Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-02, 07:18 PM   #133
mwgoodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Paladiney
Ok I installed Kernel developer tools and fixed this problem

now My xconfig has problem I think ..

I cant find dri and nv ..
*** Ok I am cutting some stuff out for easy reading.
Make sure you are looking at XF86Config-4 not just XF86Config***

Just noticed in fresh install of RH 8.0 they took the -4 off the XF86Config-4 file. If you upgraded the -4 is still used.

Quote:
Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
EndSection
Mine looks like:
Section "Module"
# Load "GLcore"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
# Load "dri"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
EndSection


Quote:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "vesa"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
EndSection
And my "Device" section looks like

Section "Device"
# no known options
Identifier "NVIDIA GeForce 2 GTS (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA GeForce 2 GTS (generic)"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 2 GTS (generic)"

#BusID
EndSection

Last edited by mwgoodman; 12-02-02 at 08:20 PM.
mwgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-02, 07:45 PM   #134
mwgoodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Office_Rabbit
When I type $rpmbuild --rebuild NVIDIA_kernel.1.0-1960.src.rpm as you suggested I get the error:

bash : rpmbuild : command not found

Any help would be appreciated...
(ps - if it's relevant i'm a total linux newbie)
One thing the "$" means you are not "root" or have administrative access.
or
If you typed the $ with the command it will give you the error.

Here are the steps: (don't type the quotes)
type in "su"
it should ask for a password, this is the root password you set. After you type the password the prompt will change to root@something# or simply #

now type "rpmbuild --rebuild NVIDIA_kernel.1.0-1960.src.rpm"

It should build ok. If you have RedHat 7.3 or older use rpm --rebuild instead of rpmbuild --rebuild.

You will need to build the NVIDIA_GLX file the same way. If it built ok the installation files will be located in /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/ <something>
the <something> could be i386 i486 i586 i686 or athlon

Once you find the files you can install them by
"rpm -ivh NVIDIA*"

I'll try and watch for more question, maybe a few days before I can reply.
mwgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-02, 08:12 PM   #135
mwgoodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default Re: The damn buildmeister error

Quote:
Originally posted by Fishbulb
I apologive for the length of my post but I have read through this entire forum and cant find anything that might solve my problem:

I am one of the many people getting the buildmeister error when trying to build the NVidia kernel source:


[root@res00488 Downloads]# rpm -qa | grep kernel
kernel-2.4.18-14
kernel-doc-2.4.18-17.8.0
kernel-utils-2.4-8.13
kernel-pcmcia-cs-3.1.31-9
kernel-source-2.4.18-17.8.0
kernel-debug-2.4.18-14
kernel-2.4.18-17.8.0
kernel-debug-2.4.18-17.8.0
kernel-uml-2.4.18-14

THANKS!!!
This is for my desktop Athlon 900Mhz
also my card is GeoForce 2 GTS 32Mb
rpm -qa | grep kernel
kernel-source-2.4.18-17.8.0
NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123
kernel-2.4.18-17.8.0
(I have a custom built kernel on this one)

This is for my Laptop
P4 1.4Ghz GeoForce 4 440 go 64Mb
rpm -qa | grep kernel
kernel-source-2.4.18-17.8.0
NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123
kernel-2.4.18-17.8.0
kernel-pcmcia-cs-3.1.31-9
(I have the default rpm kernel on this one)

Maybe the debug or uml kernel is messing something up.
First I might remove kernel-source and glibc-kernelheaders then delete the /usr/src/linux-2.4.18-17.8.0 folder
then reinstall the kernel-source and glibc-kernelheaders

I don't think you need all those kernels either if you don't have a laptop or pc card reader remove the pcmcia. It's anoying when something small is causing all the trouble and no one knows what it is. Don't give up.
mwgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-02, 02:35 AM   #136
Glenn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7
Default Damn buildmeister

This is really brassing me off. I've looked at all the replies, scoured it in fact and nothing seems to work for me.

I've done a FULL 4Gb install (just in case someone is accusing me off missing stuff). Haven't touched the auto update so I have the defaul kernel. Yes I'm root and and no, I haven't yet modified ANYTHING.

I type in: rpmbuild --rebuild NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.src.rpm
Installing NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.src.rpm

...and I get this (like so many other people)...

warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: group buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: group buildmeister does not exist - using root
Segmentation fault

PLEASE give me some hints. I'm following the instructions to the letter but to no avail. Soon I may as well bugger off and brood with my Windows OS
Glenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-02, 11:08 AM   #137
Office_Rabbit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7
Default re: mwgoodman

Thanks for the advice - but it doesn't work

It still says that rpmbuild --rebuild and rpm --rebuild are unknown commands.

What should I do now?
Office_Rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-02, 11:56 AM   #138
mwgoodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default Re: Damn buildmeister

Quote:
Originally posted by Glenn
This is really brassing me off. I've looked at all the replies, scoured it in fact and nothing seems to work for me.

I've done a FULL 4Gb install (just in case someone is accusing me off missing stuff). Haven't touched the auto update so I have the defaul kernel. Yes I'm root and and no, I haven't yet modified ANYTHING.

I type in: rpmbuild --rebuild NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.src.rpm
Installing NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.src.rpm

...and I get this (like so many other people)...

warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: group buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: group buildmeister does not exist - using root
Segmentation fault

PLEASE give me some hints. I'm following the instructions to the letter but to no avail. Soon I may as well bugger off and brood with my Windows OS
I only have two more ideas, if they work let me know, if not maybe someone from nvidia will post.

