Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-02, 04:17 PM   #73
STEEL1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thadjudkins

1) when I go to RH8 prefs the diver "nvidia" doesn't show up in the list. I have in manually entered into the XF86Config and I can always just type it in on the menu but should it show up as an option?

2) I still don't get the option to run my 1600x1200 screen at 32 bit color, shouldn't that option show up now that the nvidia driver is installed?

thanks!
In RH 8.0 try this

Go start menu > system settings > display
This will allow you to change your settings and also allow you to see the current driver. the driver shoudl show up as nvidia.

By the way it will be good to make a copy of yuor XF86Config before using this tool to make changes.

STEEL
STEEL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-02, 04:21 PM   #74
thadjudkins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by STEEL1
In RH 8.0 try this

Go start menu > system settings > display
This will allow you to change your settings and also allow you to see the current driver. the driver shoudl show up as nvidia.

By the way it will be good to make a copy of yuor XF86Config before using this tool to make changes.

STEEL
In my original post I said that nvidia DIDN'T show up in that list as a driver option. I can type it in manually and I have 3D support so I know its working but its not an option just to choose in the drop down list. Since its not an option I don't have the ability to set the color depth to 32bpp, the resolution and depth meny still corresponds to the nv driver. Is this everyone else's experience too?

thad
thadjudkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-02, 04:23 PM   #75
STEEL1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uid(zer0)
I also have problems with RH 8.

rpmbuild --rebuild NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.src.rpm
And I get:
Installing NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.src.rpm
warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: group buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: group buildmeister does not exist - using root
Segmentation fault


I have all these dependencies installed. Could anyone help me.
read a previous post about the same issue answered by utiel. you may not have all required dependencies installed.
STEEL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 01:39 AM   #76
STEEL1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thadjudkins
In my original post I said that nvidia DIDN'T show up in that list as a driver option. I can type it in manually and I have 3D support so I know its working but its not an option just to choose in the drop down list. Since its not an option I don't have the ability to set the color depth to 32bpp, the resolution and depth meny still corresponds to the nv driver. Is this everyone else's experience too?

thad
yip thad i agree it doesnt show up in mine either only nv shows up along with other but the field allows you to type in the name as you want so just put in nvidia.

STEEL
STEEL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 01:44 AM   #77
STEEL1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 15
Default

ok now that most of us know how to install the drivers. Any one has knows how to even futhur fine tune them esp for ut 2003 to get even greater performance. - for advanced users only - basically for ppl who dont mind screwing things over trying it out. ??

Any takes ??

Thanks
STEEL

P.S my setup now register 2300+ frame/sec on glxgears :-)
STEEL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 08:02 AM   #78
charliev
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question Fine tuning RH8 NVIDIA driver install

Quote:
Originally posted by thadjudkins
Hi, I've just installed the drivers as per original instructions and it went off without a hitch. I have a couple of questions though:

1) when I go to RH8 prefs the diver "nvidia" doesn't show up in the list. I have in manually entered into the XF86Config and I can always just type it in on the menu but should it show up as an option?

2) I still don't get the option to run my 1600x1200 screen at 32 bit color, shouldn't that option show up now that the nvidia driver is installed?

thanks!
I too have the driver installed with the normal responses, I can boot up in 1024x768 but I do not have the 3D box available to check off nor can I select any res above the 1024, all other res settings are greyed/unavailable.

Any one have hints on what I'm leaving out? Options maybe?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-02, 06:09 PM   #79
mnpackfan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default XF86Config not updating

My XF86Config file is not being updated once I install the drivers. I have followed all the instructions in this post, and others like it, but when I get to the step about going into the /etc/X11/XF86Config file I don't know what to do.
I am running RH 8 with a fresh install. This is what my file looks like...

Section "Device"
# no known options
#BusID
Identifier "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
Driver "vesa"
VendorName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

...there is no driver nv section and the generic drivers still show up.

Nothing unusual happened during the install process and I think I'm comfortable with the whole process to think everything is OK with the install...but...

Any suggestions? If anyone has any ideas or would be willing to show me what that part of the config file should look like that would be great!

