Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-04, 04:49 AM   #1
petemc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Default geforce fx5200 svideo out

Hi,
Im trying to utilise the svideo out on my geforce fx 5200. Ideally Id like to watch a movie on the TV and do other stuff on the monitor at the same time. What Ive managed to achieve so far is the nvidia logo appearing on the tv followed by a grey screen which I can move the cursor around and not much else. XFC4 appears on the monitor and Im able to use it flawlessly, but if drag the mouse to the left of the monitor screen onto the TV screen its pretty much useless - no right click menu or anything.
Ive tried various things like export DISPLAY=0/1/0.1/1.0/0:1/1:0/ and running gnome-session, or using mplayers -display option, I get the same sort of errors you would get trying to start an x application where no x enviroment is available.
Output of cat /proc/drivers/cards/0

Model: GeForce FX 5200
IRQ: 10
Video BIOS: 04.34.20.42.00
Card Type: AGP

NVRM version: NVIDIA Linux x86 nvidia.o Kernel Module 1.0-4496 Wed Jul 16 19:03:09 PDT 2003

My config and log are at http://zoidberg.yerma.org/nvidia/

It does say "Multiple displays connected, but only one display allowed;" , but Ive been told this error message isnt a clear cut as it could be percieved, however true that may be.

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

TIA
--
Pete
petemc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-04, 06:02 PM   #2
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default

We were getting only black/white/grey colours on the TV with s-video. Turned out it was a setting on the TV and whether the default was NTSC or PAL.
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-04, 06:46 PM   #3
petemc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Hi,
Thanks for your answer, but its not grey as in lacking defination, its quite simply a grey coloured screen, as if an xserver is running with no window manager.
Further investigation has revealed that if I switch the numbering of the screens around in XF86Config-4 I can make the window mangager start on the TV and have the useless grey screen appear on the monitor. So quite obviously all is well with the driver and in some respects the configuration.
Thanks again.
--
Pete
petemc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What You Can Expect From GeForce GRID News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 04:20 PM
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.