First option,
When I build the src file I included the CPU type

rpmbuild --rebuild --target athlon NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.src.rpm

PII, PIII, and P4 are i686
original pentium is i586

Second option is wait for NVIDIA to have compiled RPMs for RH8.0 This is painful downside to running the latest OS.

What CPU do you have?
Does the NVIDIA_GLX compile ok?
I might be able to post a compiled rpm for
an i686 kernel 2.4.18-17
mwgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-02, 12:09 PM   #139
mwgoodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default Re: re: mwgoodman

Quote:
Originally posted by Office_Rabbit
Thanks for the advice - but it doesn't work

It still says that rpmbuild --rebuild and rpm --rebuild are unknown commands.

What should I do now?
You are running RedHat 8.0?

before the run the rpmbuild command type in
"ls" or "dir"
do you see the NVIDIA-... files?

if not you need to be in the same directory the NVIDIA files are in.

If you see them try rpmbuild --rebuild NVIDIA-k(hit the tab key) the rest of the filename should be auto typed in. Remember filenames are case sensitive unlike windows.

What type of CPU do you have?

if that don't work type in
"locate rpmbuild"

It should give a list of directories and rpmbuild will show up somewhere like /usr/bin/rpmbuild

then you might try the location if gives you:

/usr/bin/rpmbuild --rebuild NVIDIA-k (tab key)

I hope your not to lost, post if it works, if not answer my questions.
mwgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-02, 12:39 PM   #140
Office_Rabbit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7
Default re: mwgoodman

I am running Redhat 8.0

I moved to the directory and tried everything you suggested - same response (command not found).

My CPU is an AMD Athalon on an Asus motherboard.

When I typed "locate rpmbuild" it gave the following locations:
/usr/lib/librpmbuild-4.0.4.so
/usr/lib/librpmbuild-4.1.so

I tried the location it gave me and it said there was a "segmentation fault".

So to conclude - still stuck ;[
Office_Rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-12-02, 02:51 PM   #141
mwgoodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default Re: re: mwgoodman

Quote:
Originally posted by Office_Rabbit
I am running Redhat 8.0

I moved to the directory and tried everything you suggested - same response (command not found).

My CPU is an AMD Athalon on an Asus motherboard.

When I typed "locate rpmbuild" it gave the following locations:
/usr/lib/librpmbuild-4.0.4.so
/usr/lib/librpmbuild-4.1.so

I tried the location it gave me and it said there was a "segmentation fault".

So to conclude - still stuck ;[
I have not used this new feature before but go to the "packages" program. It should be under System Settings menu. Go to the development section and make sure Development Tools and kernel development are checked. Then click update, I think will ask for the correct CD.

If you look at the details the rpm-build should be checked.

It looks like the rpmbuild command is not installed or has some how been deleted, the above step should install it.

If that works use the rpmbuild --rebuild --target athlon NVIDIA-kernel tab
mwgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-02, 03:58 PM   #142
Office_Rabbit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7
Default re: mwgoodman

Well that worked - thanks for all the help

But now a new problem appears to have arisen - I can't load tux racer... I click it and nothing happens whereas it used to load.

Any solution?
Office_Rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-02, 04:23 PM   #143
Office_Rabbit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7
Default

Oh.. just noticed I got the buildmeister thing too:
Installing NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-2960.src.rpm
warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: group buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: group buildmeister does not exist - using root

but it seemed to overlook that as it ended with:
Executing(--clean): /bin/sh -e /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.23024
+ umask 022
+ cd /usr/src/redhat/BUILD
+ rm -rf NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-2960
+ exit 0

And resulted in an executable .rpm which I installed...

Oh and also - the nvidia drivers are not showing up in the xwindows config thing..
Office_Rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-02, 05:07 PM   #144
mwgoodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Office_Rabbit
Oh.. just noticed I got the buildmeister thing too:
Installing NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-2960.src.rpm
warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: group buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: group buildmeister does not exist - using root

but it seemed to overlook that as it ended with:
Executing(--clean): /bin/sh -e /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.23024
+ umask 022
+ cd /usr/src/redhat/BUILD
+ rm -rf NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-2960
+ exit 0

And resulted in an executable .rpm which I installed...

Oh and also - the nvidia drivers are not showing up in the xwindows config thing..
Did you get both the NVIDIA-GLX and NVIDIA-kernel installed?

If so, you have to edit the XF86Config-4 file by hand. Refer to one of my previous post about the XF86Config-4 file.

It is located under /etc/X11/

Use some text editor and put a "#" in front of
load "GLcore" and
load "dri"
These would stop tux from working
(probably towards the top of the file)

also locate
Driver "nv" and change to
Driver "nvidia"
(probably located at the bottom of the file)

restart and tux should work much faster 10x to 100x.

Another question, is your RH8.0 an upgrade from 7.3 or a fresh install? Both of mine are upgrades from 7.3

The Buildmeister is not really an error just a warning the the user or group is not on the system so it switches and uses the root account for building. The faild builds are a result of something else.

Last edited by mwgoodman; 11-12-02 at 05:13 PM.
mwgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Showcases GPU Breakthroughs at IBC 2012 News Archived News Items 0 09-07-12 10:10 AM
The Nvidia Forums Are Still Not Available, Finally We Know Why News Archived News Items 0 07-14-12 05:10 AM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
NVidia Drivers HowTo for RedHat 8.0 needed eduardp NVIDIA Linux 10 10-04-02 03:59 AM
Redhat 8.0, no rpm, can't compile. Ironphil NVIDIA Linux 6 10-02-02 03:13 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.