BTW, I have a VistionTek 64M Ti4200 card with a 19" ViewSonic Monitor.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-02, 06:14 PM   #80
klunker23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Default Balls!

Agh crapola.

I re-installed Redhat 8 tonight, and installed the drivers exacticaly how it says... BUT.. As X is booting, (just after the text login flashes up) the screen switches modes, then displays "NO SIGNAL". But, it can't have crashed, as the hard drive was klonking away, and the num-lock key LED responded when i pressed it..

I've tried changing some of the lines in the XF86Config file, but nothing changes

Once this happend a few times, i put in the CD and used rescue mode to put the old file back in.
But that just gave me X errors, so i had to hash out the load "glx" line to get it to go into X.

Any ideas?

Cheers

Klunk.

Last edited by klunker23; 10-17-02 at 06:19 PM.
klunker23 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-17-02, 10:46 PM   #81
lucianpoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 13
Send a message via Yahoo to lucianpoe
Default Re: XF86Config not updating

See where it says "vesa" for "Driver" ? replace that "vesa" with "nvidia".

That would do it.

----------------------
Quote:
Originally posted by mnpackfan
My XF86Config file is not being updated once I install the drivers. I have followed all the instructions in this post, and others like it, but when I get to the step about going into the /etc/X11/XF86Config file I don't know what to do.
I am running RH 8 with a fresh install. This is what my file looks like...

Section "Device"
# no known options
#BusID
Identifier "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
Driver "vesa"
VendorName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

...there is no driver nv section and the generic drivers still show up.

Nothing unusual happened during the install process and I think I'm comfortable with the whole process to think everything is OK with the install...but...

Any suggestions? If anyone has any ideas or would be willing to show me what that part of the config file should look like that would be great!

BTW, I have a VistionTek 64M Ti4200 card with a 19" ViewSonic Monitor.
lucianpoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-02, 12:43 AM   #82
Don Rieck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5
Default Seems to work, but Pan hangs in GNOME

Thanks to the instructions I was able to successfully (?) install the NVidia drivers. All worked - Tux Racer was nice and fast, etc

However, after the install I noticed that Pan (the newsreader) would hang at any kind of window activity - ie scrolling, etc. It would work for about 3 seconds, and then totally hang the system - hard reboot needed.

All the other apps seemed to work OK.

So the questions:

1. Does anyone else see PAN hanging with these installed ?

2. To Un-install them, I copied my old XF86Config file that I backed up over the new one. However, this caused X not to start at all. The errors seemed to have something to do with GLX, so I commented that load out of the 'new' (reverted to) XF86COnfig file, which seemed to let X load.

I've confirmed that PAN now behaves itself again, so it was definitely the drivers that screwed it up.

What does commenting out the glx line actually do ?

3. Would an older version of the drivers work better ?
Are the instructions essentially the same ?

Many thanks !

Don Rieck
don@theriecks.com
Don Rieck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-02, 01:56 AM   #83
klunker23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Default

# File generated by anaconda.
#

Section "ServerLayout"
#
Identifier "Anaconda Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
# The location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# Option "AutoRepeat" "500 5"
# when using XQUEUE, comment out the above line, and uncomment the
# following line
# Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"
# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
#Option "XkbOptions" ""
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us" #Option "XkbVariant" ""
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 31.5 - 48.5
VertRefresh 60.0 - 75.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
# no known options
#BusID
Identifier "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection

----------------------------

Thats my XF86Config file... That _SHOULD_ work.. But when i start X it just switches off the monitor, which then displays "NO SIGNAL!"

Cheers

Klunk.
klunker23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-02, 04:59 AM   #84
I luv Ut2003
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Very nice to see how one game (Ut2003) can turn so many Windows users to Linux!! (including myself..)
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Showcases GPU Breakthroughs at IBC 2012 News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 09-07-12 10:10 AM
The Nvidia Forums Are Still Not Available, Finally We Know Why News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 07-14-12 05:10 AM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
NVidia Drivers HowTo for RedHat 8.0 needed eduardp NVIDIA Linux 10 10-04-02 03:59 AM
Redhat 8.0, no rpm, can't compile. Ironphil NVIDIA Linux 6 10-02-02 03:13 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.