Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-02, 11:48 PM   #1
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Angry Floppy disk drives.

I've tried out like five and none of them work! bah! what is the best and most reliably floppy disk drive around? lol, man, I wouldn't even need a floppy disk if I could burn windows xp rescue CDs.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-02, 11:05 AM   #2
ss1
Registered User
 
ss1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aberystwyth, UK & Horley, Surrey, UK
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to ss1 Send a message via AIM to ss1 Send a message via Yahoo to ss1
Default

Sony I think. Well mine has lasted me for at 3 years thus far...


ss1.
__________________
[size=0.08]CPU: Athlon XP 1600+ w/ Zalaman CPNS6000-AlCU HSF
OS: Windows 2000 Pro SP3
Mobo: MSI K7T266 pro 2 RU
VideoCard: Gainward Geforce4 Ti4400 128mb DDR ViVO 40.72 Dets
Monitor: LG 915FT+ Flatron 19" 1600x1200 @ 85hz
RAM: 512MB DDR
Storage: 2 x 40Gb Segate Barracuda IV's (7,200 rpm), 20Gb Segate U6 (5,200 rpm), Zip 250 IDE, Pioneer 16x DVD, Sony 32x10x40 CD-RW
SoundCard: Turtle Beach Santa Cruz (5.1 Digital) & SB Audigy Player (4.1 Analouge)
Speakers: Cambridge Soundworks DTT3500 5.1 Digital + Sony MDR-V150 Headphones[/size]

[size=0.5]“Fanatics make unreliable friends.” – Garrett – Thief : The Dark Project[/size]
ss1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-02, 11:16 AM   #3
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

I know this is going to sound dumb, but did you make sure the floppy cable wasn't upside down when you were checking? I bought a Panasonic (I think) floppy like 1.5 years ago and it's still working fine.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-02, 11:30 AM   #4
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Talking

Yep, I checked both ways on every one.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-02, 12:17 PM   #5
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

I figured you probably did, but it never hurts to ask.

Have you tried different cables? Or have you tried the drives on a different motherboard?
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-02, 12:51 PM   #6
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by saturnotaku
I figured you probably did, but it never hurts to ask.

Have you tried different cables? Or have you tried the drives on a different motherboard?
Yep, different cables, different boards, I bought new rounded floppy cables and still nothin.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-02, 08:00 PM   #7
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

i just get the cheapest one from newegg, and they work perfectly.

floppy drives tend to mess up when the connection is put in wrong, and the computer is booted to the point where it spins. just make sure the first time before you boot, the floppy is perfectly connected. its kinda sensitive.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 07:32 AM   #8
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

ya, I've been using the same floppy drive since my 386sx-20 computer and it works fine in this rig. I agree with thcdru2k, buy a brand new floppy and and triple check that before you switch the pc on that it's hooked up properly. Otherwise it might fry something

Teac I beleive is regarded as the finest floppy drive brand, because it always cost about $2 more than Sony brand, but again even generic made floppy drives should work okay.

Other possibilities: you say you tried different cable, different motherboards, different floppy drives... is there a possibility there is a problem with your power supply? Or perhaps JUST the cable going from the PSU to the floppy drive? Maybe it's providing too little or too much power and it's frying the drive.
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-03-02, 09:02 AM   #9
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default

Floppies and floppy drives from my experience are very unreliable. I've got a stack of 7 or 8 drives here that don't write to any disks properly. I've also got a massive number of floppy discs that don't work in any drives properly.

Bah! I say to the floppy. I just use cdrw's now.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 09:07 AM   #10
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

floppy is only good for homework, and now computers at schools finally use cds so you can just burn your homework now aday. gone with the floppy!
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 09:58 AM   #11
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

there is one other option but it's kinda dumb... get an external floppy drive it might work better for you. Or maybe even an LS120 exteranl floppy drive, so at least you can store a lot of data on it. But ya, CDRW might be better as a last resort.

If you're interested though, here some links:

USB External 1.44meg Floppy Drive for $32us
http://www.wiredzone.com/itemdesc.as...=50011225&tpc=

of if you'd prefer a retail store, Compusa sells them for $50us
http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...pe=catg2#rslts

I couldn't find any external LS120 drives for PC USB for some reason, sorry
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western Digital's new hybrid drives aim for thinner, cheaper Ultrabooks News Archived News Items 0 09-10-12 05:00 PM
Auslogics Disk Defrag 3.5.0.10 News Archived News Items 0 08-29-12 10:10 AM
The History of the Floppy Disk News Archived News Items 0 08-29-12 10:10 AM
Auslogics Disk Defrag 3.4.3.0 News Archived News Items 0 05-17-12 07:40 AM
CD-RW Overclocking :D NeoGeo General Hardware 20 07-30-02 06:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.