Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-06-02, 11:24 AM   #13
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mrk200
Well, I'm not that new to linux, I do know some stuff, and yes, I did do all that exactly as you stated. Also, this is on rh8.0. I noticed you do no have "unix /:7100" for a FontPath. This seems to be what is causing my problem because it doesn't want to initialize. Should I try reinstalling xfs?
Don't try to reinstall it, just try to start it. xfs is a separate program from X, and when you start X, it doesn't automatically start xfs. It just assumes xfs is already running (and listening on port unix:/7100). Your startup scripts should be trying to load xfs -- do you see info about it displayed when you boot?

Try (this is from memory, so you might want to double-check the syntax with the chkconfig man page) /sbin/chkconfig --list xfs. If it isn't set to "on" in runlevel 3 or 5, do a /sbin/chkconfig --level 2345 on or something like that -- again, check the man page for syntax. The important part is the --level, the 3, and the 5. It's also not a bad idea to have it start in level 2 and 4. I haven't used chkconfig myself recently, but it's pretty standard on RedHat installations at least. It probably exists on other distros, too.

Edit: And then after you set it to on, you have to actually start it, either by rebooting or by doing a /etc/rc.d/init.d/xfs start as root. Do the chkconfig stuff as root also.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 01:26 PM   #14
utiel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: mallorca
Posts: 65
Default install kernel-source

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli
I have a little problem here!
"rpmbuild --rebuild NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.src.rpm" give's me this:

Installing NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.src.rpm
... and in the end...

+ INSTALLPATH=/lib/modules/2.4.18-14/kernel/drivers/video
+ mkdir -p /var/tmp/NVIDIA_kernel-1.0//lib/modules/2.4.18-14/kernel/drivers/video
+ install -m 0444 NVdriver /var/tmp/NVIDIA_kernel-1.0//lib/modules/2.4.18-14/kernel/drivers/video
install: cannot stat `NVdriver': No such file or directory
error: Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.10141 (%install)


RPM build errors:
....
from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.10141 (%install)
[root@rehdat8 makaveli]# cd /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/i386/

Huh? What should i do?
I think you didn't install kernel-source.

I wrote a guide to RedHat 8.0Beta, but now its out-of-date.
Here are the packages you need to compile Nvidia-kernel.
Check them with:
rpm -qa | grep rpm-build
rpm -qa | grep gcc
etc, etc

Necessary packages:
rpm-build
gcc-3.2
binutils
glibc-devel
glibc-kernheaders
kernel-source

If you have an SMP machine ( 2 or more processors, you need configure your kernel, cd /usr/src/linux-2.4; make menuconfig )
utiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 03:22 PM   #15
dradick
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Angry Redhat 8.0 reboot with NVidia 3123

Folks,

thanks for all the tips on getting Nividia 3123
drivers to work with RedHAt 8.0.

I have tried both the tar.gz as well as the src.rpm
files. Both install cleanly, I modify XF86config
myself. Attempting to load the new drivers
results in immediate system reboot.

I'm not sure what I should post here, everything
looks like it should. This a clean install of RH 8.
Previously, the same hardware ran RedHat 7.3
with Nvidia drivers 2960 (I think) flawlessly.

any help welcome.

Don
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 05:19 PM   #16
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Does installing 2960 work (on RH 8)? In other words, try to narrow down what's causing the problem -- is it the 3123 drivers, or is it RH 8? Changing more than one thing at a time is generally not a good way to test things...

Otherwise, go back to your 7.3 partition (you do still have that, right?) and install 3123, and see if that works.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 05:20 PM   #17
kiwistag
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Angry

What happens if you can't start an X-Windows session? I tried building it and it came up saying:

+ INSTALLPATH=/lib/modules/2.4.18-14/kernel/drivers/video
+ mkdir -p /var/tmp/NVIDIA_kernel-1.0//lib/modules/2.4.18-14/kernel/drivers/video
+ install -m 0444 NVdriver /var/tmp/NVIDIA_kernel-1.0//lib/modules/2.4.18-14/kernel/drivers/video
install: cannot stat `NVdriver': No such file or directory
error: Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.36018 (%install)


RPM build errors:
user buildmeister does not exist - using root
group buildmeister does not exist - using root
user buildmeister does not exist - using root
group buildmeister does not exist - using root
Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.36018 (%install)

The reason I can't get into KDE is that I did an upgrade (from 7.3) and of course rolling back the XFree86Config-4 won't work :/

Any ideas to whats wrong would help immensely.

