Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-04, 08:16 PM   #1
Stephanie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Enterprise, Ontario
Posts: 4
Question Do I need to be connected to the internet to run the installer

I wish to install a new kernel for my Suse Box. I know that I will need to run the new installer for version: 1.0-5336 to get my graphics up and running. My questioin is, do I need to be connected to the internet when I run the installer. In the past I've had a full time cable internet connection so there wasn't any problems, but now I have a dial up system and when I boot to run level 3 to run the installer, I'm unable to connect to the internet.



Thanks a bunch
Steph
Stephanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-04, 09:57 PM   #2
McQuaid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 8
Default

Well, it depends if there is a package available for your distro. Not sure about suse, for mine there isn't so it always fails to find one and then goes ahead and installs. I used to always say try, but now I just skip the step and let it install. In the past did it have a version available? Or would it fail and manually install one? Because if there isn't one available for your system, you need to have the kernel source for YOUR kernel.
McQuaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-04, 10:13 PM   #3
SuLinUX
 
SuLinUX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 847
Default

No, just run the package and let it do it's thing, like was said above you need your kernel- source.

By the way your not installing a new kernel, your installing the nvidia driver.
__________________
AthlonXP 2600+ / nForce2 Asus A7N8X-X / PNY GeForce FX5900 Ultra / 1024Mb Samsung Ram /nForce Sound / Hansol 920D Plus 19" monitor / Lite-On 32x12x40 / 2x Maxtor HD 40Gb/80Gb / nVidia 7174 driver / Gnome 2.10.1 / Kernel 2.6.11.9 / Slackware 10.0
SuLinUX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-04, 06:20 AM   #4
Stephanie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Enterprise, Ontario
Posts: 4
Default



Thanks for the info guys. This is a great place.



Steph
Stephanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"GPU has fallen off the bus" error on 650M unless a CUDA program run first amonakov NVIDIA Linux 0 06-18-12 06:34 PM
What your Internet behavior says about your mental state News Archived News Items 0 06-17-12 09:00 PM
House members hear why ITU can't be trusted with Internet regulation News Archived News Items 1 06-01-12 12:46 PM
Bandwidth explosion: As Internet use soars, can bottlenecks be averted? News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.