Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-26-03, 06:44 PM   #1
moebius
GeForce ti4400
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to moebius Send a message via AIM to moebius
Default TwinView XF86Config-4 problems

I'm trying to get the dual-head working on my GeForce4 ti4400 on Mandrake 9.2. I don't think i totally understand what they're trying to say with configuring the XF86Config-4 file. I get an error when trying to start X with the other screen enabled. I know the driver itself is working because when I startx i see the nvidia logo. Here i a copy of my XF86Config-4 and below that is what error I get. Some stuff is cut out that didn't really have anything to do with it. I'm using two identical LCD screens. One is hooked up to the VGA plug, the other is using the DVI.


Code:
# File generated by XFdrake.

# **********************************************************************
# Refer To The XF86Config man page for details about the format of
# this file.
# **********************************************************************

Section "Files"
    # Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
    # By default, Mandrake 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
    # the X server to render fonts.
    FontPath "unix/:-1"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    #DontZap # disable <Crtl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
    AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse doesn't work
    #DontZoom # disable <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
    Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
    Load "extmod"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx" # 3D layer
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard1"
    Driver "Keyboard"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "en_US"
    Option "XkbOptions" ""
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option "Device" "/dev/usbmouse"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "monitor1"
    VendorName "Generic"
    ModelName "Flat Panel 1280x1024"
    HorizSync 31.5-67
    VertRefresh 50-75
    
    # Sony Vaio C1(X,XS,VE,VN)?
    # 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hz, 48 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "1024x480"    65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344   480  488  494  563 -hsync -vsync
    
    # TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
    # 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576"     50.00  768  832  846 1000   576  590  595  630
    
    # 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576"     63.07  768  800  960 1024   576  578  590  616
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "device1"
    VendorName "NVidia"
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce4 (generic)"
    Driver "nvidia"
    Option "DPMS"
    #Option "TwinView" "on"
    #Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31.5-67"
    #Option "SecondMonitorVertRefesh" "50-60"
    #Option "MetaModes" "1024x768, 1024x768"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "screen1"
    Device "device1"
    Monitor "monitor1"
    DefaultColorDepth 24
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 8
        Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 15
        Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 16
        Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 24
        Virtual 1280 1024
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout1"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    Screen "screen1"
EndSection

And here is basically what it says when I startx.

Code:
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failure to construct a valid mode list: no modes remaining.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): ************** Aborting **************
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a useable configuration.

Fatal Server Error:
no screens found
Thanks a lot for any help.
moebius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-03, 01:01 AM   #2
concrete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Default log

What is the content of your /var/log/XFree86.log?
concrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-03, 04:56 PM   #3
moebius
GeForce ti4400
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to moebius Send a message via AIM to moebius
Default

Attached is the log from today. Theres way too much information in there for my newbie mind to comprehend. The key lines though I thought might give some idea of the problem are as follows:

Code:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s): CRT-1, DFP-0
(--) NVIDIA(0): Detected TV Encoder: Brooktree 871
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Multiple displays connected, but only one display allowed;
(WW) NVIDIA(0):      using first display
Both monitors are identical LCD displays. The first one is on VGA the second is on DVI.

Thanks for the help.
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (27.3 KB, 121 views)
moebius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-04, 01:50 PM   #4
promd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Unhappy

I've the same problem, did you ever get a solution?
promd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-04, 05:13 PM   #5
WiredLain
On/Off
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Default

The things I can see:
Try ConnectedMonitor "DFP, DFP" (or "CRT, CRT")
Try changing the TwinView orientation
Make sure your metamodes match the resolution. In your case, try "1280x1024, 1280x1024; 1024x768, 1024x768"
Is the second monitor vet refresh the same as the first one?

And from what your log is saying, some options weren't set when they should:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): To enable TwinView, you must also specify:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Option "MetaModes" "<metamode list>"
WiredLain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-04, 06:31 PM   #6
moebius
GeForce ti4400
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to moebius Send a message via AIM to moebius
Default This is what worked for me

Yeah, I got it to work. Here is the thread on LQ: http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...hreadid=108294

All I had to do was change the "Virtual" to "Modes" in the "Screen" section.

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 1280 1024
EndSubsection

to

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubsection

There should really be some documentation about this somewhere. I wonder if it's a Mandrake problem only.

Good luck.
moebius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 10:36 AM
TwinView, fullscreen on TV brosen NVIDIA Linux 2 10-08-02 10:29 AM
TwinView problems k-rulez NVIDIA Linux 1 09-07-02 09:13 AM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 03:24 AM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 03:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.