(Oh Source is installed, I am root and running out of ideas from above 's listings)
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 07:54 PM   #18
Linewbie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 18
Default Just a note...

Quote:
Originally posted by bwkaz
I don't know if RedHat does this, but in XF86Config-4, make sure you are not doing Load "GLcore", and make sure you are doing a Load "glx". Just to make sure...
On RH 8.0 there will be no 'Load "GLcore"' line, but if you do not have RedHat 8.0 you must comment/delete that line, if it is a previous version of RedHat. With Mandrake 9.0 I dont believe I had that line, but everyone should check anyway just to be on the safe side!!!

BTW: Thanks so much bwkaz for helping us noobs out, we really appreachiate it!
Linewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-02, 10:49 PM   #19
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

kiwistag -- does running a make mrproper oldconfig dep in /usr/src/linux (or wherever your kernel source tree got put) help with the RPM build?

Linewbie -- no problem. Although I'm sure mtrr wouldn't mind picking up slack if I wasn't here... right mtrr?
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 12:56 AM   #20
kiwistag
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yeah, it did actually. Although I had to force the install of the package and it also complained about 2.4.18-14custom whereas I was using 2.4.18-14 but it still stuck the file in ready to go. Now to see if it works....

  Reply With Quote

Old 10-07-02, 02:44 AM   #21
bdfulk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Talking Worked great

Followed the instructions by STEEL except step5 I compiled from within gnome and it still worked great! Now if only I could figure out how to get my linux desktop extended onto my second monitor. Anyone have any good tutorials I can go look up or advice? I have one geforce4 ti4200 and two 15" lcds hooked up to it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 04:38 AM   #22
bdfulk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Red face Answered my own question

well that solves that, all it took was for me to rtfm

Anyone interested in doing what I was trying to do should check out the nvida docs, in the twinview section, all I had to do was set up one monitor and display, and add about 4 or 5 lines to the screen section.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 06:55 AM   #23
nerfherder64
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to nerfherder64
Default

bdfulk,

I have RTFM, and I still can't get my second monitor to display anything. Could you please tell me exactly *what* you added to the screen section?

(My thread entitled "TwinView in RedHat 8.0" tells what I've tried.)
nerfherder64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 09:27 AM   #24
Rocketeer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have followed your instructions exactly, and rebuilded the rpm, installed it, and it seemed, that it worked (no error messages).
Same thing with the glx-drivers. It just told me, that older ones were renamed, but this is normal I guess.

But it does not work for me. I have filled in nvidia instead of nv, and uncommented the load.glx. X starts normal, in the graphics properties, the driver "nvidia" is shown. But when I check the Xconfig.0.log, I see, that nv is still loaded. Despite of this, when I use glxinfo, this error message is shown:
Code:
name of display: :0.0
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual

   visual  x  bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer  ms  cav
 id dep cl sp sz l  ci b ro  r  g  b  a bf th cl  r  g  b  a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
0x21 16 tc  0  0  0 c  .  .  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0 0 None
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
0x22 16 dc  0  0  0 c  .  .  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0 0 None
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Showcases GPU Breakthroughs at IBC 2012 News Archived News Items 0 09-07-12 10:10 AM
The Nvidia Forums Are Still Not Available, Finally We Know Why News Archived News Items 0 07-14-12 05:10 AM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
NVidia Drivers HowTo for RedHat 8.0 needed eduardp NVIDIA Linux 10 10-04-02 03:59 AM
Redhat 8.0, no rpm, can't compile. Ironphil NVIDIA Linux 6 10-02-02 03:13 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.