Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-04, 05:38 PM   #1
dominyx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to dominyx
Default Help with config..

Here's my X86...trying to get the second monitor to show up, just sits idle right now. Thanks for any help.

# XFree86 4 configuration created by redhat-config-xfree86

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Multihead layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" LeftOf "Screen1"
Screen 1 "Screen1" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "DevInputMice" "AlwaysCore"
Option "Xinerama" "off"
Option "Clone" "on"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
#
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "MouseManPlusPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# If the normal CorePointer mouse is not a USB mouse then
# this input device can be used in AlwaysCore mode to let you
# also use USB mice at the same time.
Identifier "DevInputMice"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "E90-2"
DisplaySize 370 270
HorizSync 30.0 - 95.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor 1280x1024"
HorizSync 31.5 - 79.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 80.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
Option "TwinView"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31.5 - 79.0"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50.0 - 80.0"
Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200,1280x1024"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard Vendor"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection
dominyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-04, 10:40 PM   #2
dominyx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to dominyx
Default

Anyone? Thanks.
dominyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-04, 12:09 PM   #3
manong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Default

Try commenting out the lines where you add a second screen and second graphics card to your config file. With the nVidia driver, as far as XF86 is concerned there should only be one screen, and the driver will then make that one screen span both monitors. Also, comment out the line "Option "Clone" "on"". Good luck!
manong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FreeBSD 9 Release with Nvidia 550 Ti configuration issues goga NVIDIA FreeBSD 0 05-23-12 09:34 AM
Dual monitor config w/o HDMI avs234 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-12-12 12:23 AM
Unofficial nVidia HOWTO [RPM version] Rob C. NVIDIA Linux 78 04-09-03 08:44 AM
Please help CAn't get GF 3 working on RH73 RunsWithScissor NVIDIA Linux 3 10-06-02 11:19 PM
Winxp Router Config Help.! styles-T Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 15 08-03-02 12:13 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.