Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-02, 12:35 PM   #1
DaveW
Its me! Hurray!
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brit in USA
Posts: 1,203
Default Doom 3 on GF4

http://www.ausgamers.com/?agn=features&id=830152

This time Id ran the demo on a GF4 instead of the Radeon 9700 and using a 2 ghz P4.
__________________

Core2 Q9400 @ 3.0, eVGA GTX 260, 4G DDR 800, Vista64
DaveW is offline  
Old 10-04-02, 05:09 PM   #2
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

Good to know. My setup should be able to handle it just fine. I bet Mafia runs worse than Doom 3 ever will.
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline  
Old 10-08-02, 11:06 PM   #3
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Post

I clicked on the link and went to AusGamers but nothing.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline  
Old 10-09-02, 05:30 AM   #4
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by |TX|-LORD-EX-BU
I clicked on the link and went to AusGamers but nothing.
it was there when the thread was made

anyway, i read it myself, and that's what they said. of course i don't remember them mentioning anything about speed or resolution
 
Old 10-10-02, 08:55 AM   #5
MajBlunder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 18
Default

Hiyas,
Was over at warp2search.net yesterday and they had posted an interview concerning Doom III. Heres the link to the interview.
http://www.gaminginvasion.com/index.php?article=68

On the second page of the interview it says,

What attempts are being made to allow Doom III to play on the mid and lower end computers?
The Platform for Doom III will be Geforce 3 and above cards but you can play it on a Geforce 1 but you will have to turn a lot of the visuals off to play. We are hoping that in the future we will be having good penetration on all the cards.

So it looks like just about any1 will be able to play it, just wont be able to see all the special effects that higher end video cards will be able to render.
MajBlunder is offline  
Old 10-11-02, 01:10 AM   #6
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default

So my system will be able to play this 30+ FPS without stuttering?
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline  
Old 10-11-02, 01:14 AM   #7
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

my guess is yes, your system is pretty top of the line, if they're making doom 3 aiming for specs that people don't even have right now, that wouldn't sell too many copies..i bet you'd can run 30fps with alot of eye candy, just not with fsaa / af / max textures and such. plus, if its gonna work with geforce1, i'm assumign they mean playable framerates.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline  
Old 10-11-02, 01:17 AM   #8
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Thumbs up

Yeah, I am planning on replacing the GF4 with a NV30 in december anyways. So it should be all good, any estimate on when this game should be out? Because I am kinda hoping I'll be able to play it before summer of next year, cuz if I don't, I'll have to wait until I come back in summer of 2005 to see it, and by then, my comp and everything else will be uber-ancient. LOL, I just made this computer too, in a few months I won't be able to use it, haha. Great investment.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline  

Old 10-11-02, 01:22 AM   #9
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

heh. just give it away to someone..or sell it before you go. amazon is saying march 31, 2003, but amazon isn't always reliable on their dates. but i'd say march 31...add 3-6 months to that to be conservative.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline  
Old 10-11-02, 01:25 AM   #10
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Unhappy

dang, it looks like summer 2005 for me then.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline  
Old 10-11-02, 01:30 AM   #11
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

ehh summer 2005..i'm thinking quake 4 by than.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline  
Old 10-11-02, 01:32 AM   #12
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Talking

Yup. oh well, it isn't that long of a wait. And I won't be waiting, I'll be out doing stuff.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doom 3 BFG Edition is Out Now with Stereoscopic 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 10-16-12 03:40 PM
Now Available - Doom 3: BFG Edition News Archived News Items 0 10-16-12 02:20 PM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 06:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 06:40 AM
How do you think Doom III will perform on a GeForce4? demonized Gaming Central 21 08-03-02 01:55 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.