Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-15-04, 08:18 PM   #1
vesperatus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Default could not load OpenGL subsystem | Latest Nvidia drivers | RedHat 9 | Help me ! |

Something weird is happening when I try to play Ennemy Territoty.
I'm able to start it, but when I change resolution, It can work but I still cant play since it lock up when I clike enable punkbuster or connect ... or It can give me this error :

----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
----- R_Init -----
...loading libGL.so.1: Initializing OpenGL display
...setting mode 6: 1024 768
Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.2
XF86DGA Mouse (Version 2.0) initialized
XFree86-VidModeExtension Activated at 1024x768
Using 8/8/8 Color bits, 24 depth, 0 stencil display.
GL_RENDERER: GeForce4 Ti 4200/AGP/SSE2
Initializing OpenGL extensions
...using GL_S3_s3tc
...ignoring GL_EXT_texture_env_add
...using GL_ARB_multitexture
...using GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array
...ignoring GL_NV_fog_distance
XF86 Gamma extension initialized

GL_VENDOR: NVIDIA Corporation
GL_RENDERER: GeForce4 Ti 4200/AGP/SSE2
GL_VERSION: 1.4.1 NVIDIA 53.36
GL_EXTENSIONS: GL_ARB_depth_texture GL_ARB_imaging GL_ARB_multisample GL_ARB_multitexture GL_ARB_occlusion_query GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_ARB_point_sprite GL_ARB_shadow GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_window_pos GL_S3_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_env_add GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_fog_coord G
L_EXT_multi_draw_arrays GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_paletted_texture GL_EXT_point_parameters GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_EXT_shadow_funcs GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette GL_EXT_stencil_wrap G
L_EXT_texture3D GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_cube_map GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp GL_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3 GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic GL_EXT_texture_lod GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_EXT_texture_object GL_EXT_vertex_array GL_HP_occlusion_test GL_IBM_rasterpos_clip GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_KTX_buffer_region GL_NV_blend_square GL_NV_copy_depth_to_color GL_NV_depth_clamp GL_NV_fence GL_NV_fog_distance GL_NV_light_max_exponent GL_NV_multisample_filter_hint GL_NV_occlusion_query GL_NV_packed_depth_stencil GL_NV_pixel_data_range GL_NV_point_sprite GL_NV_register_combiners GL_NV_register_combiners2 GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_NV_texture_compression_vtc GL_NV_texture_env_combine4 GL_NV_texture_rectangle GL_NV_texture_shader GL_NV_texture_shader2 GL_NV_texture_shader3 GL_NV_vertex_array_range GL_NV_vertex_array_range2 GL_NV_vertex_program GL_NV_vertex_program1_1 GL_NVX_ycrcb GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap GL_SGIS_multitexture GL_SGIS_texture_lod GL_SGIX_depth_texture GL_SGIX_shadow GL_SUN_slice_accum
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE: 4096
GL_MAX_ACTIVE_TEXTURES_ARB: 4

PIXELFORMAT: color(24-bits) Z(24-bit) stencil(0-bits)
MODE: 6, 1024 x 768 fullscreen hz:N/A
GAMMA: hardware w/ 0 overbright bits
CPU:
rendering primitives: single glDrawElements
texturemode: GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR
picmip: 0
texture bits: 0
multitexture: enabled
compiled vertex arrays: enabled
texenv add: disabled
compressed textures: enabled
NV distance fog: disabled
Initializing Shaders
----- finished R_Init -----
Sys_LoadDll(/root/.etwolf/etmain/ui.mp.i386.so)...
Sys_LoadDll(/root/.etwolf/etmain/ui.mp.i386.so) failed:
"/root/.etwolf/etmain/ui.mp.i386.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"
Sys_LoadDll(/usr/local/games/enemy-territory/etmain/ui.mp.i386.so)... ok
Sys_LoadDll(ui) found **vmMain** at 0x4be45bfc
Sys_LoadDll(ui) succeeded!
Resolving etmaster.idsoftware.com
etmaster.idsoftware.com resolved to 192.246.40.60:27951
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
----- R_Init -----
...loading libGL.so.1: QGL_Init: dlopen libGL.so.1 failed: /usr/lib/tls/libGL.so.1: shared object cannot be dlopen()ed: static TLS memory too small
failed
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
----- CL_Shutdown -----
-----------------------
Sys_Error: GLimp_Init() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

Shutdown tty console

************************************************** ************************************************** *******
............

