Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-04, 03:54 PM   #1
TadeuszJL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 6
Question TwinView problems ?

Hello,

I have MSI FX 5600 XT 128MB configured as TwinView, with two DELL P1110 monitors. Previously I had two GeForce (2/4) cards set in Xinerama and it worked fine, but with recent upgrade to kernel 2.4.20-28.7 it started crashing at the close of my typical application, so I bought better card (albeit the cheapest with dual outputs - VGA + DRI->VGA plug) and set it in TwinView. Setup was a snap, crashes are history, OpenGL is on both screens, but I have persistent "blinking" of the left screen (every few minutes, no regularity or obvious cause, just few frames scrambled). I tried replacing the card (similiar from different manufacturer - no change), I tried reducing top frequency, same.

Any suggestions ?????

Here is the setup:

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen"
Device "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX (generic) (AGP)"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "640x480"
EndSubsection

Option "TwinView"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30.0-101.0"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "48.0-160.0"
Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200,1600x1200; 1280x1024,1280x1024"

EndSection

True upper Horiz is 121, the screens are then at 105kHz/85Hz, after change it is 94/75. In both cases it is sin to waste good monitor on low freq, but I'm not ready to spend on $400 card (its company money ...)

RedHat 7.3, Athlon 2400, SiS mbrd (ECS K7S5A Pro)
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5328-pkg1.run

BTW - I assumed that TwinView requires single video card and it will not work on my previous hardware. Is it true ? README is not explaining it clearly ....


thanks
__________________
Tadeusz
TadeuszJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-04, 02:28 PM   #2
vtwinracersp2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Default

i have the same problem, just thought i would check in...
vtwinracersp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-04, 03:00 PM   #3
TadeuszJL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks,

I asked for help from NVIDIA, got nothing (he suggested trying different modes, but I already tried 4 different settings) ... I tried swapping monitors and it follows the plug - unless there is a cable problem .

I have noticed that the blink happens often when I move mouse - this may indicating something caused by window manager/X server

What is your setup - maybe we can find something common ? Did you try the hardware in Windows ?

I use gnome + sawfish, and I am really back with Linux version - because of the need for stable build environment I keep RedHat 7.3. XFree86 version: 4.2.1, NVIDIA most current, I consider upgrading to RHEL 3.0 and also changing mbrd at the same time (both low end, but the next should support more RAM). I may also try the famous 4620 drivers and play with settings there.
__________________
Tadeusz
TadeuszJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 11:36 AM
TwinView problems k-rulez NVIDIA Linux 1 09-07-02 10:13 AM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 04:24 AM
Twinview with TV-out karlaugust NVIDIA Linux 10 08-28-02 05:20 PM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 04:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.