Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-02, 03:46 AM   #1
JemyM
Registered User
 
JemyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 179
Send a message via ICQ to JemyM
Default High Resolution vs Anti-Aliasing

I have a 19" and very good eye sight. I enjoy sharpness more than speed so 30-60 fps was ok by me.

I have reached the horsepower required to run games in 1600x1200 at over 40-50fps (over 60 on most). Running at 1600x1200 I remember when I could snipe heads with the silenced pistol in No One Lives Forever, there where no better weapon available in the entire game. The crystal sharp 3d was enough to fully see and aim the crosshair above a head and click the left mousebutton. I even sniped some guards on the other side of the map...

Now i started to run Morrowind/NWN in 1940x1440, and with a nifty 2100+ cpu, the games runs great. I will probably make the final jump to resolutions at 2000 or greater when I grab my next gfx card in 6-12 months, just becouse I can.

This makes me wonder... Why are Anti-Aliasing so popular?
Anti-Aliasing makes a image "smoother", at the cost of both speed and sharpness.
Is it true that most gamers use a cheap 17" that cant run better resolutions than 1024x768?

Instead of grabbing a new horse-powered graphicscard to get better anti-aliasing, wouldnt it be better to grab a new monitor? Even 1280x1024 makes it near impossible to see pixels at a good 17", and most graphiccards can run 1280x1024 at higher FPS than 1024x768 x4 anti-aliasing

Best Regards
JemyM
JemyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 03:57 AM   #2
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

because 1280 obviously has more jaggies than 1024+4x FSAA.

FSAA is all a matter of taste, but with gamma correct FSAA ala the R9700, it should improve image quality even further. i wouldn't say that FSAA actually blurs the image, unless you use something like QCA or 4x9tap.

bottom line is, if you don't notice aliasing all over the place, don't use FSAA. most monitors that people buy also don't have good refresh rates over 1024, so that's another problem about high resolution.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 04:31 AM   #3
JemyM
Registered User
 
JemyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 179
Send a message via ICQ to JemyM
Default

Quote:
because 1280 obviously has more jaggies than 1024+4x FSAA.
Depends on the monitor. On a 17" at 1280x1024 its pretty difficult to see the pixels. Specially in motion.
Im used to a 19", but I run 1280x1024 at work, and its from there I can give this "inprofessional opinion".

The Hz problem might be a good explenation thou.

Best Regards
JemyM
JemyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 09:36 AM   #4
Bigus Dickus
GF7 FX Ti 12800 SE Ultra
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 651
Default

On my 22" iiyama, pixel shimmering is easily spotted even at 1600 x 1200 resolution. This is eliminated with FSAA, hence I prefer to run at a lower resolution w/ AA than run a 1600 x 1200 (I'd prefer to do both, obviously, but haven't bought a new card in over a year).
Bigus Dickus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 09:42 AM   #5
JemyM
Registered User
 
JemyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 179
Send a message via ICQ to JemyM
Default

Oh. 22". I fear thoose babies. I know what kind of resolution I need on a 19" to remove the "blur" but god knows what evil resolution is required to do that on 22"!!!

Best Regards
JemyM
JemyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 10:46 AM   #6
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

Additionally, modern high-end video cards are essentially at the point where it is silly not to run with at least 2x FSAA in most any game.

Regardless, FSAA is one of those things that until you run with it enabled for a while, you probably won't notice why it's so good until after you disable it.
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 11:10 AM   #7
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Chalnoth, I rather play some old games with no AA than with any AA.
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 11:13 AM   #8
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

Kiler, you've always had wierd tastes in image quality
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-03-02, 12:22 PM   #9
Cotita
Nvidia God
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 341
Default

Since the geforce4 and Radeon9700 give you 2x AA for free even at high resolutions (1280+), its a waste not to use it.

I have a ti4600 with a 17" monitor and I can play mafia at 1280x1024 with 2xAA or quincunx. it looks somewhat better than 1024x768 with 4xAA and runs faster.

The use of AA in games is a matter of personal taste and IMO depends on the games you play. In fast paced 1st person shooters like q3 or serious sam there is no apparent IQ improvement using AA, but Flight sims, racing games and games like warcraft3/morrowind, look completely different with AA enabled.

You really don't need 60fps when playing mafia and it does benefit a lot using even 2x AA.

just my 2cents
__________________
Sometimes I hate being right everytime.
Cotita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 12:51 PM   #10
jbirney
Registered User
 
jbirney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,430
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cotita
. In fast paced 1st person shooters like q3 or serious sam there is no apparent IQ improvement using AA, but Flight sims, racing games and games like warcraft3/morrowind, look completely different with AA enabled.

Up until UT2k3 I would have agreed. Now after play that, I would have to say that is not the case. UT2k3 has lots of indor maps with a ton of polys. Here the jaggies are much easier to see. For the older lower poly games (like SS/Q3) then yea I agree with you.

However once you know what to look at its very easy to spot jaggies and yes even at 1600x1200.

Quote:

Kiler, you've always had wierd tastes in image quality

Quote:
K.I.L.E.R Chalnoth, I rather play some old games with no AA than with any AA.
Chalnoth If he has a GF3/4 or R9700 then I can see why. Older games like CS make use of Alpha textures which are not AA-ed so cranking up the res on those games helps more than AA.
jbirney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 03:05 PM   #11
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jbirney
Chalnoth If he has a GF3/4 or R9700 then I can see why. Older games like CS make use of Alpha textures which are not AA-ed so cranking up the res on those games helps more than AA.
if you remember back a few months Kiler said he liked the resolution of 640X480 and said it provided superior IQ compared to higher resolutions somehow.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 05:07 PM   #12
JemyM
Registered User
 
JemyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 179
Send a message via ICQ to JemyM
Default

Chalnoth / Cotita
----------------------
Running 2x FSAA in 1940x1440... Whats the point with that?

The only thing I can see, is that the game starts to stutter becouse of increased calculations needed.

Maybee when we can run 2x FSAA in 2048x1536 in 60fps we can switch it on, just to "feel" that the image quality should be better (even if it cant be seen)... Kinda like texture filtering, you can still get 60fps with it, so there is no need to switch it off to gain speed.

Best Regards
JemyM
JemyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia-settings only allowing 1440x900 resolution lumina NVIDIA Linux 4 11-17-12 03:09 PM
The Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 Ti GPU is Out Now, Great for 720p S3D News Archived News Items 0 10-09-12 10:40 AM
$99.99 - SYLVANIA ARM 11 1.00GHz 10" High Resolution Screen Internal Memory: 512MB RA News Newegg Daily Deals 0 08-18-12 06:00 AM
Opinions on 1280x1024 resolution skipparoo NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 103 06-23-12 12:38 AM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 03:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.