Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-04, 03:59 AM   #1
Daniel-Son
Linux NooB
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8
Default FSTAB Rules

I have managed to get a NTFS partition working with RedHat 9.0, but I have to mount it every time I log in. The process I go through is an auto-login as a user, then jump into "su" through xterm and mount the partitions with following command.

mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/ntfs -t ntfs -o umask=0222

Which allows me as a user to access it through a shortcut from my desktop, and through XMMS.

I have tried various fstab rules to automatically mount this at boot - but they all fail.

Does anybody have the correct rule in which to add to my fstab file to get it to mount at boot properly?

Thanks

PS - I haven't mucked around with the uid and gid options in the fstab directory. I know that uid is the user name of my account - but I was unsure oif what the gid entry was.
Daniel-Son is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-04, 03:31 PM   #2
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

/dev/hda3 /mnt/ntfs ntfs auto,owner,fmask=111 0 0

This is what I use.
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-04, 01:46 AM   #3
Daniel-Son
Linux NooB
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8
Default Formatting

Thanks for the reply - first time failed, didn't catch the loadup screen to see if it properly failed - but I couldn't access it from my user account.

What is the formatting of the text in the fstab file - is there spaces or tabs between the entries?

Thanks

Daniel-Son
Daniel-Son is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-04, 03:07 AM   #4
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

Tabs.
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-04, 04:10 AM   #5
Daniel-Son
Linux NooB
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8
Default FAILED

I entered exactly this at the end of my "/etc/fstab" file, on new line

/dev/hda3 [TAB] /mnt/ntfs [TAB] ntfs [TAB] auto[COMMA] owner [COMMA] fmask=111 [TAB] 0 [TAB] 0 [ENTER]

and during boot it failed.

The message said something like the following

Wrong fs, bad superblock on dev/hda3, too many file systems mounted

Here is a copy of my fstab file

Quote:
IW /etc/fstab (Read only) Row 1 Col 1 8:10 Ctrl-K H for help
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
/dev/hda6 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0
/dev/hda3 /mnt/ntfs ntfs auto,owner,fmask=111 0 0
Is there something wrong with my entry or is there something a little screwy with my system?

Thanks for your continued help .

Daniel-Son
Daniel-Son is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-04, 06:39 AM   #6
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

Did you compile NTFS support, either into your kernel or as a module?
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-04, 06:28 PM   #7
Daniel-Son
Linux NooB
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8
Default

I downloaded the ntfs RedHat RPM from here
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/l...8.9.athlon.rpm

and then installed that, using the usual means.

I can mount the volume manually, using the comment made in one of my previous posts, it just doesn't like mouting during boot.
Daniel-Son is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-04, 07:08 PM   #8
Daniel-Son
Linux NooB
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8
Default Don't Worry - Be Happy

Last Night I got it fixed.

For those that are not interested I thought I would share it with those who were.

I fluked this by modifying the fstab file and put in the following entry:

/dev/hda3 /mnt/ntfs ntfs auto,owner,umask=0222 0 0

Could it have been simpler?

It seems I have been dancing around the correct answer for quite a while

Thankyou for all of your help TheOneKEA!

Daniel-Son
Daniel-Son is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's Tinkerers v. Hollywood as Copyright Office Mulls New Jailbreaking Rules News Archived News Items 0 05-18-12 03:10 AM
NOLF 2 Co-op Rules! St Lobus Gaming Central 12 10-16-02 10:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.