 - Logitech Call of Duty: MW3 Edition G105 Black USB Wired Gaming Keyboard News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-20-12 09:00 PM
Tony Hawk devs working on Call of Duty News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Treyarch says Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 Doesn't Need a New Engine to Advance Graphics News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-14-12 07:00 PM
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Collection 1 DLC arrives on PC, finally News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-09-12 01:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.