Here is my XF86Config file


************************************************** *******************

*# XFree86 4 configuration created by pyxf86config

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.

RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"

# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"

# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
#
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "ca_enhanced"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# If the normal CorePointer mouse is not a USB mouse then
# this input device can be used in AlwaysCore mode to let you
# also use USB mice at the same time.
Identifier "DevInputMice"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "NEC AccuSync 95F"
HorizSync 31.0 - 96.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 160.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
VideoRam 65536
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection



************************************************** ************************************************** ***************

In my XFree86.0.log, I have a LoadModule : "nvidia"

************************************************** ************************************************** **************************



Then, in my XFree.86.1.log, I dont have any "LoadModule : "nvidia"



************************************************** ************************************************** *************************
(II) LoadModule: "glx"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a
(II) Module glx: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0, module version = 1.0.0
ABI class: XFree86 Server Extension, version 0.2


(II) LoadModule: "nv"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/nv_drv.o
(II) Module nv: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0, module version = 1.0.1
Module class: XFree86 Video Driver
ABI class: XFree86 Video Driver, version 0.6

(II) LoadModule: "vgahw"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libvgahw.a
(II) Module vgahw: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0, module version = 0.1.0
ABI class: XFree86 Video Driver, version 0.6
(==) NV(0): Using HW cursor
(--) NV(0): Linear framebuffer at 0xEC000000
(--) NV(0): MMIO registers at 0xEA000000
(II) NV(0): Detected CRTC controller 0 being used

************************************************** ************************************************** **********************************

Can anyone help me with that ??? I have the Nvidia screen when I load RedHat.

I would like to know if it could only be enemy territory and if there is other games I could try for linux, or just some OpenGl applets.....

Thx for your help in advance !
vesperatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-04, 09:56 PM   #2
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default

Your XF86Config specifies to use the nvidia driver but the XFree nv one is used instead. This could be because you are editing the wrong X config file in /etc/X11. It could be either of XF86Config or XF86Config-4 it is using.
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-04, 04:21 PM   #3
vesperatus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Thx, i'll try this right now and post on my "experiences"
vesperatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-04, 04:31 PM   #4
vesperatus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Default

ok

In my /etc/X11 I only have 2 XF86Config : XF86Config and XF86Config~

I'm super noob with linux and i'm trying to get better...

Hope that someone can help me with that
vesperatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-04, 05:26 PM   #5
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default

The ~ at the end just signifies a backup. Text editors often do this. From your info there can be only one config file X uses, so any solution to your problem lies elsewhere.
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-04, 12:02 PM   #6
5Ht
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9
Default

Try removing the "section DRI" at the end of your XF86Config file (or put a # at the start of each line in the section to comment them out)

i.e.

#Section "DRI"
#Group 0
#Mode 0666
#EndSection

Hope that helps,

Lee
5Ht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-04, 09:31 AM   #7
geowiz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, Tx USA
Posts: 110
Default my 2 cents

A couple of comments and a pointer.

The XFree.86.1.log apperars to be an old log. Normally the XFree.86.0.log is the current one. Since the XF86Config file appears to be ok, ignore the "old" log file. (To check, do an ls -l and see if the XFree.86.1.log isn't old)

The error seems to be when loading a library from the new treaded library ( /usr/lib/tls ) area. There is a similar problem seen elsewhere in some GL games. Try the suggestion per this thread from another group http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...003/09/3/77717 . Basically, it sets the environment to act like an "old" kernel and avoid the new threaded library directory. ( export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.4.21 )

Can't help but notice that some of the search paths include /root . Therefore it appears that you may be running as the root user. It is not good practice to run applications as the root user unless you are doing "system administration". Remember to practice safe computing......

Hope this helps some.
geowiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Lucid rt kernel can't load latest nvidia driver module, but generic does. marcod NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 06:23 AM
Radeon 9700 not all that? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 200 10-12-02 09:31 PM
NVidia Drivers HowTo for RedHat 8.0 needed eduardp NVIDIA Linux 10 10-04-02 03:59 AM
Redhat 7.3 + Nvidia drivers 3123 = troubles e-r-a-n NVIDIA Linux 4 09-17-02 12:26 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.