Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-02, 09:30 AM   #25
Rocketeer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

And here are the essential parts of the XF86Config:

Code:
Section "Module"
# This loads the DBE extension module.
# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
# This loads the Type1 and FreeType font modules
    Load       "glx"
	Load  "dbe"  	# Double buffer extension
	SubSection "extmod"
		Option	    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
	EndSubSection
	Load  "type1"
	Load  "freetype"# This loads the GLX module
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync is in kHz unless units are specified.
# HorizSync may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.
#    HorizSync	30-64         # multisync
#    HorizSync	31.5, 35.2    # multiple fixed sync frequencies
#    HorizSync	15-25, 30-50  # multiple ranges of sync frequencies
# VertRefresh is in Hz unless units are specified.
# VertRefresh may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.
	Identifier   "gericom"
	ModelName    "Unknown monitor"
	HorizSync    30.0 - 98.0
	VertRefresh  50.0 - 160.0
EndSection
Section "Device"
# The chipset line is optional in most cases.  It can be used to override
# the driver's chipset detection, and should not normally be specified.
#    Chipset	"generic"
# The Driver line must be present.  When using run-time loadable driver
# modules, this line instructs the server to load the specified driver
# module.  Even when not using loadable driver modules, this line
# indicates which driver should interpret the information in this section.
# The BusID line is used to specify which of possibly multiple devices
# this section is intended for.  When this line isn't present, a device
# section can only match up with the primary video device.  For PCI
# devices a line like the following could be used.  This line should not
# normally be included unless there is more than one video device
# intalled.
#    BusID      "PCI:0:10:0"
#    VideoRam	256
#    Clocks	25.2 28.3
	Identifier  "Standard VGA"
	Driver      "vga"
	VendorName  "Unknown"
	BoardName   "Unknown"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    #VideoRam    32768
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
	Identifier  "geforceself"
	Driver      "nvidia"
        Option      "NvAgp" "1"
	BoardName   "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX self"
	VideoRam    32768
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen 1"
	Device     "geforceself"
	Monitor    "gericom"
	DefaultDepth     16
	SubSection "Display"
		Depth     8
		Modes    "640x480" "800x600" "1024x768" "1280x1024"
	EndSubSection
	SubSection "Display"
		Depth     16
		Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
	SubSection "Display"
		Depth     24
		Modes    "640x480" "800x600" "1024x768" "1280x1024"
	EndSubSection
EndSection
So, any hints for me?

Thank you very much
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 10:31 AM   #26
utiel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: mallorca
Posts: 65
Default XF86Config seems OK

Quote:
Originally posted by Rocketeer
And here are the essential parts of the XF86Config:

Code:
Section "Module"
Load       "glx"
...
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "geforceself"
	Driver      "nvidia"
        Option      "NvAgp" "1"
	BoardName   "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX self"
	VideoRam    32768
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen 1"
	Device     "geforceself"
	Monitor    "gericom"
	DefaultDepth     16
	SubSection "Display"
		Depth     16
		Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection
So, any hints for me?

Thank you very much
I think that is a conflict with GL libraries.

You say that Nvidia Logo is showed, then,
search any lib*GL* ( in /usr and /usr/X11R6 )
and check there is NO any libMesaGL(rename or delete).

If you installed a previous version of Nvidia drivers, desinstall them first ( rpm -U doesn't work well )
utiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 10:44 AM   #27
Rocketeer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: XF86Config seems OK

Quote:
Originally posted by utiel


I think that is a conflict with GL libraries.

You say that Nvidia Logo is showed, then,
search any lib*GL* ( in /usr and /usr/X11R6 )
and check there is NO any libMesaGL(rename or delete).

If you installed a previous version of Nvidia drivers, desinstall them first ( rpm -U doesn't work well )
no, Nvidia Logo is not shown - I meant, that the driver "nvidia" is displayed in the display properties.

These are the results of searching for libgl:

/usr/lib:
Code:
libglade-2.0.so.0        libglib-1.2.so.0       libglide3-v3.so
libglade-2.0.so.0.0.0    libglib-1.2.so.0.0.10  libglide3-v5.so
libglade-gnome.so.0      libglib-2.0.so.0       libx11globalcomm.la
libglade-gnome.so.0.4.2  libglib-2.0.so.0.0.6   libx11globalcomm.so
libglade.so.0            libglide3.so.3         libx11globalcomm.so.1
libglade.so.0.4.2        libglide3.so.3.10.0    libx11globalcomm.so.1.0.0
and in
/usr/X11R6/lib:
no file

thanx for your help so far
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 10:52 AM   #28
Rocketeer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It runs
For some reasons, when I copied a backup of XF86Config from the X11-directory in my root-directory, X always used that file in root now. So I changed it now, and it runs!!!!!

Thanx for your help
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 02:52 PM   #29
dradick
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RedHat 8 and 3123 sucess!

Thanks for the several suggestions.

While troubelshooting a USB mouse error
message, I got into the BIOS and
set "Plug and Play OS" = yes.

