Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 02-19-04, 06:58 PM   #1
DaddyLongLegs

Unhappy Fedora Core and Nvidia (gcc mismatch)

I'm a relative newb but have managed to get Fedora Core 1 working with my network and network printers, and everything is great. However, I want to use tis PC as a network game host so I want to install the Nvidia's latest drivers: 1.0-5336 to run on a Geforce 2, MX 440 card.

When I try to install the drivers, i get the; gcc-version check failed along with the note about "If you know what your doing, and to want to ignore the gcc version check, select "no" and continue installation...

I don't really know what I'm doing so I bail at this point because I'm not sure how to recover if the install fails..

I recognize the issue based upon researching other posts, etc..

I have gcc version 3.2.3 used to compile the kernel orginally and 3.3.2 currently being used which creates the mismatch.

I have tried the following based upon other post after dropping out of X window and logging in as root:

# CC-gcc32 sh NVIDIA-Linux..... 1.0-5336-pkg1.run (no change in install error message)

# export CC=gcc32 followed by the sh.... NVIDIA.. (again, no change in install error message)

What am I doing wrong???

I'm using the 2.4.22-1.2174 kernel and have installed the source code for this kernel. I really don't want to try rebuilding the kernel unless absolutely necessary.

Any help would be appreciated.

DaddyLongLegs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-04, 10:22 PM   #2
DaddyLongLegs

Default Follow up

Out of curiosity, if I use the commend #export CC=gcc32, will I still see the warning message during the drivers install anyway and just proceed with the install, or is the warning message supposed to go away during the install?
Old 02-25-04, 07:38 PM   #3
DaddyLongLegs

Default 3 Weeks Trying to Install Driver!