After that, the same NV setup in Linux
worked beautifully.

regards,
Don
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 03:54 PM   #30
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Post Counterpoint

I was able to make the 1.0-3123 drivers work easily. I used the source tarballs and copied my XF86Config file from my earlier install. It all worked beautifully. Fullscreen in Q2 and Q3A is quite nice
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 10:22 PM   #31
ubien
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Same rebuild error

i get the same

RPM build errors:
user buildmeister does not exist - using root
group buildmeister does not exist - using root
user buildmeister does not exist - using root
group buildmeister does not exist - using root
Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.10141 (%install)

error and i have kernel headers and kernel source installed
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 10:44 PM   #32
utiel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: mallorca
Posts: 65
Default Re: Same rebuild error (need more space or needs some more devel packages)

Quote:
Originally posted by ubien
i get the same

RPM build errors:
user buildmeister does not exist - using root
group buildmeister does not exist - using root
user buildmeister does not exist - using root
group buildmeister does not exist - using root
Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.10141 (%install)

error and i have kernel headers and kernel source installed
have you enough space in /tmp and /var/tmp ?
At least 5~10 MB

Another problem, is that you need a package.
I Have installed (workstation+ some development packages), and I don't know which depencies are.. but here there is my list.

# rpm -qa | grep kernel
kernel-source-2.4.18-14
kernel-2.4.18-14
kernel-pcmcia-cs-3.1.31-9 ***NOT NEEDED
NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123 *** of course, with a clean install, this file isn't installed.I Have installed it after compile it

# rpm -qa | grep gcc
gcc-c++-3.2-7
gcc-3.2-7
libgcc-3.2-7

# rpm -qa | grep header
glibc-kernheaders-2.4-7.20

# rpm -qa | grep binutils
binutils-2.13.90.0.2-2

# rpm -qa | grep glibc-devel
glibc-devel-2.2.93-5


Check them, and install if you don't have them
utiel is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-07-02, 10:53 PM   #33
utiel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: mallorca
Posts: 65
Default Needed packages to compile Nvidia Driver in Redhat 8.0

I think this is a list of needed packages.

I wrote a RedHat 8.0 Beta guide, I think that have no changed dependencies.

Here are the list ( Not in dependencies order, sorry ):[list=1][*]kernel-source-2.4.18-14[*]gcc-3.2-7[*]glibc-kernheaders-2.4-7.20[*]binutils-2.13.90.0.2-2[*]glibc-devel-2.2.93-5[*]rpm-build-4.1-1.06[/list=1]

If you own a SMP machine, you need to configure your kernel, cd /usr/src/linux-2.4; make menuconfig; and Select Symmetric multi-processing support, in Processor type and features.
utiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-02, 11:24 PM   #34
ubien
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default error

I have all of those installed, lemme post a bit more from the failed "rpmbuild --rebuild NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.src.rpm"

everything seems to go well then this pops up, this is the same msg that I get when I try to compile the tarballs

Quote:
You appear to be compiling the NVdriver kernel module with a compiler different from the one that was used to compile the running kernel. This may be perfectly fine, but there are cases wehre this can lead to unexpected behavious and system crashes. If you know what you are doing and want to ovveride this check, you can do so by setting IGNORE_CC_MISMATCH. In any other case, set the CC environment variable to the name of the compiler that was used to complie the kernel. *** Failed cc sanity check, Bailing out! *** make: *** [gcc-check] Error 1
then a bit more stuff and

Quote:
install: cannot stat 'NVdriver' : No such file or directory
error: Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.14120 (%install)
then right after this is the previous error msg I posted. I have both gcc 3.2 and 2.96 installed if this is any problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 12:30 AM   #35
lift
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default nvidia logo not displaying

Is the nVIDIA logo supposed to show up before you run games, etc.. I think i'm getting 3d acceleration because tux racer used to run at about 3 fps, and now it runs at 60+ (cant really tell above 60 anyways). in the KDE display configuration menu, 3d acceleration box is not checked and it wont let me check it. Can anyone tell me if the nvidia logo is supposed to display? I know it hadnt for any of the games on my windows partition, but i was wondering if it was supposed to in linux. I have a GeForce 4 DDR 128 MB and any and all help would be much appreciated.
--lift
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-02, 03:58 AM   #36
UptheJunction
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Default

lift,

After you install the nvidia driver, the NVIDIA logo shows by default when you start X. It's a full screen logo. However, it can be disabled by an entry in your XF86Config file. Check the driver README for details.

UptheJunction
UptheJunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Showcases GPU Breakthroughs at IBC 2012 News Archived News Items 0 09-07-12 10:10 AM
The Nvidia Forums Are Still Not Available, Finally We Know Why News Archived News Items 0 07-14-12 05:10 AM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
NVidia Drivers HowTo for RedHat 8.0 needed eduardp NVIDIA Linux 10 10-04-02 03:59 AM
Redhat 8.0, no rpm, can't compile. Ironphil NVIDIA Linux 6 10-02-02 03:13 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.